We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room, kind service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Ranked #100 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spacious room, kind service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a rather aged building over Changshou Road: a busy four lane road in a residential area not too far from the central Nanjing Road. At 10 min from the hotel there is a station of the subway line N. 7: two stops to the Jing'an Temple, the very heart of Shanghai downtown. On arrival the man at the door tried to help me with luggage and led me to the reception counter. The main lobby is wide, bright and well decorated, Check in was kind and swift. I got a king size bed in a very spacious room. Very simple furnishing and the standard Holiday Inn amenities. Toilet and shower instead were too small compared to the room size. The window was very dirty outside, rain is dirty in Shanghai and windows get not cleaned very often. My sleep was a bit disturbed by the fan which kept going for all the night even if I had turned it off. Then in the morning suddenly it went off by itself. Breakfast is in a room which is a bit too small to accommodate many guests. Standard selection of food at the buffet and kind service from the waitresses. Unfortunately I could not use gym and swimming pool because thy were under renovation during my stay. This brings down the value of the stay for what I paid

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista and taking your time to share your feedback . We are pleased to know that you like our hotel location and service.Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused due to the fitness center decoration. Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    236
    82
    19
    6
See reviews for
34
65
42
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I though I can save my energy and have a simple dinner within the hotel for myself. But I'm totally wrong! It took 35 minutes to serve a simple vegetable dish! And I was the only customer at that moment, say 20:40! I was starving and started eating. However, it took 50 minutes to serve the other dish: fried fish and it's extremely salty and hardly to eat! For a 4-star hotel, such a service is completely unexpected and cannot be worse!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu-champagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista and taking your time to share your feedback .Please accept our sincere apology for the dining experience. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken.Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

i have been staying here for over 10 years. Originally, it was selected because it was close to our factory. When we started staying here, the rooms were very nice. Service was excellent. There was a "crispness" to the place. Now, the entire facility is showing its age. The ventilation is terrible. During this stay I had to change rooms because my room was so stuffy. This is a common problem here as I have checked with others from our company that stay here.
In addition, the restaurant is just tolerable. The breakfasts are so-so and the lunches less so.
The staff are nice and attentive. But they cannot overcome the problem with the physical plant or the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista and taking your time to share your feedback about the hotel facilities.Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken.Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is not new and actuall it's pretty old. The gym is small but ok for you. Nearby lots of restaurant and shopping center. You also can find some massage places. For business, it's enough. If you have time, there is a park very close to the hotel. you can enjoy and have a relax walking inside. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed on a Business Trip to Shanghai at the Vista for 5 nights. The rooms and the ambience very modest. I guess it needs a face lift.

The Air conditioning was poor and the room had just the essentials required for Bed & Breakfast type accommodation.

The staff tried to be courteous but language was a major barrier. I found the reception staff not very friendly though they did not offend in any manner but the smile on receiving a guest was missing.

I had to make 4 to 5 calls to order and explain that I needed a bottle of drinking water. Language a big barrier.

Would not want to stay again as I would prefer something more classy. Our office booked the rooms and for the price paid for the same couldn't have asked for more. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista and taking your time to share your feedback about the hotel facilities and services. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken. Thank you once again for your comments. We hope you'd give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

A little out of the way for the Bund and French concession etc but cheap taxis and short walk to very cheap and efficient metro. Service at breakfast, in lobby bar and at reception pleasant and efficient.

Room could do with a bit of refurbishment, upholstery was worn and had some stains.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of a Virgin Holidays splendours of China tour.
We arrived late morning and rooms were ready. Tour started the next day, so we unpacked and decided to go to Nanjing road area.
Concierge stopped taxi in the road for us and told the taxi driver where we wanted to go. Returned to the hotel in the evening using the subway. Easy to use and all signs announcements bilingual. Lots of passengers but fairly orderly. Subway station about a five minute walk to hotel. Felt safe.
Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, looking towards the main junction / subway station area.
Clean room, very comfortable beds, safe, two bottles of water provided. Good shower.
Breakfast was provided and probably the best one of our trip. Both western and eastern choices.
Local convenience shop immediately to left of hotel entrance selling water / snacks etc.
Whilst hotel is away from bund area, easy to get around and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kph100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy l, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#127 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#97 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Address: No.700 Chang Shou Road, Shanghai 200060, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#95 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista is strategically located on Chang Shou road at the intersection of Pu Tuo, Jin An and Chang Ning districts, the hotel is only 10 minutes drive distance from City Center.Just 20 minutes drive from the Hong Qiao Airport, 55 minutes from the Pudong International Airport and 5 minutes from the Shanghai Railway station, the hotel is perfectly situated for business, sightseeing and shopping.Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista has 290 contemporarily designed guestrooms including 4 Executive floors, 6 Non-smoking floors, 59 suites and 1 Shanghai Suite.The hotel features 2 Lounges & 1 Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vista Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing