We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service at Executive Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #45 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were in Shanghai for a week long meeting. We had good service at the reception, concierge, and restaurant. We used the executive lounge in the evenings to discuss and organize our notes. The service at the lounge was excellent. They set aside a table to accommodate the six of us daily and brought an extension cord so we could charge our laptops. Emily, one of the lounge employees, was exceptionally helpful and took good care of us.
The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the Line 2 subway station. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get club level rooms. The room includes breakfast and lounge access, which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phynixwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your stay experience. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong.

Club InterContinental, as you mentioned has been well recognized as a unique place and gradually become the main reason to keep our regular guests come back. We have shared your feedback with the team especially with Emily, and trust with such a good review our team members will be highly motivated.

Thanks again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Different from my previous experience, the service and attitude of front desk is noticeably improved. Dennis is helpful and knowledgeable.

The executive lounge is great as usual. Especially when it's showering and thundering outside.

Recommend to anyone wants to stay at Pu Dong to explore the modern side of Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt_Ma_YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to our entire team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The best: the breakfast! Huge selection from Eastern to Western food. Complimentary newspaper is always welcome.
To improve: I feel the hotel a little bit 'old'. The gym seems a little bit outdated for Intercontinental standards. English from staff should improve.
To note: great location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JorgeAndresVivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We appreciate to read that you are satisfied with our location and breakfast.

Your comments have been shared with our department heads. We will continue with coaching and training our employees to extend true InterContinental service. And we are confident that you will see changes during your next stay.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stay 3 night at intercontinental. Everything was amazing, from the reception team and superb Concierge team. The guys was amazing!!! Really want to thank both guys as I met there.(apologises can't remember the name). But they help me with everything I need it.
The hotel it's about 5 min walk from the subway as you can connect to many line and get get a train to everywhere. Even to the main train station to Beijing where we came from or to the airport.
Breakfirst it's superb. Everything you need or even you don't expect to find you will have.
Taxi cost about 120cny. From the airport or train station. Or 8CNY by subway if you don't mind.

Room are great. Nice and clean as very comfortable.
You have 3 or 4 shopping centre just beside of the hotel.
So in general it's amazing hotel def recommend and next time in sha I will be there again.

My big thank you it's to the guys from the Concierge. Thank you both for your great help.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ssmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's 25kms from SHA airport costs approx 250 yuan one way, 46kms to PVG airport cost similar in a taxi, large skyscraper 35 floors maybe, 4 lifts, reception area somewhat small but check-in fast, wifi charged in lobby it's free, produce your business card and become a IHG member them wifi is free in rooms too, some language problems (English) but nothing major, breakfast spread very good large area buffet so finding your type of food will make you walk corner to corner, 21st floor superior room good but looks tired need some uplifting perhaps, good amenities, spacious WC, close to underground can take it costing 8yuan one way to people's square for shopping etc, good location, good hotel, no hesitation will stay again, enjoy your stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gavin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First time staying in this hotel, check in process very quick. The building is very different from others where you can see every floor of this hotel.

The room looks much of my other Intercontinental stay, only the king size bed was merge from 2 single beds where I can felt the gap between them.

24 hours fitness center was a really good option for those who wanted to workout at late night or very early in the morning.

Breakfast was excellent, I did see some comments saying that the staff didn't smile when they enter the restaurant. For me it was a bit similar, but however there were other staff that gave me a very good service so I would say it was an exceptional case.

Great location to the Lujiazui financial districts and lots of restaurants nearby the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Thank ctkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your staying experience.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our check in service and breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the bed issue you have highlighted, and thank you for bringing it into our attention. Furthermore we have carried out basic service behavioral training to our restaurant line associates to make sure the same standard of service will be delivered in future.

Thanks again for your patience and valued comments. We wish to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Service:
- Front desk check in was good, however check out service was not so good
- Bar service was good
- Resturant was really bad! Servers didn't say good morning or a single smile
Dishes stack on the table, servers walk by many times and did not bother to collect them

Room:
- first impression of the room was clean and tidy
- after two nights in the room, found moldy toilet paper cover (was going to stay 5 nights and changed to 3 nights)
- did not replace slippers
- did not replace toiletry
- maid vacuum the room while I was standing outside the door waiting (this is absolutely not acceptable)

All in all, there are many much better hotels in Shanghai area and I would not recommend this hotel to travelers.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Juliana_Yow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Ms. Juliana,


Thank you very much for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We feel sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong.

It is a great concern when we learned that the service provided was neither IHG standard nor in line with the fundamentals of our InterContinental service culture. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We strive to provide our guests with a true InterContinental experience and all guest feedback is of utmost importance.

We hope that despite of your last experience with our hotel we can convince you of our real performance and may welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#41 of 5,146 in Shanghai
807 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 5,146 in Shanghai
601 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District | Plaza 96, Century Avenue, Times Square, Next Age Department Store, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#134 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £86 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 418 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing