We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2,391 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    67
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
18
22
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We booked this hotel because of its links with Ramada. We had a good stay at another similar range Ramada hotel in Shanghai and thought this would be the same.

It is not. The room smelled the moment we walked in. All the furniture looked like they could use some touch up work. The lifts are very slow and you can wait a long time for them to arrive.

The breakfast at the restaurant is ok. Not the best in the world, but they do serve eggs, sausages, toast/bread, cereals, drinks and so on. It is ok. Nothing to write home about.

But outside the hotel, there are building sites to our left and right. I was so worried the scaffolding we had to walk under would collapse.

For those who want to use the underground, the nearest station is Laoximen which is about 5 minutes walk to the south (left as you walk out of the hotel). It is a new line, but it closes as early as 22:30, so if you are back late you will have to find another way.

All in all, not a magnificient hotel but an ok hotel. It is not Ramada.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Itself
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

i have stayed here 5 Nights in end of september 2008. The Location is Great. just 4 Minutes walk to Huahai Road. 15 Minutes Walk to NanjingLu. Xin tian di Is very near also by walk.
with mention the Hotel price , this hotel is Good, clean. But not expect the 4,5 star hotel amenities. the Internet in room is very fast but charge for everyday. The breakfast is very simple more near to chinise than ABF. it will be boring after some days.
but dont stay at TOP floor. the noice of Aircondition system will disturb you at night.
i checked many sties& the website hotel gives you the best rate.
the rooms are spacious And clean. the elevators are very Slow.!
i think it is a An Ok hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

i have stayed 5 Nights in end of september. The Location is Great. just 4 Minutes walk to Huahai Road. 15 Minutes Walk to NanjingLu. Xin tian di Is very near.
with mention the Hotel price , this hotel is Good, clean. But not expect the 4,5 star hotel amenities. the Internet in room is very fast but charge for everyday. The breakfast is very simple more near to chinise than ABF. it will be boring after some days.
but dont stay at higher floor. the noice of Aircondition system will disturb you for night.
i checked many sties& the website hotel gives you the best rate.
the rooms are spacious And clean. the elevators are very Slow.!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xxanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel is the worst I have ever experienced. It is old-style Chinese, with a failed attempt to elevate it to 21st century standards. It was clean enough, but the beds were the hardest I have ever experienced in China. 2 slow elevators that did not carry their stated maximum weight made transport to and from level 13 much too slow, especially as there is no service elevator.
The front desk staff were hopeless - only one key was allocated per room, even for the twin and triple share members of our party, no ability to change money even though exchange rates were displayed, could not handle it when keys were left at the front desk - my son asked to be let into his room, waited 40 minutes for housekeeping to arrive, only to discover later that his room mate had left the key with reception.
2 out of the 4 business centre computers were broken for the entire 4 days of our stay. No wireless broadband in the rooms, only an old fashioned DSL connection that did not fit my laptop.

Good things - location is excellent. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oz-traveller-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#457 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#231 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,539 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#477 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,369 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Old Town
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Yun's Paradise Hotel
#2,355 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnificent International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Property: Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Address: No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,391 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnificent International Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Magnificent International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnificent International Plaza Shanghai
Hotel Magnificent International Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing