We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value, Location, Comfort. Would stay again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #99 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value, Location, Comfort. Would stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Excellent value, excellent location, comfortable beds, presentable and clean. Hotel breakfast was pretty average, so I would suggest going elsewhere, otherwise hotel staff were friendly and attentive. Another big bonus of this hotel is it is right around the corner from Dashijie Station and about a 10 minute walk from People's Square, Yuyuan Garden and The Bund.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior double room (26 square metres), which was the cheapest and smallest room opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zemonsta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    164
    34
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
73
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights in April with no expectation in the beginning. It turned out with surprise that I found the hotel very interesting. The building was very nicely renovated and it showed character and charm. Hotel rate was reasonable for the good hotel quality. Room was clean and pretty big. Rooms facing the main street might get some traffic noise and I was staying at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was OK and not quite my taste. The hotel porter was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

very efficient service and quite updated room. Good breakfast.no smoking hotel, how wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

As previous reviewers have already mentioned, location is the key plus of this hotel. It is right beside the Dashijie metro station, but in any event is within a 15 minute walk of most places in Puxi, including People's Park, the main shopping thoroughfare, Xintindai and the old town.

We were in a superior deluxe suite which was tastefully decorated and had a lot of space.

Now for the downsides.

When I enquired as to where I could purchase train tickets onwards to Beijing, I was told that I should go to the train station directly to purchase them. I had, from my pre holiday research and frm my LP guidebook understood that there are ticket offices in most cities which charge a 5rmb or so fee from which you can purchase tickets. When I specifically enquired about where these were, I was fobbed off and told that it was too far away and I best go to the train station.

Undeterred, I went online and did my own research to find that there is one 10 minutes round the corner (I think on Fuzhou road?) off to the right if you are walking towards people's square. I went and got my tickets there.

This was extremely disappointing from a service point of view which in my opinion, brings the score down. The other issue was that the air conditioning was not very effective and in the end, we tried to sleep with our window open (but it was very noisy outside as it is a big carriageway).

Overall, it would be a good hotel for travellers who are already familiar with Shanghai and/or do not intend on enquiring at the hotel for any assistance.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank little_L86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My first trip to China started well at the Marvel Hotel, a very well appointed renovated YMCA in the heart of Shanghai. The room was very spacious with a huge bath, comfy bed, and full amenities. The restaurant offered a very good breakfast at a reasonable price ($10), and offered a varied dinner menu that was quite good. Location, though, is its real benefit: all tourist sights are easily accessible by foot or subway (which is extremely easy to use, cheap, and even offers English menus for those who do not speak Chinese). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I always specify a room one step from the bottom rung to avoid problems: a few dollars more seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Marvel hotel is the nicely renovated old YMCA building which has retained its old charm yet offered comfort with its new, very clean, fully- equipped room and bathrooms. It is a bonus to have a TV that doubles as a computer. The rooms are not big but adequate and tastefully decorated. The hotel restaurant serves food, which is a notch higher in quality yet with a fair price, compared to the many cheaper food options in the hotel's vicinity. The hotel staff are very helpful but not very eloquent in the English language. We used taxis to reach the BUND, Nanjing Rd, Tianzifang, etc. They are cheap and easy to hail from the hotel's doorstep. We were very happy with our hotel choice. Marvel hotel offers very good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilouyaptanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Folks.... The Marvel Hotel is located centrally in Shanghai! You can then walk to the old town, shopping precinct and to the BUND. The subway stations are right nearby. The rooms are clean, tidy, the bathrooms are fully equipped. Everything worked and it was good value for money !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustJools2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#39 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Address: No.123 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing