We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, excellent quality for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience, excellent quality for money”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Fairmont Peace is a great piece of history and charm at the very centre of the Bund. The room I stayed in is quite the resuly of an almost-perfect interior architecture intervention. Besides the objective and outstanding amount of space (large hall, complete double bathroom, working space and bedroom wisely organised), decoration and charming 'extras' makes you feel really good and comfortable.
The entire hotel is an exemple for the quality of its spaces and for the sort of mid XXth century american-chinese fusion style. The breakfast salon, at the topest floor, is an amazing experience in itself! and the food complies with it.
The money I payed is also great news, specially when you compare with hotels just one block away, with half of the charm but the double of the price! (The Peninsula, for exemple).

Room Tip: I suppose most of the rooms are just great. I cannot add a special tip, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear carlosribas,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay at our iconic property. This really is such a truly special building with so much history and unique designed that it goes unmatched in Shanghai.

As stewards of such a unique hotel we work very hard to respect it with the best possible service. I sincerely hope our team was also able to make that special connection with you.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Until then please take care.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,568
    296
    49
    18
    10
See reviews for
349
607
127
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Fairmont Peace Hotel is a beautiful, tranquil oasis in the midst of the chaotic flow of traffic and people in Shanghai. The rooms/suites are graciously appointed in the art deco style that emanates from the hotel structure...reminding visitors of its prestigious history. The art work in the lobby is another reminder of its famed past...as well as the furnishings, especially, the grand piano, which was used by Marlene Dietrich many decades ago. A thrilling and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear branbren,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for sharing your great feedback about our beautiful property. We are truly so lucky to be the stewards of such a unique property and we are also very pleased that we could be your “tranquil oasis” in Shanghai.

We are very grateful that you chose to come and stay with us and we certainly hope that a return visit will be in the near future for you.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a really fabulous time in Shanghai recently. The Peace Hotel, centrally located at the Bund at the end of Nanjing Road, metres away from the famous Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, made our trip particularly enjoyable and memorable. The hotel simply oozed with history in every nook and cranny. We stayed in the Italian Suite and the furnishings in the rooms were just exquisite. We loved every minute spent in the suite and in the hotel!

The service at Fairmont Gold on the 9th floor was also flawless - the staff were efficient, attentive and personal. In particular, two staff members deserve special mention - Tim and Grace. Nothing was too bothersome or trivial for these two. I knocked my forehead on the (do you believe it) safe in the suite and Tim found a bandaid and even trimmed it so it fitted better on my wound. His careful rounding of the edges did not go unnoticed...thanks Tim! On our last night, we asked if we could see the hotel's famous Cathay Room (we didn't have time to dine there this trip but will make sure we do when we come again to Shanghai), and Grace simply dropped everything and took us on a personal tour. We saw our first clear night sky in Shanghai that night on the Peace Hotel's rooftop...thanks Grace! The Cathay Room's sommelier (or he may be the captain, I wasn't sure) was also most impressive - he answered all our wine questions most patiently (I mean, after all we weren't dining...more like gate crashing!). His wine knowledge was excellent. The fact that he loves Australian wines made him particularly endearing to us! I neglected to remember his name but this guy is good at what he does!

The Peace Hotel is a gem in bustling Shanghai. You simply have to experience it!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the hotel's nine nations suites. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisL121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear PhyllisL121,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to sincerely thank you for coming to stay with us at our iconic property.

I am especially delighted to see that Tim and Grace were able to make a very special impression on you during your stay with their above and beyond service and I will look forward to thanking her personally. These are exactly the type of stories that we want to share with our people and continue to build our service culture.

We hope that you will be able to find your back to our property and we will greatly look forward to showing you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

John Spooner, the Raffles Ambassador at the Raffles Beijing Hotel and about whom I write in my review of that hotel, introduced us to Robert Cousins, the Operations Manager, at the Peace Hotel. We had originally been booked into the Westin Bund but John said we should change our booking to the Peace.

We were fortunate to get that advice from John and clever to take it.

After we settled in the Peace, we did drive past the Westin Bund. An impressive building. Doubtless a fine hotel. But probably just another fine hotel. You find those everywhere. And, despite its name, it isn't on the Bund.

Shanghai is a city of history and position. The Peace has history and it has position. Sir Victor Sassoon's hotel, built on the Champs Elysees of Shanghai during an amazing era in the story of the Pearl of the Orient is an art deco jewel that has been restored to its Edwardian gracefulness.

The jazz band to which I listened in the bar when I first visited this hotel in 1984 still plays every night. I wish I could say it was good - it is not and the players look tired - but it doesn't matter. This is the band that played on during the Cultural revolution, a corner of harmonic decadence amongst the dissonance of destruction.

Shanghai is like Budapest. What you see is not what is there. You have to know where to look. The Hungarians hide their nasty past with a straight face. The Chinese pull down anything that doesn't make a fast remnibi (there is no capitalist like a communist). But not all this city's history has been removed here at the Peace. Look at the photographs, read the inscriptions in the foyers, leaf through the books at the bookstore (and talk to the owner there - I wish I knew her name - she holds stories).

For more stories, real stories about real history and real people, take Dvir Ben-Gal's tour of Jewish Shanghai. You won't find his stories in Louis Vuitton or in the Chanel shop (all international prices, by the way). But you will hear about the Opium War, about the British and the French and the Japanese. About the Jews from Iraq, like Sassoon and Kadoorie. About the Jews from Russia via Harbin. And about the thousandsof Jews that were saved from the Nazis by the Japanese diplomat Chiune Sugihara and the Chinese diplomat Ho Feng-Shan.

The position of the Peace Hotel is wonderful. Its architecture is gorgeous. The cupola of the foyer is majestic. The corridors are walked by the ghosts of people you have heard of: Charlie Chaplin and Greer Garson (they stayed on the 5th floor), General MacArthur, Noel Coward (a piano he played is in that floor but it sounds terrible) and Bernard Shaw.

You will be in good company.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petychka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Petychka,

What a great pleasure it is to receive your comments on your most recent visit to Shanghai. Also great to see you making the connection from the Raffles Beijing down to the Fairmont Peace hotel in Shanghai. We are of course also very grateful for John Spooner as he always takes the time to ensure that our mutual guests have a smooth handover from one another.

Thank you very much for making the decision to come and stay with us and we hope our charm, history and service will have left you with lasting memories.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Farimont Peace Hotel was a step back in time but immaculately maintained and cared for.Sadly we were on such a hectic visit that we did not get to enjoy much of the hotel but our own rooms. We had serious airconditioning issues and were upgraded, thanks to our tour guide's persistence to a suite. If there was not so much to do and see in the city, I would have never left that lovely room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bund facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Manju B,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for sharing your great feedback about our beautiful property. We are truly so lucky to be the stewards of such a unique property with so much culture and history that we can share with our guests. My sincere apologies for the minor hiccup in your room tempurature however I am very glad to see that our team recovered very well for you.

We are very grateful that you chose to come and stay with us and we certainly hope that a return visit will be in the near future for you.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This one of the best hotels in the world! Robert Cousins and the staff at the hotel will make you feel like a valued guest! The hotel has been completely restored back to its original character. Impeccable service and a phenomenal hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ashish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Ashish M,

What an absolute pleasure it is to see your great feedback on our team. I know our staff is always on the lookout for you and always excited to see when you are returning to the property.

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with Robert and the entire team and we will eagerly await your next visit. Again thank you so much for this opportunity to recognize our people.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

visited in summer 2014 and the drinks list has been vastly improved, the rmb100 ticket including drinks has gone and they now ask non guests to spend a minimum of rmb150 per person, a not unreasonable request, and to be fair if you come in a place like this and moan about spending that on 2 drinks you should really stick to Applebys/weatherspoons. the architecture in the lobby is fantastic and the staff dont mind you stopping and taking a few snaps, the band in the jazz bar were put in with the plumbing but i gather they keep replacing them from the local musicians retirement home. the atmosphere was intimate and aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Charles C,

I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to highlight our incredible Old Man Jazz Band and the Jazz bar that have been playing since 1980. There really is nothing like them anywhere in the world, so much so that a film documentary was made about them. I would be happy to share that with you next to time you visit our hotel.

Please feel free to alert me at George.wee@fairmont .com as I would be happy to say hello next time you are staying with us and chat more about our amazing Jazz Bar.

Again thank you so much for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,169 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#179 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing