We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Ranked #108 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Have just returned from a Wendy Wu Tour of China 14 days. Our first hotel stay was at the Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai. When checking in on the 14 May a day prior to the tour commencing I specifically asked D.D who was on duty for a "non smoking room" and he assured me that it was.
As soon as my husband and I walked in we could smell that it certainly was not a non-smoking room. Rang down to reception and told them that it smelt of smokers the response was to send housekeeping with a can of air freshner and opening the window. We went out to dinner and still the same smell of cigarettes. I then personally went down to reception and was told no we were not in a non smoking room by another staff member and they then offered to change the room which we did. When you are only at the hotel for 3 days after a long flight the last thing you want is attitude which got from D. D. in bucket loads and to given wrong informatiion twice and then to have to repack and take all of your belongings to another room - better things to do on your holiday. The other request we made was to use the reception safe box, the response was reception staff get busy if customers use this facility accessing the safe deposit boxes!! I guess the job is all too much for him and he may think about working elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room make sure that the room is marked with the non smoking symbol as we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Templestowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Templestowe,
Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your experience with us. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you’ve encountered. Please be assured that a full investigation into your concerns has been conducted. I have addressed these points raised with the relevant department head and refresher service training is being provided for this area to ensure our procedures are being upheld. Thank you once more for bring the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, to which I am sure you will experience the true Holiday Inn experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed for 3 nights from 23 May to 26 May in Holiday Inn Downtown, room 1662 great wall wing. The stay was very pleasant and all staff were helpful. However, I find the executive lounge a disappointment. The lounge did not have any computers and food was available only in the evenings about 5.30. The selection of food was poor and the lounge looked more like a modified standard guestroom to cater to executive floor guests. To top it off, the personnel manning the lounge was not very helpful. I was looking for a printer to print an address in chinese. Despite only a couple of lines to give to the cab driver in Chinese, which I did explain in detail, I was told to go to level 2 the business lounge to print it at 5 yuan a piece. I went to the cociege at the lobby instead and had a very attentive trainee do it for free. I asked the lounge personnnel for tour suggestions as well, but was told to contact the tourist travel center instead. She could be more proactive in dealing with customers. Do not eat dinner at the Chinese restaurant at level 2 - Yue Garden. Food is expensive and of poor quality. Breakfast there was OK. Location of hotel was good and nearby train station with 24 hours KFC around the corner.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the family mart. Choose higher floors as they have less noise from the honking of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear clarence17,
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your experience with us. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor executive lounge service you received. Please be assured that I have addressed these points raised with the relevant department head with corrective actions being taken and refresher service training is being provided for this area. Currently, our Executive Lounge have 1 computer available for guest free use and complimentary cocktails and snacks during evening ‘Happy Hour” from 17:30 to 19:30. I am pleased to report that we are in the process of new menus for Chinese restaurant. New ingredients and daily chefs specials are being implemented. Thank you once more for bringing the Ups and Downs of your visit to our attention and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Friendly, well placed hotel just round the corner from Shanghai Railway Station and the very efficient Metro. Room was large and comfortable with well equipped bathroom, an excellent shower and plenty of soft towels. The breakfast buffet was large and well stocked and the hotel seems professional, welcoming and well run. Plenty of shops and supermarkets within walking distance and pedestrian bridges across major road junctions makes getting around safe and easy. No hesitation in recommending - do try a ride on the high speed maglev train while in Shanghai and an evening river cruise to see all the illuminated skyscrapers and the Bund is highly recommended too.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Zeusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Zeusco,
Sincere thank you for taking your time to share your experience and appreciated your positive comments for Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are glad that you have enjoyed our service and facilities. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. Our aim is to ensure that the hotel offers consistently high standards of service and facilities. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

For a 3 days business trip, not bad. well located near a main railway station and metro station. but not a lot happening in the area. room facility is good but hotel lacks basic facilities like a decent resturant. Breakfast sucks but staff are helpful.

Room Tip: A live street, choose a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Luckybas,
Many thanks for taking time to review Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and
feedback your experience with us. Please be informed that we are in the process of new menus for our restaurants. New ingredients and daily chefs specials are being implemented. Thank you again for your valuable opinions and sincerely look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had selected this Hotel for its price and location, and got what I wanted, the decent place to stay for the low price. Location is good, close to the Railway Station and to the elevated roads, and 10 min by taxi to the Bund.The room (Great Wall Wing) was not renovated, but I don't care, it was even a bit charming to have these old locks and painted doors. The biggest issue was the Internet - there were no WiFi in the room, just cable. No Euronews or any other European news-channels on the TV - this was a minus also. Besides this, everything was just fine - the guys at the Hotel even found the painkillers for me when I had the headache.
The check-in and check-out procedure was quick and easy, the service at the Lobby bar was also good.
If you want to get the usual Holiday Inn quality for the low price, this Hotel is the perfect choice. If you want more, the Intercontinental tower is just opposite ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedishat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear jedishat,
Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and we are glad to learn your last visit with us was relaxing. Regarding internet, now we are negotiating this issue with our 3rd party provider to access this service. Currently guest can enjoy wifi at our lobby、restaurant、meeting room、executive lounge and public area. And all our rooms are featured colour TV with a broad satellite channel selection, such as CNN、TV5 FRANCE、etc. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were a party of four staying at the hotel from April 8- 13 and would like to congratulate the management on several staff working at the hotel. In particular, we would like to thank Geoffrey Guo, Susan Zhou, Even Huang and May Zeng for the help they gave to my husband and I and my 80year old parents who were travelling with us.
Over the years, we have stayed at many IHG hotels throughout the world and feel we are in a position to comment.
Firstly, Susan Zhou attended to all our intial concerns in a respectful and professional manner.
Secondly, Geoffrey Guo went far beyond what was required to ensure the restaurant service and food quality more than met our expectations.
Finally, the service in the Executive Club lounge was exceptional. In particular, we would like to highlight Even Huang and May Zeng who looked after us and my parents in such a caring manner.

It is our second stay at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and we would without hesitation choose this hotel again.
.

Room Tip: Executive Club rooms are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear FamilyofFour2012,
Sincerely thank you for letting us know that you have had a good stay with us and appreciated your positive comments about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. Making your stay a complete success is our goal. Both Susan and Geoffrey were delighted to read your great endorsement and have passed onto the whole team. This review will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Once again, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have just stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai, the location is not that great. It is a 40 minute walk to the peoples square or a 15 metro trip.

The hotel has two buildings; the executive and the standard hotel. I would strongly recommend the executive wing of the hotel. I accidentally went into the other wing and I though it was shut.... lights off/dim lobby.

The hotel is old looking, and not all the lights in the lift were either not switched on or just saving energy!

The room was clean, and bed was very comfortable.

I would not stay here again as I like to be a more in the action.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdw_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear bigdw_uk,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the location, however, most of our guests find that location is very convenient. As the People's Square is 10 minutes by taxi or 3 stops by subway. I am pleased to report that we have a planned refurbishment program starting in the 4th quarter of this year that includes guest rooms, hotel lobby, bar and restaurants. Our aim is to ensure that the hotel offers consistently high standards of service and facilities. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, once our refurbishment has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#117 of 5,206 in Shanghai
555 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#65 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,206 in Shanghai
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown

Address: No. 285 West Tian Mu Road Jing'an District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#102 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing’an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/ 3/ 4 and airport line 5. Pudong International Airport is 45 minutes by car and a speedy 20 minutes to Hongqiao International Airport/ National Center for Exhibition & Convention. Ease access to some famous attractions such as Tianzifang, Xintiandi, The Bund, People’s Square, the Jade Buddha Temple, Yu Garden…around 20 minutes. Our hotel provides you an ideal location for shopping, dining, sightseeing, entertainment. The hotel has a total of 282 modern and comfortable rooms including 14 suites. Guests can also utilize your very own in-room desk and free high-speed Wi-Fi and Wired Internet Access, so you can keep on top of work and the latest news. The Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is the ideal choice for conventions and meetings, with its versatile and stylish function rooms; we can accommodate all types of meetings, training seminars, weddings and a wide range social function. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, the Lobby Lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy special drinks. Enjoy Western and Asian cuisine at Angel’s Cafe and experience authentic Chinese local dishes at Yue Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing