We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My ears are bleeding...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #113 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have seen some bad, bad bands in Chinese hotels, but seriously this was so bad I did not finish my complementary beer.... and that's saying something! The rest of the experience was what you would expect from Holiday Inn, but rooms are in better than normal condition. Hence the 2 stars is fair, as there is no way I would contemplate coming back here for a stop over if I did not have time to go and make other arrangements in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BBJL_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comment about the band has been documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stay in shanghai for business purpose, thus does not expect much on the room. Unexpectedly the room is renovated, and the room is quiet modern. Simple bathroom, still clean and shower is strong. Special thanks to the cleaning lady, whose name is mei. She"s a very kind and generous lady, and very welcoming.

Pro: service, price, friendly staff
Con: away from city center. Too rely on metro

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Matl0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in making your visit enjoyable. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed there for 3 nights.very good room.excellent veiw of the skyline. good food.good staff .most of them speak workable enghlish. rooms were big .bathrooms were neat and clean.hotel is very connveniently situated. will recommend anyone going to end any of the big expos in the exhibition grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MRADUL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Guestroom made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We usually stay at this hotel when attending any trade fair at the Shanghai New International Expo Centre (SNIEC), as it is only a short drive from the hotel. The hotel also offers a complementary shuttle service to the fair site.
This hotel was renovated a few years ago, I would say it's the nicest Holiday Inn that I've stayed in. The rooms are clean, equipped with all mod cons. Bathrooms are fantastic, even have the partition glass that can be made non see through with a flick of a switch.
There are a few dining choices. Breakfast selection is more than ample. There is a lively bar for a relaxing drink after a hard day's work. There is not much action in the surrounding district, so a short walk to the metro and train ride will take you the ever popular Nanjing Road and Bund. About a 10 minute walk will also take you to the Science and Technology Museum station where you can shop for almost anything at very competitive prices, almost like a bazaar experience.
Would definitely stay again for similar visits.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide good views on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong in the near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First of all, you need to check on the map to understand that the hotel is not at the city center of Shanghai.
I stayed here on night for the transfer to the Pudong Airport. Instead of staying at a boring hotel nearby the airport, I chose this one in the center of Pudong. I was told that normally there would be no queue whatsoever from here to the airport. (Just for your infomration: the taxi trip from here to Pudong airport took about 40 min, cost about 150 CNY).

Location: good if you are happy not to be at the city center. There is a subway very close. The whole area is clean. No problem to take a taxi.
Staff: very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to the personal working in the bar on the 21st of June! You are very kind to my kid!
Eating out: we did not eat at the hotel. Instead we went to a very popular place with a10 min taxi trip. My feeling is that there are plenty of place to eat out.

I am impressed by this Holiday Inn, and think it has higher standard than the other Holiday Inns I stayed in US, Europe. It is very clean, no smell in the lobby area or in the room. Do make sure to ask for a no-smoking room at high floor. You got very nice view there over the Pudong area.

Maybe the bathroom is a bit simple, You show in a kind of small room, inside the bathroom. No window. But it is clean, so it does not bother me.

For sure I will stay here again, specially if I need to transfer to the airport.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong.We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, and our staff&service helped in making your visit enjoyable.Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you!
Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location was great for easy access to the city. I found it to be a clean hotel with a professional staff. Communication was easy and there were plenty of interpreters to assist. I was cautioned on the water cleanliness, but have not had a bad experience, ever, with the water. I was very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Was upgraded to their superior room, but on my first night, something was leaking very badly on the ceilings. So had to change rooms the next day.
Concierge guys were very helpful, and they helped us locate an outlet store near pudong.
Breakfast was so-so. I ordered noodles one night, and it was terrible!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ma Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in making your visit enjoyable. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#135 of 5,206 in Shanghai
238 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#114 of 5,206 in Shanghai
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#42 of 5,206 in Shanghai
647 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#108 of 5,206 in Shanghai
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#126 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing