We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Ranked #116 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Good hotel for a quick stay in Shanghai. Very nice room, although bathroom tired. Excellent gym. Great breakfast buffet. Well located within walking distance to Old Street and waterfront (for the fit). We dined at an excellent little bistro type restaurant down the road, wonderful food and super cheap and very relaxed casual dining. (English difficult but possible). (Go out the front of the hotel and turn left and walk no more than about 50m). Nice bar area, and all round a good stay although brief, but will come back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your experiences with us. We regard all of our guests' feedback as an important tool for our training and improvement.

We look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    289
    119
    24
    7
See reviews for
31
57
29
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great property to stay. Rooms are good, huge windows. My room had a unblocked sunrise view, which was the best thing for me.
The place is close to the famous Nanjing road and other areas.
I stayed only one night so did not eat there, but there are many options close by.

Room Tip: High floor and east side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share what you enjoyed most about your stay . We are especially grateful for your comments and hope you get more and more familiar with Jin Jiang Hotels, the largest hotel management group in the Asia.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Beware...the rooms are large and definitely setup for business, but with that comes some really nice luxuries, made all the better for us as we were at the end of a long trip around china.

It is ideally placed for the metro, and within quick easy walk or tube of everywhere you might want to go.

The huge glass wall from bathroom to bedroom is interesting...but being able to watch the tele either in the bath shower or even on the loo is curious, (far more people will be trying it than admitting it!!!) Get the right room, and the views are superb.

It is very clean, efficient and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your experiences at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in your room.
The room type is an attempt we made to create more open space in the room. Concerning about the acceptence for all the guests, we provide a curtain for your choice.

Jin Jiang Hotels is the largest hotel management group in China. We hope you may get more and more familiar with the brand during your next trip to China.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I was with my friend .. In a business trip .. It was recommended by my partner in Shanghai .. The hotel is in the middle of shanghai .. The rate is good .. The Taxis available outside the hotel gate .. They provide internet during your stay with additional fees which is recommended. They provide Islamic food by order.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your impressions of our hotel. I am grateful to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our management so they may be recognized for their commitment to service.

We hope that you are enjoying a pleasant journey onwards and we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

For the positive: the rooms are good, the location excellent... for the negative: but the food is overly priced but very very poor quality, the staff is untrained, very very bad service. 80 rmb for a very very small portion of very bad tiramisu served in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hainanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review of your most recent stay with us.

I am pleased to know you are satisfied with the room. However, I am so disappointed to hear that your impressions of my colleagues and the food are so poor; however, we will be sure to use your comments for our development.

Please know that we would be eager to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

First of all, for those of you who are planning to stay at this hotel in the near future - do not do it unless you need/want to get up really early in the morning...There is a big construction site right next to the hotel, and they start the work at 6.30 am. After that, it is absolutely impossible to continue sleeping. My room was facing the construction site, so the noise was awful. Maybe it is better on the other side, so if you DO stay at Jin Jiang, ask for a room that is on the other side.

Having said that, there was other noise as well. My hotel room wall was so thin that I could hear the person next door snoring (this was before the construction noise). It felt as if there was no wall between us at all. Very unpleasant. However, I am a light sleeper, so maybe this wouldn't bother those of you who sleep more deeply.

My colleague got an upset stomach after the hotel breakfast, which is quite worrying. I was ok (didn't have breakfast, but had dinner), although the food at the hotel certainly wasn't anything to celebrate.

Otherwise, this hotel is ok for a Chinese hotel. Don't be fooled, it is NOWHERE close to five stars, or even four in international terms...max. three. Rooms are large (I got an upgrade though), my bed was clean and the room tidy overall, but the room was quite worn down and the corners of the bathroom were moldy. The internet connection worked surprisingly well.

Before I arrived at the hotel, I enquired about getting a hotel car to pick me up from the airport. I never got an answer from them at all, so can't say that the service would have been good...However, the reception staff were efficient and spoke good English.

Room Tip: While there is construction work ongoing next to the hotel, ask for a room on the opposite site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for bringing this to our attention and I feel very sorry about your unpleasant experience.

It must have been frustrating to get bothered by the noise in room. I also understand how disappointed it is when you didn't get any answer on the demand of limousine service. I have addressed all the problems seriously with my team. Your suggestions will be well-noted, as we are always trying to recognize what our guests value most. I truly hope this inconvenience caused would not damage your impression on the Jin Jiang Hotels.

Please know that we would be eager to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Jin Jiang Tower usually is one of the cheapest 5 star hotels in Shanghai center, and while not up to the standard of other 5 star hotels like hilton etc., you get good value for money. Rooms are large and well equipped, service is ok and in the 7-8 times that I've stayed here over the past two years, I have received a room upgrade quite a few times. Breakfast is good too, and location, close to huaihai road is just excellent.

Only downside is a bit of slow internet connection, and what pissed me off a few times this year is that the gym and sauna have been closed for over a year; with every time the re-opening date getting postponed. They don't mention this on their site, and once I send an e-mail to enquire about it before booking, but I never got a reply. I don't know if it's reopened (they used to have a very large Japanese style hot bath and jacuzzi) now though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E749b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#84 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#206 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#154 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#153 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Jiang Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Tower Hotel

Property: Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Address: No.161 Changle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#112 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jin Jiang Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the former French concession, near the Huaihai Road Central Business District, Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai enjoys a most convenient traffic, close to Xin Tian Di and People's Square. As a flagship hotel of Jin Jiang Hotels Group, the largest hotel group in China and Asia, the hotel is one of the best venues to overlook Shanghai downtown landscape. Choosing a hotel receiving more than 370 heads of states, foreign dignitaries and celebrities, the guest will experience exquisite oriental-attentive services.The hotel owns 582 rooms and suites, where high-speed WiFi network fully covered including the public area. All the guests may enjoy the cutting-edge digital system during your stay at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jin Jiang Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang Hotel
Hotel Jin Jiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing