We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but a little old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Ranked #128 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but a little old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Was here for a week as our office is near by. The rooms are nice and beds are pretty good for China. While nice this hotel is a little old so I would say it's more of a 3 or 4 star rather then the 5 that it's listed. There is almost nothing near the hotel as well, but 10 min walk near the metro there is a mall and across the street there is an Ikea.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BlahnikA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    292
    107
    37
    11
See reviews for
28
55
27
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very far from all the activity near the bundt. It takes about an hour to get there in heavy traffic city. Close to magnetic train station.Very nice, well decorated.Very nice rooms. Very good restaurants. Great shopping at the mall in front.

Room Tip: get a cery high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpowerMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TRIPADVISOR. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel was a convenient location for a week long business trip as it is close to express ways and metro station. Rooms are basic and reasonably clean, although somewhat dated.

Breakfast, from a European standpoint, was poor, food offered was too heavy for breakfast and is better suited for lunch time.

All in all, acceptable for business trip, but if I would be visiting for a leisure, I would go for a different option closer to the Bund (even though metro stop is just outside it can take up to 40 min to reach the Bund).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srdjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Srdjan K ,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdervisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
Our ultimate goal is to provide guests with an exceptional environment and superior service.
We will address the shortcomings you brought to our attention and actions necessary to rectify the problem will be taken. Your comments are much appreciated for feedback likes yours enables us to identify opportunities to improve our standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towels in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel last August for 3 nights. Though it was away from the center of Shanghai, the hotel itself is superb. It is 5 minutes away from the train station and also walking distance from a local shopping mall and IKEA. The hotel is so big as well as the reception/waiting area. The rooms are big enough and the comfort room has to be commended. They are both spacious, well maintained and clean. There was an instance that my door key card did not work and the room cleaner from my neighbor is very helpful and ran down to change mine. The buffet breakfast was absolutely fantastic! It gives you variety of choices and the restaurant itself is very big! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Imple,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TRIPADVISOR. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towels in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I write this email from a business traveller perspective. As such, my expectations are heightened due to the number of hotels my work pays to put me up in. I choose to stay here because it was close to the Shanghai Arena where an exhibition I was attending was held.

Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in China, including Shanghai I would say the Hua Ting (pronounced wah ting) is let down by the old rooms. Mine was musty smelling and the bathroom has seen better days! The cups provided in room are small (sorry - this bugged me) and there was no iron / iron board in room. But they were quick to send one my way when I requested. Overall, service was okay. Don't expect a smile though!!

The room is the major let down which is a shame as the rest of the hotel is quite nice and the location is good. The food is great and a good price. Beer is on the pricier side but there is a shop a minute from the hotel which sells beer for less than a £1 (100 rmb) - perfect if you want a couple in your room.

The spa is okay. Although sauna didn't get hot enough for me and the steam room was out of order. Gym is large and they have a hot jacuzzi and a swimming pool. Avoid a massage there - it is over priced and not good! I had a neck and shoulder problem I was hoping to get eased. The masseuse (aka con artist) wanted to charge me more for a harder pressure massage??? A first by me!!!

I am sure there are better hotels in Shanghai at a similar price point to this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_rb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Lee_rb81,

On behalf of the entire staff at Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, please accept my sincere apologies for the unfortunate incident you encountered during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that an investigation into the situation has begun already.

The incident has allowed my colleagues and I the earnest opportunity to examine our shortcomings. We will strive to ensure that such episodes are not repeated, and that all guests are treated with the superior level of service that they expect here.

We hope sincerely that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you under more pleasant circumstances in the future.


Respectfully yours,

Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
311 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

When you enter the hall it seems wonderful, so elegant and luxurious. The best thing of this hotel is the all itself, and the breakfast, with such a variety of items from Chinese and International cooking!!! But now comes the worst part: the bathroom wasn't cleaned up well, the a/c didn't work, the room is quite small (not a five stars one, even if with wonderful view on Shangai), the towels weren't replaced on the second day (i don't say they didn't change them, they did but forgot to give us the new ones), the wifi was free only in the business room on the second floor, in the rooms you had to pay for it. The sistem of room lights didn't work well (the bathroom ones could not be switched on except if you remove and insert again the room key). The furniture was old and a little bit damaged. In summary, not a five stars hotel..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Romangirl79,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TRIPADVISOR. Our ultimate goal is to provide guests with an exceptional environment and superior service.

It is with great regret that I learned of the unfortunate experience that you had during your stay. I extend my sincerest apologies to you on behalf of the entire staff at Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers,

This Incident has allowed my colleagues and I the earnest opportunity to examine our shortcomings. We will strive to ensure that such episodes are not repeated, and that all guests are treated with the superior level of service that they expect here. We hope sincerely that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you under more pleasant circumstances in the future.

Respectfully yours,

Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

In China to visit a plant in Changshu and wanted to stay in Shanghai before flight home. Good location to visit spots in town for sightseeing and dining. Very nice hotel, excellent buffet, especially for breakfast. Cab fares to other points are very reasonable and easy.

Hotel is right across the street from the Arena and Stadium.

Smoking rooms are available

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glassman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela z, Manager at Hua Ting Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear glassman72,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TRIPADVISOR. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here.
We take pride in offering high standards of service at all times, and your comments will certainly encourage us in our pursuit of excellence. Please accept our sincere appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai Hua Ting Hotel & Towels in the near future!
Respectfully yours,
Angela Zhang
Account manager
Shanghai Hua Ting Hotels & Towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#98 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#129 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shan...
#2,011 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#181 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#44 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Ting Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Property: Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Address: No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hua Ting Hotel & Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star hotel within the city's bustling Xu Jia Hui business district in Shanghai, the Hua Ting Hotel & Towers is an exquisite combination of luxury and convenience. Our guests enjoy the hotel's lavish accommodation, wide range of quality restaurants and excellent transport links. Both the city ring road and an underground rail line are at the hotel's doorstep, with major department stores, offices, entertainment and restaurants all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hua Ting Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Ting Hotel And Towers
Hua Ting Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing