We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #448 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Cozy business hotel with great staff and an excellent breakfast restaurant. There is also a Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse on the fifth floor if you're craving a good steak, french wine or a hoegarten. The bartender can make just about any drink.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techmgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Business hotel with everything you would expect from a 4-star hotel. The plusses are good breakfast, nice pool area and central location. The minus is (except from the hard beds) - this is a construction site. When we were there in the beginning of April 2012 they were rising the scaffoldings. We had to fight to make them give us a room which still had a view, above the scaffoldings. But they were working fast and I would guess that by now the whole hotel is wrapped in green plastic. If you don´t particularly like that, make sure the construction is finished before you book this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Good service, kind and polite and certainly helpfull.
The hotel itself is renovating (which is nescessary).
The rooms are small.
Breakfast buffet was very bad. I have been in other hotels in Shanghai, but this was the worst I had. So if you book, don't book with breakfast, and go to the Starbucks at 50m from the hotel.
The location was fatastic. You can discover the vibring centre of Shanghai on foot.
And for dinner or supper, take a taxi to Hongmei Lu Pedestrian street (for only a few euro/trip), here you have a hole street with fine restaurants and bars, and off course a nice ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The city hotel is quite a nice place, especially for the cost, given its location. They are undergoing a renovation right now, so occasionally we were disturbed by carpet shampooing or elevator repairs, but all in all no big deal.

The rooms have all of the basic things that a traveler needs, a soft bed (by China standards, anyway), a nice LCD TV, and the usual suspects of international news programming.

The included breakfast buffet was very good, a nice selection of western and chinese foods, and an omelet bar.

My only complaint is that it is a few blocks away from the metro station (Shanxi South Rd), but this was only an issue when we got caught out in the rain one afternoon, and my fault for not bringing an umbrella.

In addition the Pinnacle Peak restaurant at the hotel is quite possibly the best hotel hamburger that we have ever had outside of the USA; the decor is such that you would swear they packed up a kitsch western bar and burger joint in Tucson, AZ and shipped it here to live inside of the city hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikediliberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I am actually a resident in the City Apartments adjacent to City Hotel and have access to the gym. My review is confined only to the gym. It's ok for what I want to do conveniently, but I plan to join a real gym. The gym has 2 decent treadmills from a not very famous brand (and calibrated to what seems to be specific 'Chinese kilometers'). The elliptical trainer is fine. The amount of space that can be used for core work out is great. The pull-down weight bar equipment (not sure of the official name of this) is broken, has still not been repaired since I moved here over 2 wks ago. The towels sometimes look like they might not be very clean, and the bubbler water is lukewarm and I suspect it is filled up with unfiltered tap water. Summary: not a great gym, but hey, this is not a high end hotel, so it's actually good for what you pay.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank annsanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Good:
1. Fantastic location on the shopping street of Shanxi Road (walkable to West Nanjing Road and Huaihai Road).

2. Bargain price relative to the location

3. Breakfast included in the price of the room

4. Western plug in the room so no need for an adaptor

The Bad:
1. No soap or shampoo in the room

2. Filthy carpets in the room

3. Internet not included in the price of the room (60RMB/day)

4. Overpriced drinks at the bar (40RMB/beer), which is normal for hotels in China.

The Ugly:
1. I specified a non-smoking room upon booking. Upon arrival they game me a smoking room and told me it was a non-smoking room. When I complained they said they didn't have any more non-smoking rooms but that I could pick from 3 smoking rooms. When I complained some more, they magically found a non-smoking room.

2. The was VERY VERY VERY loud construction happening from 9am-6pm. There was no mention of this when I booked the room but they did mention it when I checked it. It was too late to change my reservation and switch hotels, so I was stuck with massive amounts of noise during the day.

Room Tip: If you request a non-smoking room and they give you a smoking room, politely (but firmly) complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidChinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

After many experience- all hotel categories over the world- I can recomand this hotel.
Check-in: nice service bellboy/lagguage service, (arrive 1:30 p.m.) very quickly check-in .Reception lady-she speak English, but with China accent :-)
Gastronomy : very nice breakfast with local food/cheeses. Very quickly tea/coffee service.
Room: not new, but clean, staff was very friendly and helpfull. Bathroom with small bath (for my sice body :-).
Check-out:very quickly, sharp invoice and pyment , help with lagguage, quickly taxi, I took taxi to RailExpress station to Pudong airport, all perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kroulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#186 of 5,146 in Shanghai
92 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#151 of 5,146 in Shanghai
210 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#538 of 5,146 in Shanghai
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#56 of 5,146 in Shanghai
620 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#242 of 5,146 in Shanghai
259 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#131 of 5,146 in Shanghai
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing