We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Average hotel to live in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Ranked #90 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Average hotel to live in Shanghai”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Due to last minute booking, I didnt have much options. So went with this hotel, and as expected, it was just OK. The rooms give a view of skyscrapers of Shanghai, but are very basic in nature. Service is also just ok. Had to wait for long to get checked in. There will not be stewards around to take your luggage to your room, if they are heavy. The complimentary buffet is like any other chinese hotel, but is very crowded. You will have to wait for 15 mins to get a seat. That too, you have to rush else someone else will take it :)The restaurant staff hardly know any english, so communicating with them becomes a problem.
Overall, looking at the price paid its a good stay, but if seen alone, its strictly OK

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    291
    129
    38
    11
See reviews for
50
55
47
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel with comfortable beds and all amenities. I stayed here a total of 9 nights on 2 trips in July and September of 2011.
The buffet restaurant has a good breakfast selection for American, European, and Asian guests.
Wifi service is excellent. In a nice area downtown with shops and restauranst nearby

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganrc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I found the hotel very nice and the location convenient. The room is spacious and the bed is very confortable. It is a few blocks away from Jiaotong University as well as from the metro station. They serve Western food which can offer you a break from the local food. The gym is nice and well equipped. They speak English well. On top of that, you will find restaurants, bar and pub around the block.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_warri0r13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

location not central - 45 minutes by taxi from Hongquiao. Rooms are used and carpets very dirty with many spots.Room did stink upon arrival and there is only a tiny window to be opened.
Staff at front desk unfriendly: no 'welcome' or 'thank you' or 'have a good trip' ... Staff at breakfast most unattentive: you have to call to get coffee as at the coffee machine there were no cups. Cook behind noodle soup counter was busy with work and did not want to serve a cup of soup. Price in lobby of coffee (very bad quality espresso !) outrageous. There are much better hotels in Shanghai - we wont be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia X, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback! We will report the review to the relevant department and improve accordingly and pay more attention on hotel facilities and service detail,our target is try to provide guests a wonderful experience, we are sincerely waiting for your next time choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I often travel to Shanghai on business and always stay at Crowne Plaza Shanghai No.400 Panyu Road (one -two weeks at a time). I am very satisfied with the accommodations and the service. The breakfast buffet is excellent, so the buffet dinner is just ok. There is a free wifi in the lobby, but you have to pay for the connection in your room. The location is very convenient - within a short walking distance from one subway line and a slightly longer from another.
In general I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VHerzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aude, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We chose the Exec. Suits and use of the lounge for our stop over to the airport. This was good enough not to need any other meals.
The room was large with excellent facilities and great views. A great way to end our 6 months in China!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The was our last hotel on a 4-city, 9-day tour of China. It was the only one that we would not choose to stay again again. By no means was it awful, but by no means was it all that good. In our group of 23, I know of at least two couples (including us) that needed to change their rooms immediately after check-in. Presenting problems: mold and urine-smell in the bathroom in one room; bugs on top of the bed in the other. Several people complained about the bathrooms--mold, dark stained grout, holes in the grout, broken tiles, etc. The bed linens were minimal and came unmade within a few minutes of laying down. We also had a problem when attempting to draw a bath. The wate came out orange (yes, truly orange). We had to have maintenance come to the room in the wee hours. He hammered and rattled and eventually the water came out a clear green-blue. Still weird but better than orange. Needless to say, we did NOT immerse our bodies in a tub of water at this hotel. On the flip side, Charlie's Bar was lots of fun. The live musical group was quite good and cheerful. And, there is a well-kept secret: there is a delightful little outside deck with two tables and service adjoining the bar. It was so relaxing to kick back with a few from our group, have a few drinks and snack on pizza from the kitchen (it was pretty good).

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#71 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#78 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#62 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#92 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Property: Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Address: No.400 Panyu Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#132 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its strategic city center location, Crowne Plaza Shanghai situated next door to the Shanghai Arts Film Center and about 3 minutes’ walk to Metro Station line 10、11; only minutes away from the bustling Xujiahui and Huaihai road shopping areas and close to the consular district and major Puxi exhibition venues. The hotel is situated just a 25 minutes drive from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing