We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hospitality and service on the Horizon Club level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #22 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gracious hospitality and service on the Horizon Club level”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

My room was on the 24th floor and had access to the Horizon Club. I had a wonderful view of the river and Bund. The room was spotless and very quiet. All the plumbing and electronics worked well. The internet was free, easy to use, and exceptionally fast.

The staff at the Horizon Club seemed to be on hand around the clock and were ready to assist with a myriad of services including getting drinks, making reservations, and managing itineraries. The Horizon Club offered a complimentary breakfast each day that was extensive and varied. Each evening there was a Happy Hour with more complimentary drinks and heavy hors d'oeuvres. Coffee, cold drinks, and bottled water was available from early morning until midnight. The view of the Bund from the Horizon Club was spectacular - especially at night.

If you are looking for personalized service, in an elegant surroundings on the Pudong side of the river you would do well with choosing the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,865
    964
    173
    40
    20
See reviews for
161
253
123
1,156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My first visit to Shanghai - a look-see, to find a property to live in for 3 years, and I couldn't have had a better introduction to this amazing and thrilling city than a stay here! From the moment we stepped through the doors we were looked after as though we were the most important guests in the hotel. The place is spotlessly clean, the food is sublime, the views from and entertainment in Jade on 36 Bar is
fabulous and the staff in Horizon Club (River Wing) in particular, John and Jovanita, have made us feel as though we belong here in Shanghai already. And the views from our room? See the 3 photos I've posted here - something new every minute of the day - a living picture! I'd come back in a heartbeat too!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

From being met at arrivals to arriving at my room I was looked after the whole time. the service was almost overwhelming! The hotel rooms are large and comfortable, and the public areas very elegant. Food in the restaurants is excellent, with a wonderful breakfast. the hotel is very well located for the airport, and also for Pudong generally.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Classy, clean, and lovely rooms with an awesome view of the bund and TV tower. Not cheap, but simply superb.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2011

8 years ago I had my first meeting in Shangrila, 4 years later in the new building. I loved the sapcious room, lovely food and professional staff. A few days ago I checked in again - still the same, maybe better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We have stayed in many Shangri la Hotels and this one certainly did not disappoint. We stayed in the Grand Tower in a premier room with an amazing panoramic view. The room was lovely and every detail was well thought out including binoculars. The staff were just superb, so thoughtful especially in the Horizon club lounge which was on the 29th floor with wonderful views especially at night.
I loved the indoor pool and the staff always bought me a bottle of water and offered me fruit after my swim.
We ate in several of the restaurants which were all of an excellent standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This is a very nice hotel, the rooms are good and have a touch of elegance, the location is great in Pudong and the views are splendid. However, there were a few experiences that I wouldn't expect to have had for a 5* hotel...the water pressure in the shower was very weak which made showering unpleasant (even though the bathrooms are beautiful). The business center equipment didn't seem to work well, it took me several computers to find one that was working and the printer was extremely slow and then to print was 10 yuan a page, which is alot considering the price you are already paying for the room. Finally, I was attending a conference at the hotel itself and asked for a late check-out the last day to be able to shower and change prior to my 10 hour overnight flight home and was blatently refused. As the hotel didn't appear to be full, most other hotels are often much more accommodating. For the price you pay to stay here, I would have expected better service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#164 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing