We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the heart of Pudong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
284 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Luxury in the heart of Pudong”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels in Shanghai and the Shangrila in Pudong is one of the best if not the best. You really can't go wrong staying in a Shangrila hotel in Asia - the service, hotel ambience and rooms have the same consistent quality and standard. On the business side, the conference facilities are excellent and organisation very smooth and efficient.

This hotel is very conveniently located within Pudong area and within a short walking distance to the IFC Mall, other restaurants and shopping centers, the Pudong telecommunications tower, etc. A taxi ride of 15 minutes will get you to the Xinyang market on the basement of the Science and Technology center where you can buy all the stuff such as bags (fake), shoes, toys, clothes, etc.

The rooms are spacious with free WIFI and the beds are one of the most comfortable we have slept in. We investigated and realised that this is because they have an extra thick double-layer feather down mattress cover, on top of the mattress !

The food is really good in this hotel - breakfast spread is one of the best with all types of juices, usual western spread as well as local Chinese breakfast such as congee, all types noodles, dim sums, Indian bread and murtabak as well as nasi lemak. Fook Lam Moon, the Cantonese restaurant is really exceptional and the Cantonese dishes are really top class (although it can be on the pricey side).

The views from the rooms (if staying on the river view rooms) are fantastic and you get a great visual of the Bund opposite the river. There is even a ferry just outside the hotel on the river and a short 10 to 15 minutes ride (for RMB2) will take you to the opposite side on the Bund and where the Waldorf Astoria hotel is located.

Room Tip: River view rooms provide great views of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,889
    970
    177
    40
    21
See reviews for
165
257
125
1,181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
225 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Very comfortable stay with most impressive aspect being the outstanding service levels. This is not easy in China, as I found after living there for two years.

On check-in my room reservation was not the river view I booked. Staff were extremely helpful to arrange a better room during almost full occupancy. After trying for a few short minutes, the reception assistant apologised and said she did not want to take up any more of my valuable time and would personally escort me to a recommended room to ensure it was acceptable. Such ownership of a speedy solution is rare in rule-bound China.

The club lounge manager in the Grand Wing was very welcoming, helpful and super efficient at getting things done fast. A highly fluent Mandarin & English speaker, she spots developing problems a mile off, senses the time constraints of business guests and problem solves with a smile.

Staff were very attentive, welcoming and efficient throughout the hotel and I congratulate Shangri-La on such high standards in Shanghai. It makes such a difference when you're doing business in China and not a Mandarin speaker.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

5 star Asian hotel. Classically styled elegance. Clean, comfortable and luxurious. I like super modern, this is designed more classically. Rooms large and clean, good amenities. The gym rocks here. Right on the Bund if you want to do some walking which is usually terrifying in Shanghai. Also right next to a gigantic mall, and in the very clean business district. I liked this much better than the grand Hyatt, far classier. Free wifi too...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Touring China with an executive business group, our first of 3 city stops was Shanghai for 4 nights. Our accommodations were top notch, definitely 5 star standards. Check in with our group of 30+ people was efficient and the kind reception staff spoke English well, which alleviated my fears of constant language barriers. The few words I knew in Chinese/Shanghainese were from my 5 year-old daughter, from her learnings watching the "Ni Hao Kai Lan" cartoon.

We were given keys to room and upon entering, went straight for the window and the beautiful view of the river. At night, simply breathtaking. Our bags were promptly brought to our room and then we had a visit from staff, bringing us a nice hot pot of tea. Bottled water is supplied in the room. I would recommend brushing teeth with bottled water and not swallowing tap water in any instance. This includes restaurant ice cubes. It will hit your system hard and the last thing you want on a cultural experience touring a foreign country is to be confined to your room with digestive problems. Our room was beautifully equipped, very relaxing, and the bed very comfortable.

All staff at the resort were friendly, always greeting us with a smile, always helpful and eager to please. We woke each morning, with our itinerary planned out, but with plenty of time allowed to dine for breakfast at the resorts buffet restaurant. There are many options to choose from, exploring new tastes or sticking with what we know from home. I ventured conservatively, as our days were long and inclusive of other dining venues as part of our tour. I have to say, if I never saw a Lazy Susan again, I would be okay with that. :) Having so many options and the inability to distinguish "meat", in restaurants we visited outside of the resorts buffet breakfast, I stuck to rice and veggies. When asking what kind of "meat" we were being served and the reply being "meat", that was just something I thought wise to steer clear of. We had more adventuresome members of our group who tried it all. Kudos to them. I know what I like and I like what I know.

The resort as a whole cannot be beat. Not a single thing I would complain about. Top notch all the way, which is our preference. Our room was a great sanctuary to return to each day, after a full day of tours and exploring Shanghai and the World Expo.

Love the city of Shanghai. Bright lights, big city, very modern, and most all young people are very anxious to have a conversation with you to prove their English speaking abilities. Americans are certainly welcome in this city and you feel it at every turn. Would love to return someday and bring our kids to experience the culture and the richness of the history there.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansas38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Great location, great people and great everything. Bravo!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandrom1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Everything about this hotel is Excellent. Rooms were excellent and check in was a breeze. Free internet in the room and great room amenities. My wife and I Stayed on the 23rd floor of the River Wing and had access to the Horizon Club. Service in the club was incredible. Thank you Connie, Hailee, Jovanita for making the stay well worth it. 2 malls are very close to the hotel (walking distance) and a metro is also nearby should you want to explore the Puxi side of Shanghai (the metro is quite easy to use). Food is never a problem as the malls have a wide variety to choose from. There is a Din Tai Fung branch at the Mall across the hotel that serves great, great food. Although a little pricey for traditional "xiao long bao", its near the hotel. The Pudong Shangrila is definitely the place to stay in when in Shanghai. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvisermember37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

great location great service great hotel. Make sure you upgrade to horizon lounge the staff are so friendly my new fav hotel fantastic

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauly1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,312 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#170 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing