We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated in places but still OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Ranked #97 of 5,104 Hotels in Shanghai
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dated in places but still OK”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay here fairly often and it has become something of a 'home from home' the staff are very friendly and the food is very good for western stomachs!

The only real negative is the location, the hotel isn't really close to anything, with the exception of the local mall

The hotel provides free WiFi but you may struggle to receive it in your room - you can ask them to provide a router making use of your Ethernet cable which is standard practice in China.

Room Tip: High Floors are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Koper1867,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for taking your time to write a review about us.
Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we are pleased to read your comments related to our service and food and beverage offer.
Regarding our location, Metro lines 10 and 11 are only 5 minutes walk distance to the hotel, which will lead to many key Hotspots in Shanghai.
Hotel is working on wifi experience improvement project. New facilities and equipment will be put into service within coming 2 months. Therefore we can offer guest with better wifi experience in Sept.
Looking forward to welcome you any time soon at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.
Your sincerely,
Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    296
    129
    39
    12
See reviews for
50
55
47
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we stayed for a week on business in July 2014. the hotel is fine, the breakfast offers everything to everyone, from chinese dishes to the bacon and eggs, waffles and soy milk sugar-free cereals.
the swimming pool is small and the gym sort of limited but you will find everything you need if you are willing to adapt your workout routine to the new environment.
the rooms are quiet and cleaned well, so a good spot for jet lagged fliers to relax, the blackout curtains will let you sleep through the day, and ease you into your stay, after a long flight from europe or america.
the wi-fi can be a bit slow at times, we managed to get done what we needed done without asking for an in-room router, but there is an outlet in the room, so it's possible to get a better connection.
all in all a good, convenient spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartkarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear bartkarski,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for taking your time to write a review about us.
Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we feel really proud to read such a review with praises regarding our breakfast and room.
It’s motivating to read your comments and your recommendation, definitely, makes our team even more proud of the daily effort to offer great experiences to our guests.
Thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you any time soon at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.
Your sincerely,
Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed by this hotel- service was poor, bathroom was ridiculously small and breakfast was non descript- supposed to stay 3 nights but myself and 4 other colleagues checked out after 1 night to stay elsewhere . Don't bother with this one .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for review at Crowne Plaza page of Tripadvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts in our website in genuinely appreciated. As results of your comments, we will, definitely, work on our breakfast offer in order to better serve our guests needs. We have shared your feedback with the team and we will enforce the service skill training to continuing offering a great level of service to our customers.
In addition, our hotel opened for business in 1992; about amenities really have slight different. In order to offer guests warmer living experience, we are constantly update and improve the facilities and equipment. In this process, there may be some details was not perfect. We are very willing to listen to your valuable suggestions and timely to improve the shortage place.
Look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy the Crowne Plaza Shanghai!
Your sincerely,
Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JN194
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This property is 20+ years old so one of the more dated properties in a city that seems to have a new hotel opening every month. I was considering this hotel for my parents visit since I live down the street. After looking at the website, I was even more deterred against booking this hotel as the room photos look extremely old and small. However, mom had points she wanted to use (even though rates were only 799RMB) so we booked this hotel for a two night stay. The lobby was a very typical design for hotels around this age but very well maintained. The service staff was attentive and had good attitudes upon arrival. We went to the room which was surprisingly nice and had all the necessary amenities. The photos online do not do it justice. Clean, simple, 5 star accommodations. Check-out was very friendly and the front desk agent (young man at the far end of the counter at 1:30PM) even made an attempt at having a friendly conversation with us; which is very uncommon when staying at hotels in China. Well-done, Sir! Would highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JN194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JN194,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Crowne Plaza Shanghai opened for business in 1992; about amenities really have slight different. In order to offer guests warmer living experience, we are constantly update and improve the facilities and equipment. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future. Your sincerely, Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a nice hotel in the centre of Shanghai close to the western Hongqiao airport. Hotel staff were helpful and we found this was a good 'jumping off point' for exploring the main part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jo H,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for your review regarding your experience. We are glad that you like our hotel, especially our location and staff. Thank you give us highly recognition. To provide first-class service for guests is our goal of all staff. We still very eagerly look forward to your next visit, thank you.
Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is located on the east side of Shanghai downtown. Downtown and other areas can be easily reached with the subway (few hundred meters away) or taxi. I stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel itself is an older hotel and in some areas it shows. Corridors and rooms are clean and functional but you can see the wear and tear. Being a Platinum member I had access to the lounge where service was nice and attentive but the lounge itself is not that wonderful. For example, there are no windows to outside. Gym and the pool are on the old side but you can get your basic exercise done in the facilities. Breakfast is good and selection is what you would expect in Asia for a large 4/5 star hotel. Service is pleasant and you get the smiles from the great staff.
I had a good stay at the hotel but will only rate the hotel as 3 due to the older facilities. If you don't mind that this is definitely a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: I guess (or I hope) the rooms on the new side are better. I'm not sure in which side I was in, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear heilio,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for taking your time to write a review about us.

Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we are pleased to read your comments related with our location, cleanliness, staff service, and food and beverage offer at breakfast.

Our hotel has served many customers for over 20 years. The hotel designed in traditional style but well maintained. In order to offer guests warmer living experience, we are constantly update and improve the facilities and equipment. In this process, there may be some details was not perfect. We are very willing to listen to your valuable suggestions and timely to improve the shortage place.

At last, thank you again for your detailed review and it really help us improve service. Looking forward to hearing from you next time.

Your sincerely,

Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for the past couple of weeks as I relocate out of Shanghai. The location is very central and although the hotel is a little tired hardware wise, compared to the new 5 star properties, it has a lot going for it. The staff are very very friendly, efficient in remembering likes and dislikes and extremely helpful. I have found that as the days pass, they are recognising me more and more and using my name. Food offering is particularly great at breakfast. Highly recommend as value for money experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Christopher W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Your feedback regarding the hotel is important to us and we appreciate the time you have taken.

I am delighted to learn that on the whole you enjoyed our service, especially our location, service and breakfast. Although it is our basic principle to offer high service standards, it is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Your sincerely,

Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#81 of 5,104 in Shanghai
332 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#82 of 5,104 in Shanghai
481 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#61 of 5,104 in Shanghai
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#92 of 5,104 in Shanghai
821 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Property: Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Address: No.400 Panyu Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its strategic city center location, Crowne Plaza Shanghai situated next door to the Shanghai Arts Film Center and about 3 minutes’ walk to Metro Station line 10、11; only minutes away from the bustling Xujiahui and Huaihai road shopping areas and close to the consular district and major Puxi exhibition venues. The hotel is situated just a 25 minutes drive from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing