We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Price, Service should have been much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #40 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

To start, the hotel entrance is on the side of the building, there are no lights lighting the passage to the hotel and it gets worst when it gets dark, there is no passage for people to walk in so if you are walking back to the hotel you have to be careful of the car turning into the hotel behind you.

Now When i read the reviews of the hotel that went on and on about excellent staff, which I think they couldn't keep up with staff, the thing they lagged most was to smile, it felt like there was no connection.

Rooms were okay, bit small for club level rooms, my AC didn't work well, i complained and they brought be a fan, they left a note in my room next day with a small token that they fixed my AC but same night I had to call them again and then just gave up that it could have been fixed.

Overall rooms were good, everything was plush and amenities were excellent.

Breakfast had a good variety of things, but staff there as well was not up to the mark.

I guess most disappointing part was the entrance of the hotel which made everything follow.

Will I stay there again? Will for the money I paid, I don't think so I will

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your feedback. It is with great concern that we learned you did not enjoy your stay experience with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. The services you have received are totally not acceptable, and we take it as constructive criticism and will strive to do better and seeking for further improvement in future.

Thank you for your compliments about our room amenities and breakfast food variety. We do receive a lot of great comments related to our breakfast. We hope you give us another opportunity to extend the true InterContinental service that you can expect as loyal IHG guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

check in no club floor access given as platinum ambassador for standard room … breakfast already close 10:00am … worst is the noise level from road around the hotel is like sleeping on the it … location ok … room good like expected

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your stay experience. It is with a great concern we read that you did not receive the right level of service.

As a platinum ambassador member we are grateful for your loyalty, and we do provide additional benefits such as room upgrade to next category including fruit amenities, late check out till 16:00 etc. Unfortunately club lounge access is not a part of the platinum ambassador benefits. On the other hand we are glad to read that the room upgrade we have selected for you meets your expectation.

Again thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Everything was very clean and well-decorated. The extra amenities in my room (razor, toothbrush etc.) and free bottled water were appreciated. Beds and pillows were comfortable. bathroom is extra large and products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) were good quality. A great city view from my room and the 24th floor club level lounge. Upgrade to the club level didn't cost much more and I fully took advantage of the included drinks and food. The evening happy hour has so much food that we didn't need dinner several nights. The bar downstairs is also nice and has a free pool table. Drinks are expensive (as in most hotel bars). There is a big mall, food market and restaurants within a couple of blocks. There were mostly adult business travelers at the hotel, but I would definitely stay here with my kids. They would love the HUGE breakfast buffet (everything from sushi to eggs benedict) and they'd have the pool almost all to themselves (business travelers rarely swim).

Room Tip: Upgrade to club level and enjoy the free drinks and food on the 24th floor in the evening. You'l...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruthBTold00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel has a lot to offer and the 24 hour gym is well-equipped for a hotel. The breakfasts were excellent and there was always plenty of choice. I can highly recommend the poached salmon which I had delivered to my room. Although a large hotel, you never had to wait long for a lift (elevator). Staff were always helpful and friendly. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had to find a place to stay for a long business trip and chose this hotel for several reasons: located near shopping areas and many great restaurants, only 8 minute walk to the Century Ave. subway (3 lines), reasonably priced compared to many other downtown Pudong international hotels, ability to book a Club level room, and good reviews on TripAdvisor. Overall I made a great choice. After being here for nearly 5 weeks I will be happy to be back home but sorry to leave Shanghai thanks in part to this hotel. As other reviewers have noted, the Club lounge staff is wonderful. I have spent many evening hours in the lounge enjoying the happy hour(s), the music, and especially the conversations with the staff when they are not too busy. They always take the time to have at least a few words with me which is greatly appreciated when travelling alone for an extended period. They are all very well trained, very professional, and very friendly to every guest - even to those I'm sure they would rather kick out! Other staff I have interacted with have likewise been very friendly. The Oriental House restaurant in the hotel has very good food and also very good service. Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Club rooms are very nice and those not on Zhangyang Rd probably have a little less street noise duri...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The whole stay is marvelous. As long as I walked in to front desk, i was greeted by Cherry (or Sherry?) , recognizing me as Royal Ambassador. The room is spacious and gorgeous. The Lounge is not big, but the food quality is among the highest standard.
Overall a must stay while you are in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Ma_YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Traveled to Shanghai for business and stayed at the Intercontinental. Upgrading to a club level room is recommended, as this includes an amazing breakfast buffet every morning (with options to suit many tastes), a more spacious room, and a cocktail reception (with buffet) each evening. The location of the hotel is central to some shopping and restaurant options, and other sites are a short walk or taxi ride away. We were able to take an evening ferry boat tour (with help getting tickets from the concierge at the hotel), as well as a trip to Yu Garden. For business travelers, the club rooms include a spacious desk, comfortable bed, and reliable WiFi connections. I will return to this hotel on my next trip to Shanghai, whether for business or vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockeyAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#42 of 5,111 in Shanghai
801 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#43 of 5,111 in Shanghai
591 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#32 of 5,111 in Shanghai
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District | Plaza 96, Century Avenue, Times Square, Next Age Department Store, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#121 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £76 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 418 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing