We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #102 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Business hotel?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The internet service at the hotel is terrible. I am a Platinum member and get free service. The Wi-Fi in the Club Loung and the LQN connections in the rooms are so bad you are unable to use Skype to log-in to conference calls. The initial connection to a VPN can take 10+ tries and 20+ minutes. This has been this way for 2+ months with no solution. The hotel food is marginal. The staff is friendly and cordial. If this is you business location, choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    268
    85
    24
    10
See reviews for
21
33
42
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and overall the hotel is good. The downside is that there's no shopping mall near the hotel. The upside is that getting a cab is relatively easy and can get to Pudong central area within RMB20. Room is good overall as I got upgraded luckily. Breakfast buffet is quite okay but agree with a previous review that their coffee tastes bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here with a tour group and as we keep driving past all the amazing locales of Shanghai, I realized we are not going where we need to be.
The Pros:
-The Hotel is very modern and quite large
-My room was spacious with double beds not twins as you would find in other Shanghai hotels
-Breakfast buffet was extensive, something for everyone including an omelete bar and several Western favorites.

The Cons:
-Wifi is NOT free, it is only free in the lobby. For WiFi in your room, I believe the cost was somewhere around $15 but you can use it on several machines.
-I sent out a suit to dry clean and it came back costing me after converting Yuens to Dollars, $99.62. I was floored, I have never ever EVER paid close to one hundred dollars to have a suit dry clean, RIDICULOUS

Last and most importantly, this hotel is very far from Downtown Shanghai, The Bund and all the major locations and nightlife you want to be near. I was extremely upset about that since I ended up spending tons of money on cabs to get to where all the action was. Do yourself a favor, pay the extra money and stay in Shanghai proper, you will not regret like I did.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Great modern rooms with tons of space. Cutting edge bathroom appointments.
Clean, dry beds.

Wifi in the lobby, wired internet in rooms.

Excellent for the price and conveniently located in Pudong.

The breakfast buffet is a huge spread, and there is a 24/7 bar for drowning your culture shock sorrows.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel offers international standards with very friendly staff in a convenient location in Pudong, close to the No 2 MRT. The rates are reasonable and there are good restaurants in the vicinity, including one Xinjiang restaurant. Easily accessible from Pudong airport either by MRT No 2 or Magelev train to Longyang and a RM 20 taxi ride to the hotel. When you use the poll remember to wear a cap!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaohuPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

For those who are skeptic about Holiday Inns dont fear. Holiday Inn's overseas have yet too disappointed me. I have stayed in them in South Africa, England, Italy and Asia and found that the standards overseas are much higher than thoses in the US. So far, I have not stayed in one that I would complained about. This one was very clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and communication was not an issue. The location was great and very easy to get around. You could get a taxi right outside the door or you could walk down the road to the train station and shops are all around. Right across the is a little convenient shop, just in case you need something. The hotel does offer a breakfast buffet, which is a MUST. It includes something for everyone and a wonderful infusion of Asian and Western cuisine. I promise, you can skip lunch. This is a great stay and I would diffenately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I used to stay at Regal international East Asia hotel, but since staying here, I prefer here.

The hotel is clean, service is prompt. The foods in the hotel is good - I enjoy the breakfast spread - a mainly local Shanghai food with the usual omellette, porridge and cereals. The chinese retaurant on the 2nd floor is also quite affordable and nice.

It is close by the MRT - Pudian Road, so moving around is very convenient.

When u check in, always make sure that u get what you book. Twice, they tried to give me like twin room or smoking rooms when I booked otherwise. Make ur stand if it is important to u. Also, they like to come to u for room upgrades like free internet or laundry for some $$$. Again, u r not obliged, and take it only if u want it.

Lastly, check out the restaurant across the hotel - Mr Su's seafood. The food is Xiamen style, and if u r a hokkien from Fujian or Xiamen, u may enjoy the food from our hometown. Ask the waiter that u want authentic fujian food, and they will cook for u, otherwise, it become the stad big china city fusion food. I chose this hotel also for this restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#164 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#125 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing