We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cost-effective, for cheap business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #201 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“cost-effective, for cheap business travel”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Its cheap and convenient. Although the lobby felt too cheap the rooms were surprisingly comfortable and quiet. It is defiantly not the place you want to stay if you come to Shanghai as tourists for the first time. Its good for a business trip when you want to save money. Nothing is walkable from this location besides shopping centers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    128
    92
    22
    9
See reviews for
10
29
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nothing memorable. Most of the staff were courteous. Expect to not have English speakers after hours though. Some rooms have good views-- due to cigarette smoke we asked for room change. The breakfast is pretty good and I think worth paying extra for -- expect that they will continually come to take your tea, plate etc. a bit too much. It's mostly Chinese breakfast but enough Western style items for sure. The location is pretty good. It's new but everything they used is cheap. The wall between the bathroom and the bedroom is transparent fyi. If you get a good deal it makes sense to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a place on the "upgraded" floor with views of the nearby Jiyu st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel but not as close to the river and the Bund as I had expected. Room was a good size and comfortable.Bathroom was a little tired but clean and the shower was good. Staff were helpful. We were only here for a day on our way home so didn't use the hotel amenities. No free WIFI but you could pay for it if you want.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, Yunnan, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a "4-star" room for an admittedly low rate. When we arrived at the front desk, we were greeted by a formal clerk in fluent English who told us the use of wifi would cost us an extra 60RMB per day. We decided to at least stay for 1 night (we had reserved for 4 nights). But when we arrived in our room we decided NOT to stay in this hotel at all. We felt like we were completely ripped off after paying more than 500RMB a night for a really basic cramped room with a cheap, low and tiny bed and an incredibly basic bathroom. It was ridiculous. More like a basic 2-3 star hotel room. When we got back to the lobby, the staff was friendly and helpful with cancelling our booking. They gave directions to the nearest coffee shop, so we could find another hotel online. After half an hour, we found a room in Gallery Suites on Hengshan Lu, which was the same price, but offered spacious, clean and beautiful rooms in a historic building. So much more value than in this city hotel, which just felt like a shabby rip-off. Only positive point was the very friendly manager who assisted in the cancellation of our booking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is a cheap and cheerful hotel not too far from the tourist mecca of Xin Tian Di in Shanghai. Its unpretentious and extremely good value. Rooms clean, comfortable but a bit on the small side. Its not a 5-star but it doesn't pretend to be and instead of paying a fortune at a higher star hotel this is an excellent option if you are looking for a place to lay your head after a nights entertainment or if you are on a quick business trip. Downside is getting a taxi - especially if it is raining heavily (as it was when we were there). Despite the claim on another booking sites map that it was .3 kms away from Xin Tian Di, it is in fact about 4kms from the dining centre and isn't walkable from the hotel unless you want a long walk. Couple of small grizzles but nothing major - no shower mat for the bath/shower making it a bit slippery taking a shower and the staff didn't have or even know what an extension cord was but these are are small issues when you are only paying around 400RMB for a night. Basically if you are looking for a cost effective option for Shanghai then this place well and truly fits the bill.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PenDreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's not a luxury hotel. Bear that in Mind. However, after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and couple of other sites - I had some serious doubts about keeping my booking here.

I still went, and I guess I was pleasantly surprised because I went in expecting the worst? It's a nice clean check in area - VERY pleasant and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Value for money compared to the other hotels near by - shangrila, ritz carlton, sheraton - this is a quarter of the price for a good clean room.

Room was clean though the wifi was a bit weak in my room for my phone. Laptop was ok. The one part I didn't like much was the bed. It's low and feels cheap, but It was a comfy night's sleep as I was there for 2 nights.

Excellent area because it's walking distance to, as I mentionned earlier, the area with all the major Chain hotels with great restaurants. I had meetings at the Ritz and it's like a 3 min cab or a 10-15 min walk. So I'd probably stay there again just because it's not worth pay 2000+ RMB a night at the other hotels when you get a pretty good, clean and comfortable hotel with a good bathroom/sower at probably 500RMB ish a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiniTharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

With rising costs of hotels in Shanghai, the City Hotel Shanghai brings value for money. Well-located at close to Nanjing Road, it is pleasant to walk around there in the evenings. The rooms are good and food is delicious, albeit rather expensive. The staff speak English and cleanliness is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#152 of 5,059 in Shanghai
207 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#180 of 5,059 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,059 in Shanghai
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#227 of 5,059 in Shanghai
254 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#164 of 5,059 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#116 of 5,059 in Shanghai
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Property: City Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing