We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Ranked #112 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay for business trip”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stay in this hotel is not the first time for me.
Always satisfied with the price and quality of service. Convenient location, close to the city center. Every time, pleases, sincere hospitality staff.
The last time, I was three years ago, so this time was pleasantly surprised by a good English speaking staff at the front desk and in the restaurant for breakfast.
Especially, I would like to highlight the Marina (F&B managment trainee), which is preparing an amazing cappuccino, much better than even at Starbucks,and of course, becouse of good English she always helped to solve the problems with the chinese staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    240
    84
    19
    6
See reviews for
35
68
42
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed for two nights with family (incl a five and six year old) as part of tour round China. They couldn't provide i/c rooms as we'd requested, so we had to split the children between us (irritating but not serious). They did upgrade us to executive because of this, which made for nicer rooms (and they were pleasant/well-equipped).

The hotel staff were friendly with most having a good command of English. Service was good and they won me over at breakfast on the last morning when they tracked down my notebook (with all my Mandarin notes in it) which I'd left at the dinner table the night before.

The rooftop swimming pool was a good place to relax and cool down after a hot day in the city.

If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of the Shanghai tourist area, this is probably not it but you do get a reasonable feel for Chinese Shanghai (as opposed to some of the more westernised areas).

Overall, couldn't fault it and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emandm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was at the tail end of our trip. Staff spoke good English, or found someone who did. Beds were comfortable. Pillow was nice and soft, and labeled as such. We had a king sized bed, the kids had two twins in their room. Bathroom size was okay. Not much around the hotel. A few shops, got some cold sodas and beer. Wandered around a little. Were warned off the sidewalk - there was a snake! Breakfast was good. I got some fresh noodles. My only wish would be for free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was the third hotel as part of a package booked through Thomas Cook, again it was their choice, and the location was very good for wandering out and exploring on your own. The ground floor bar was very good, a good selection of drinks, and when we were there ‘a buy 2 beers get one free’ was on offer. The cost of a coffee was however a little steep especially when over the road about 100yds away was a Starbucks, so when we needed our coffee fix guess where we went! You can get free wifi in the lobby area, without the need for passwords. We tried the buffet meal one night in the hotel restaurant, it was very good, and there were a few items we hadn’t tried before, but the head waiter helped us with the explanations and asked the chef to make up the dishes for us. The breakfast was also served here, a limited choice but enough to set you up for the day ahead. If you are looking for a little bit of European food, then near to the Starbucks on the same side of the road as the hotel is a Pizza Hut!! Just around the corner from the hotel is a canal, it’s the Beijing to Shanghai canal, and there is a little pedestrian bridge which is a good view point for taking photos along the canal side. Very pretty at night! The rooms were a good size, and although we had a bathroom malfunction the first night, on going to breakfast we asked them to sort it out, and it was done straight away. Excellent service! There were the usual toiletries in the bathroom, and storage in the wardrobe, with drawers and plenty of hangars. There was a desk instead of a dressing table, so to put my make up on I had to use the bar area which was in front of a full length mirror. A walk in shower instead of a bath, with a rain shower head was a nice change. The pool is a good size, however, as we didn’t have swimming caps we could only use the Jacuzzi, as we didn’t fancy paying the high price they wanted for a cap. The view was good from the pool area. All in all, a good hotel, and there were no problems in walking around at night, and all except a very pushy flower seller kept their distance. It’s a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank love_2_travel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i went in a group to attend an exhibition at Shanghai. The property is centrally located , though it is a 20 minute taxi ride to People's sqaure , or change 2 lines in the subway. There is a pizza hut , mc donalds, starbucks in the vicinity.
The lobby is good, the rooms are big , but the bathroom is small . The service is prompt. Being in China little communication problem with language with the house keeping staff.
The room was not cooling , so we called the housekeeping staff, the mechanic checked and said that the a/c is working properly , but we would perspire at night. The hotel had offered to change the room if we are uncomfortable, but we would get so tired by the time we reach hotel , that decide not to repack our bags and change the room

Room Tip: subway line no 7 station is the nearest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Supoer Mare
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This Hotel was rather typical of what you'd expect from Holiday Inn. We spent 2 nights here and our stay was fine. Nothing exciting but nothing to complain about either. If you need a fairly reasonable hotel then this could be it. Location isn't that good for a tourist but was fairly quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Room enviroment is very poor, no air condition supply, also no window can open, really bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#138 of 5,105 in Shanghai
918 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#110 of 5,105 in Shanghai
191 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#45 of 5,105 in Shanghai
850 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Address: No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista is strategically located on Chang Shou road at the intersection of Pu Tuo, Jin An and Chang Ning districts, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive distance from City Center.Just 20 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 55 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 5 minutes from the Shanghai Railway station, the hotel is perfectly situated for business, sightseeing and shopping.Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista has 290 contemporarily designed guestrooms including 4 Executive floors, 6 Non-smoking floors, 59 suites and 1 Shanghai Suite.The hotel features 2 Lounges & 1 Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing