We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New World Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #17 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent Service, very competent front desk staff, Clean, Nice Room. Soft pillow let me have a good rest. The location is perfect to enjoy the stay in Shanghai. The hotel is close to metro line 2, which makes it very convenient for getting around the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jac W,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review! We truly appreciate your kind feedback and positive comments about our hotel.

We welcome your nice comments about our newly renovated hotel and convenient location, a comment that we hear all the time from our guests! They appreciate being right next door to three major metro lines and conveniently located between Shanghai's two airports and close to all major railway stations. We also get lots of positive comments about the area where the hotel is located right opposite the lively Zhongshan Park and with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

Thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,

Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    437
    95
    28
    10
See reviews for
104
107
117
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Definitely recommend this hotel. Stayed here 3 times on business trips on the Residence club. Very good facilities, attentive staff, nice buffet as part of the regular happy hour. Good meetings facilities & wifi if you need them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Planetpiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Planetpiera,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review! We truly appreciate your kind feedback and positive remarks about our hotel, especially as one of our regular guests and hope your comments will inspire other guests to come try us out also.

I appreciate your nice comments about our newly renovated Residence Club Rooms and Residence Club Living Room on the 38th Floor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and facilities.

We now look forward to see you back here in the New World Shanghai Hotel very soon on one of your return trips to Shanghai and thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was my first Business trip in Shanghai and we stayed in New World. I really love the place. The receptionist Anna is very cool and hospitable. Everybody is very accommodating. In terms of the room all well cleaned. We've stayed in a suite room and i love the place.Their food in the buffet area is very inviting :). Besides it is very near in the business district even in our office just a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Select the suite room if you are in group, It has a free buffet for breakfast & snack. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Zoe0312,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review! We truly appreciate your kind feedback and positive remarks about our hotel especially from a first time traveler to Shanghai.

I appreciate your nice comments about our newly renovated hotel and facilities. Your kind comment about our convenient location and team of Associates and in particular Anna, have been noted and will most certainly be shared with her.

We now look forward to see you back here in the New World Shanghai Hotel very soon and I thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I can confirm that the rooms within the club area are very nice and renovated recently and have a more modern feel than the "standard" rooms. The free drinks and snackfood is nice and I was glad to be able to use it especially the day of my departure.

The breakfast is amazing with a wide variety of all sorts of styles..American, European, Japanese...you name it. Great start in the day.

The New World Hotel is also very close to a Metro station which will take you to the Bund within 20 Minutes for 4 RMB if I remember correctly.

The New World is also used by Lufthansa as their crew hotel.

Room Tip: Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mike S,

Thank you for your recent enthusiastic Tripadvisor review! We appreciate your constructive feedback and positive remarks about our hotel.

I thank you for your nice comments about our newly renovated Residence Club Rooms and Residence Club Living Room on the 38th Floor.

We appreciate your observation about our convenient location right across the famous Zhongshan Park and on top of the metro station with three popular metro lines serving it and in between both Shanghai airports.

We now look forward to see you back here in the New World Shanghai Hotel very soon and I thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

讚38樓residence club service非常好,一定會再去。我覺得這酒店非常方便,地點非常好,酒店房間乾淨,這提升Executive Room,聚賢會樓層,可以到38樓residence club service,有morning breakfast, tea time, Dinner with the 酒,非常好,而且見客,會議非常一流,我覺得是一個很好的商務酒店,我推介這酒店給大家,並會再入住這酒店,Very Good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was my first stay at Newworld, I thought it's not in downtown at the first place , but I was wrong, the location might not be in the real center, however it's really convenient going out , there is metro just 5 minutes( If you are running heavy traffic time in Shanghai, by taking metro works out)
Well, anyway, It is a impressive stay , I stayed at the club room just by paying a little higher , but its worth of it, I enjoyed the benefit there . All the staffs there are awesome , they smile to you all the time. Especially , I think the manager in 38 is super ! Unfortunately, I did not catch her name , the lady speaks perfect English and helped me out with my others reservations and recommended me few restaurants which are fatastic, lover her service.
I look forward coming back in a short time and definitely will recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: facing the park room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick_850415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Derrick_850415,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review! We appreciate your positive feedback and observations about our hotel.

I thank you for your nice comments about our newly renovated Residence Club Rooms and Residence Club Living Room on the 38th Floor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and thank you for your nice comments about our Associates and that you were not disappointed with our hotel.

Thank you also for the kind remarks about Bobo. I am sure your observations will act as encouragement for her and the Residence Club team of Associates to continue delighting our guests.

We welcome your nice comments about our convenient location, a comment that we hear all the time from our guests! They appreciate being right next door to three major metro lines and conveniently located between Shanghai's two airports and close to all major railway stations. We also get lots of positive comments about the area where the hotel is located right opposite the lively Zhongshan Park and with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

We now look forward to see you back here in the New World Shanghai Hotel very soon and I thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I don't normally give the full 5 unless it is truly merited and this hotel definitely deserved that. We stayed on a club floor and took advantage of the great facilities it had to offer. Staff were pleasant and charming and spoke good English. Special praise to Gene from the Residence Lounge who was extremely helpful and kind to us.

Room was great with views over the nearby park. Free wifi is a bonus. The location is great to walk in the park, to go to the nearby malls and to get to the centre either by taxi or metro.

We have definitely found our Shanghai home for future visits! Well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Happytiler,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review! We truly appreciate your kind feedback and positive remarks about our hotel especially from a very seasoned traveler such as yourself.

I appreciate your nice comments about our newly renovated hotel and facilities. Your kind comment about our team of Associates and in particular Gene have been noted and will most certainly be shared with him.

We appreciate your observation about our convenient location right across the famous Zhongshan Park and on top of the metro station with three popular metro lines serving it and in between both Shanghai airports.

We now look forward to see you back here in the New World Shanghai Hotel very soon and I thank you again for your positive comments and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Shanghai Hotel

Property: New World Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.1555 Dingxi Road | Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#75 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New World Shanghai Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Shanghai Hotel offers 558 guest rooms, including 138 brand new Residence Club rooms and 17 suites. All rooms are equipped with free Internet access, one king bed or two twin beds with down pillows and luxurious linens for a relaxing night's rest. Also included are bottled water, iron and board, daily newspaper, free local phone calls and parking. All rooms have in-room safe, mini bar, LCD TV with Satellite channels, individual climate-controlled air conditioning. All guest rooms have full views of either the city or Zhongshan Park. Pool and gym access provided to guests of the hotel. Brand new Residence Club guest rooms from 32nd to 38th floors offer guests full Club access including, daily breakfast and all day beverage service in the 38th floor Residence Club Living Room. Residence Club guests can also enjoy free pressing of one garment per stay, late-check out and 2 hour use of club living room per day (subject to availability). Cosy comforts of home awaits at the Residence Club Living Room, including a library, fireplace, dining room, carefully chosen art pieces and subtle, Oriental-influenced decor. New World Shanghai is located next to Zhongshan Park in the heart of bustling Changning district. The hotel is two metro stations from Jing'An commercial center and close proximity to the architectural gem of French Concession. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hong Qiao airport and 60 minutes drive from Pudong International airport, with metro line 2,3 and 4 located right at the hotel's doorsteps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New World Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Shanghai
Mayfair Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing