We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poorly cared for Hotel”
Review of Astor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astor House Hotel
Ranked #81 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location but poorly cared for Hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I last stayed here in 2010 and enjoyed the charm of this old world hotel but it now really needs some attention and maintenance. We were staying in a large room that was ok but had to walk up 2 long rickety flights of stairs to our room. Which wasn't fun with luggage and didn't feel safe. Even though Astor House is in a fantastic position, I don't think I will stay here again. I didn't feel safe or confident that I would get assistance if I needed it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there is lift access to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    519
    138
    54
    20
See reviews for
182
372
135
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Elegant stylish and in the heart of Shanghai. One of the oldest hotels in Shanghai the tall ceilings, art deco lobby and historic character make this hotel a rare find. Very reasonable and rooms include an elegant breakfast with french pastries, omelets and a variety of chinese dishes.

Love the wood floors and high ceilings.

Room Tip: Executive rooms overlook the Russian embassy. Feel like we are in a Bond movie but the smoke from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnovak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

During March 2014 we were booked into this hotel by our China tour travel agent; the tour purchased was billed as 'deluxe'. A huge mistake; the first room provided was a rat-hole on the sixth floor with a tiny window opening to a tar covered parapet. After contacting and complaining to the travel agent, we were moved to a room on the 'executive' floor (second) overlooking the street; quite a bit larger room and with a bathroom that did not require one to close the door to use the toilet. Still, a mediocre property badly in need of renovation of the public areas. The breakfast buffet was pathetic (the coffee serving pots were encrusted with old burnt coffee); the front desk staff was surly and rude; the ‘free’ Internet Wi-Fi didn’t pass any data (attempted over several days and several locations). Only redeeming attribute was the location; otherwise stay away. Also note that in China at this time of year, air conditioning is not allowed and windows must be opened to provide any cooling; even in five star hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have rated this hotel a 3 but if it was possible, I'd give it a 2.5.
I won't repeat the bits about the charm of the hotel, that it's steeped in history etc. - all that it is.

However, there's old and there's too old. I really think they need to invest to make the hotel look cleaner and more presentable. The wooden floors are fine but because there are no carpets, it is NOISY. I am a very heavy sleeper and I couldn't sleep with all that noise.

There's no lobby - yes, no lobby area where one can sit and wait - in this hotel!! That was really surprising to us and not acceptable.

Wifi is temperamental when 2 people use it at the same time. Speeds are average to slow.

The staff is helpful without being warm, maybe it's a culture thing but we felt a bit of indifference in their attitude.

Some parts of the hotel - massage area, and some alleyways with galleries of pictures, feel a little dingy. Not what one would expect of an 'iconic' hotel.

We did not try the food at the hotel so cannot comment.

It does have a really great location - one just cannot fault that. A stone's throw away from the bund and the view of the Shanghai skyline and 10 minutes walking from Nanjing street.

Can't say highly recommended, but can't say not recommended either...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We had booked and already paid online for a Deluxe double-room (without breakfast). At the check-in the desk manager offered us an upgrade for a bigger room with breakfast included for approx. 50 USD extra. We decided against it and were still very happy with the room on the 4th floor. The room was still spacious enough with a comfortable bed. The only negative point to remark is that the toilet seat was not completely clean, you could see a stain of urine that I cleaned with a disinfectant tissue. Everything else was clean. Due to the wooden floor and no isolation, you could hear people passing/talking outside the room quite loud. I suppose that this is the case for most of the rooms. It did not bother us, though.
The free WIFI in the room was working well enough, you can connect only one device at a time, however.
The Astor House Hotel is a beautiful historic building and has a special charm. It seems to be very popular for wedding celebrations that can be held in the big hall at the entrance. During our short stay there 2 wedding celebrations took place.
We had breakfast once. It is in the big all at the entrance, a beautiful location. It was worth trying, the buffet has a big selection of Chinese food, dumplings, vegetables as well as toast, cornflakes, fruits. A cook prepares eggs on order on the spot.
The location is very good since it is just around the corner of the Bund, you can walk there within a few minutes. If you want to be close to the Bund and enjoy a stay in a charming historic building, this hotel is definitively a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a lovely welcome & after our trip to Shanghai it was nice (sorry) to be able to speak English. We were told on check-in that we had been upgraded (4th floor)... & initial inspection was a delight (I felt like the Princess & the Pea getting into bed). However do not go for the breakfast option - a total waste of money. The people in the onsite cafe were lovely but other meals were very mediocre. I agree with a previous comment.... It is certainly coasting on its history & needs to buck up & realise this place could be so much more.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of history, go for this hotel.. It's all around you... But it's lacking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senorita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Enjoying a fantastic location just over the bridge north of The Bund, and loaded with heritage flavour, all at a great price, what's not to like? Contrary to a previous posting, we found the staff at reception professional and eager to assist. Breakfast under chandeliers in the grand former ballroom was a fine experience - a buffet of western or Chinese - save for on busy Easter Saturday when things did fall apart under pressure, including the espresso coffee machine! We were given a family room as all executive rooms were full and the extra space greatly enhanced our week-long stay. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom in good shape. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: A fourth-floor family room has twin double beds and acres of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#183 of 5,059 in Shanghai
299 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#161 of 5,059 in Shanghai
545 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Hotel

Property: Astor House Hotel
Address: No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Shanghai
Astor Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing