We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with the rotating restaurant above Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Ranked #122 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Veles, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The hotel with the rotating restaurant above Shanghai”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dramatical view from the top of the hotel: A restaurant that is unnoticeably rotating, so the night view is always new and exciting while you have your dinner. The food is fantastic. Excellent rest after a hard day at work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest: It was really great to heard that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you very much for your support to JinJiang Tower! We are Looking forward to your next visit and enjoy memorable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    291
    125
    25
    7
See reviews for
33
59
30
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Jin Jiang Tower Hotel is located in almost the heart of Shanghai. Xujiahui District, which is Close to Huaihai and Maoming Road. Directly at Changle and Ruijin Road. Some interesting Locations are very Close by, like Xintiandi for having a beer or dinner, which is only 10 minutes walkway from the Hotel. Around the Hotel there are several other bars and Restaurants, like the Xinwang Restaurant, just around the Corner. Good for dinner. For Shopping there is the Huaihai Road, which is only 5 minutes walkway from the Hotel. Nice Shopping experience with a lot of brand Shops.
The Hotel itself is already some years old, but still in good conditions. The rooms are clean and big. The Price-Performance-Ratio is acceptable for this 5-Star Chinese Hotel. it has a very international touch. The rooms are comfortable and offer also a big bath. In Executive Floor you can enjoy a great view over the City of Shanghai.
The rooms are big and clean. The executive floors are comfortable with a big rooms and bed and you can use the executive Lounge, which offers coffee in the afternoon with cake and beer and small Snacks in the eve. The Standard rooms look big, but sometimes to be reconditioned.
The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and courteous. They care for the guests and do their best they can. Breakfast is also almost international. You can have different types of bread and Special prepared eggs as well as you can find cheese and jam for the European guests.
All in all the Hotel is recommendable from the cleanliness, the friendly staff, the size of the rooms and the breakfast, as well as the fantastic Location. The Price-Performance-Ratio is good. A Hotel which can make you the stay in Shanghai more convenient

Room Tip: There is no recommendation for any room. Maybe only from the Level. Executive floor is on top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elwoodblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Owner at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest :
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you once again for your comments, and we hope to see you again !

Best wishs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It looks like 2o years ago it was an up-market hotel, probably one of the best in Shanghai. Probably since then nothing has been done to keep the pace of timing.
It's a huge hotel, just in front the stadium. Location is not bad if one has to manage some business in the area, not good for tourism.
Check in experience is terrible, registration still on hand written paper, many sheet of paper. Rooms small, very bad smell, very low ceailing (I could touch it!). Furnitures evidently the same as the opening 20 years earlier. Internet not working (refunded when checked out), complained of that, committed to fix, no fixing during my stay.
Restaurant for dinner (buffet) very poor, not in quantity but in quality....I had an host and it's been embarassing.
Astonishing high price for the hotel level and location.
I strongly suggest to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai. Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review of your most recent stay with us.

We shouid do the apologize to you .And your comments are very improtant and helpful for us.We'll try the best to improve our service and production .

Please know that we would be eager to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. I hope that we have the opportunity to having you back at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Can't really fault this hotel. Bathrooms are a little dated but otherwise spacious room, very comfortable bed, user friendly a/c system, english speaking staff throughout (cleaners, restaurant, front desk), great "western" breakfast selection, good coffee. Stayed level 25 for roughly 600rmb, great value for a Shanghai 5 star hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Front Office Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Gus M

Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor platform and we are happy to hear that you have had a comfortable stay with us! On your next visit, please don’t forget to check out our latest accommodation and dining offers on our hotel official website! Our team and I look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Agnes zhou
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I recently stayed here a night before flying out of Shanghai Pudong. Check in took abnormally long for a hotel of this calibre. Thank you to the staff for upgrading me to an executive room, which was furnished very well. I wish there were more electrical ports and perhaps an outlet adaptor in the room, but otherwise the room was splendid. My room must not have overlooked a very good part of the city because I looked out and never bothered with the windows again. Service was a little tired and snappy at the manager's desk and the reception, but otherwise, it's a good place to stay. Breakfast was very crowded and staff seemed to be overwhelmed.

The subway about two blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Front Office Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Cyron12:Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform. We apologize for any inconvenience that the situation may have caused to you. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and improvement. Meanwhile, please feel free to reach out to us for any additional comments. Thank you once again for bringing your feedback to our attention, and we sincerely look forward to be of your service again in the near future.
P.S. Please contact with our service centre for any further assistance during your stay.
With kind regards
Agnes Zhou
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Spend two nights here in June'13
Location - excellent - nearby ATM's , eating joints, underground/subway - good places to walk around and laze around
Decent room service - but need to be reminded to clean up
Are stingy with the water bottles and tea bags - need to be reminded once in a while
Many tall buildings nearby, so not so much of a view - maybe if you go to a higher floor it might be helpful
Concierge services are lacking - they were not able to direct us to good places of interest nearby - in fact gave us some wrong info about a "water town" said it was "not to far" and taxi would charge only around CNY100 - we finally landed up in another nearby town called Suzhou with a taxi bill of CNY400 !!!

Room Tip: Our room did not have any great view - just overlooked some other low lying houses - not sure if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Suvarma:Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.We apologize for any inconvenience that the situation may have caused to you.Please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our front office team for review and improvement.Meanwhile, please feel free to reach out to us for any additional comments. and we sincerely look forward to be of your service again in the near future.

Agnes Zhou
Front Ofice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stay two nights in this hotel recentl. Here comes good ones
- Spacious and Clean Room
- Upgraded to Executive Room
- Free WiFi
- Lots Breakfast Selections
- Nice service
- Convenient Location
- Comfortable bed

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodmiumiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Front Office Manager at Jin Jiang Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear GOODMIUMIU:Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor platform. It is encouraging to learn that you are greatly satisfied with our service and hotel facilities.
Please feel free to check out our latest special offers available on our hotel official website!
Thank you for your positive comments once again, and we look forward to serving again in the near future!

Best regards,
Agnes Zhou
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#97 of 5,105 in Shanghai
704 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 5,105 in Shanghai
910 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,105 in Shanghai
596 reviews
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#146 of 5,105 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#231 of 5,105 in Shanghai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Jiang Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Tower Hotel

Property: Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Address: No.161 Changle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jin Jiang Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the former French concession, near the Huaihai Road Central Business District, Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai enjoys a most convenient traffic, close to Xin Tian Di and People's Square. As a flagship hotel of Jin Jiang Hotels Group, the largest hotel group in China and Asia, the hotel is one of the best venues to overlook Shanghai downtown landscape. Choosing a hotel receiving more than 370 heads of states, foreign dignitaries and celebrities, the guest will experience exquisite oriental-attentive services.The hotel owns 582 rooms and suites, where high-speed WiFi network fully covered including the public area. All the guests may enjoy the cutting-edge digital system during your stay at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jin Jiang Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang Hotel
Hotel Jin Jiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing