We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Holiday Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #103 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Inns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I've stayed here three times always in an Club room. Rooms are very good. Good FREE wireless in the lobby and restaurant. Too bad you have to pay for it in the rooms and the Club Lounge. Staff goes out of their way to please you and some even refer to you by name. The best breakfast buffet in Shanghai ...I've tried numerous. Previously, I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt and St. Regis which were very good but the Holiday Inn is as good or even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBBB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    268
    85
    24
    10
See reviews for
21
33
42
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during my week long trip to Shanghai. It's smack right in Pudong's commercial district so it could be convenient if you are on a work trip, and needing to look for a stay within Pudong.

The nearest train station is Pudian station (line4), 5+mins walk away, and is 1-2 stops away from interchanging to other lines. There are a handful of restaurants at the lobby of office buildings nearby so eating won't be a major problem. Nearest supermarket is Century Lian Hua, which is connected to Pudian station.

What I like about the hotel is the furnishing, the swimming pool is one of the best I've seen. During my stay, someone was hosting a party at the pool and the pool was lighted up very nicely. Gym looks fully equipped but I did not try.

Club lounge looks fantastic, probably close to intercontinental style or the better Crowne Plaza's. The windows at the lounge has a panoramic view of the Pudong city which is very nice. There is no free wifi for lounge patrons which is a shame. This policy is unique only to this hotel within the intercontinental group. I've never been to a lounge where the wifi access is dependent on your room's package (which mine was not included). Of course, there are 2 computers in the lounge where you can access internet for free.

Free wifi is only available at the lobby, secured by a login page. I travel to Shanghai fairly often and I would pay to upgrade to a better room but will think twice to pay for internet because I've never been charged before. (PCR-Plat)

This hotel could have been the top choice for me in Shanghai if not for the internet access. I most likely will not return.

Room Tip: It's a new hotel and you can expect any rooms to be top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I like this hotel and its location, services, and features. I have been staying here and returning for more than one year. Good price and good location. Only 40 minutes and $25 from the Pudong International airport. Nice club lounge that includes breakfast, evening cocktails, and use of a conference room, Wifi, etc.
Good bar / restaurant Flannagans on the first floor. Cold beer and western food. All at a reasonable price.
I will return.

Room Tip: If you arrive early ask for the Executive lounge upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a Hotel in Pudong that has very good rooms and good service (especially the staff in the reception and concierge), but there is nothing else special to write about.

First, the room is comfortable and you can choose the pillows, either soft or hard. TV Channels are enough to entertain you with CNN and BBC plus movie, sports and music channels. Bathroom is good too. A/C is not noisy and this is good for a quiet sleep, especially in summer.

Internet is not free in the room (80 RMB x 24 hrs) and this is once again something that is not right nowadays, but they gave you free wifi in the lobby area, something that is odd as it should be the other way around.

Breakfast is just OK, although it will be better with a proper egg station as I couldn’t see any option to get an omelet, only fried eggs.

Coffee is one of the worst I ever had, so I ended having instant Nescafe in the room as it was much more drinkable than the one offered for breakfast.

Around the Hotel you will find a Family Mart and 7 Eleven shops (in case you need some snack), but not a proper western restaurant, so if you really need them you need to take a taxi.

The hotel is just 10 minutes by taxi to the Maglev station and it can cost you around 25-30 RMB. Maglev is still 50 RMB one way and will bring you to Pudong airport in 11 minutes. If you have to go to Hongqiao airport, then by taxi it may take you between 40 to 60 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed for the second time in this hotel for attending an exhibition at Pudong. An excellent hotel, very nice big rooms with all amenities. Rooms are very well maintained. the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is also nice. however choice of restaurants is limited if you do not want Pan-Asia food. the location is very convenient for going to exhibition ( 15 min.), shopping (Shanghai Science technology center market @ 10 min.). Overall once again I had very nice experience. Of course for all this, the room tariff is on a higher side.

Room Tip: Go for upper floor rooms above 19th floor as view will be better and no roadside disturbance althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

stayed here with family in may . quiet central location . upgraded myself to executive class and did not regret it. breakfast in club class could have been more extensive , but only a niggle. happy hours and variety excellent.
value for money as BIG rooms , comfortable, staff helpful once you know their style of working

Room Tip: upgrade and get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed here several times and it never fails to impress. The hotel facilities and staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in a good position, smack bang in the centre of the Pudong financial district and a short walk (300m) from the subway. The rooms are very comfortable and the internet service reliable. This time I stayed in an Executive Room on the 15th floor following a free upgrade as a Priority Club memeber.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazShawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#40 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#163 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#127 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#97 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#102 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing