We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #209 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's not a luxury hotel. Bear that in Mind. However, after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and couple of other sites - I had some serious doubts about keeping my booking here.

I still went, and I guess I was pleasantly surprised because I went in expecting the worst? It's a nice clean check in area - VERY pleasant and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Value for money compared to the other hotels near by - shangrila, ritz carlton, sheraton - this is a quarter of the price for a good clean room.

Room was clean though the wifi was a bit weak in my room for my phone. Laptop was ok. The one part I didn't like much was the bed. It's low and feels cheap, but It was a comfy night's sleep as I was there for 2 nights.

Excellent area because it's walking distance to, as I mentionned earlier, the area with all the major Chain hotels with great restaurants. I had meetings at the Ritz and it's like a 3 min cab or a 10-15 min walk. So I'd probably stay there again just because it's not worth pay 2000+ RMB a night at the other hotels when you get a pretty good, clean and comfortable hotel with a good bathroom/sower at probably 500RMB ish a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiniTharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    128
    92
    22
    9
See reviews for
10
29
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

With rising costs of hotels in Shanghai, the City Hotel Shanghai brings value for money. Well-located at close to Nanjing Road, it is pleasant to walk around there in the evenings. The rooms are good and food is delicious, albeit rather expensive. The staff speak English and cleanliness is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked this hotel because check online and it looked alright. I was just planning to stay 3 nights. The location is great but my room is old and the carpet is very dirty and in the corner it has huge pee stains. It s quite gross. The room is connected by a locked door to the room next door and so i hear everything my neighbour does.
It seems a bit dodgy to me....
And also that it is a business hotel but there is no free wifi seems odd. Where in this world do you have to pay for internet nowadays?
I have requested internet when i checked in and they couldnt give me the password right away but said that they will call my room in the next 5 minutes. An hour later there was still no call...

anyways, i ll survive the 3 days and cant wait to go back home!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schweinebacke888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Odessa, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good points:
- Good location
- Friendly staff
- Breakfast is ok
- It's clean
Bad points:
- WiFi is NOT free
- The room looks a bit shabby and old

Ok, for a short trip, but definitely not the best place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faridabad
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Excellent location. Just next to yan'an road. A very good business hotel. They got my tickets done, courier, messages, luggage storage, vault service. And a nice coffee shop too. Will recommend it to anybody travelling on business and staying in this area

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikech75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

City hotel was an adequate space that served my needs for the one night that I stayed there. Centrally located, the hotel is within walking distance to the subway, making getting around the city easy and convenient. My friends and I arrived early after an overnight train from Beijing so were unable to check in. The hotel concierge kindly let us leave our luggage in the hotel so that we could explore the city.

When we did eventually check in the service was quite slow and some rooms were still not ready by mid afternoon. Saying that though the rooms were comfortable enough and were well maintained. The bathroom shower was the only element of the room that I could fault as water did not drain away for at least 10 minutes. Not a problem if one person is just taking a shower but not nice for the second person.

We booked standard rooms which meant that the use of the swimming pool was not included. Although this wasn't too much of a problem I do think the RMB 100 for one hour was high, especially if you are paying guests. The only other issue I hotel had with the hotel was the fact that you had to pay for wifi. surely in this day and age in wouldn't be too hard to provide free wifi for hotel guests.

Check out like check in was a lengthy process which caused some frustration amongst our group. All in all the hotel was fine for a one night stay and served our needs as a place to rest our heads, but I would look for another hotel should I come back to Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is my first time at this hotel and it is a real disappointment! The minute you walked thru to the lobby, there is a smell like sewer backup! The check in process was slow - all manual and they went thru our passports like a fine tooth comb. The rooms were small and there was a smell in the bathroom - again like sewer backup. The bathtub drain was plugged; they only gave 1 shampoo and 1 bath foam for 2 people; the towels were threadbare. There is no air conditioning - it was set at 25C+ and the thermostat does not work. The lighting was poor; the mattress uncomfortable and pillows were flat! What a joke you have to pay for wifi or use the gym. The so-called breakfast buffet was mediocre and the bread and buns were frozen solid. Would not stay here again if not for its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#152 of 5,069 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#179 of 5,069 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,069 in Shanghai
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#235 of 5,069 in Shanghai
255 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#116 of 5,069 in Shanghai
588 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#572 of 5,069 in Shanghai
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Property: City Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing