We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #26 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just spent a marvelous six night stay at the Pudong Shangri-La. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty. We had a wonderful view facing the radio tower and the river. Upon arriving in our room we were soon welcomed with a tea basket. It was such a nice touch and very welcomed as we had just flew some eight hours. The housekeeping staff kept our room so clean and well stocked. The endless supply of bottled water and fresh fruit was very much appreciated. Having free Internet was also greatly appreciated and enabled us to keep in touch with friends and family back home. We also want to say s big thank you to Joel, Manager of Guest Services. Because of his expertise and attentiveness we have many great memories experiencing Shanghai. He was always avaliable to give out maps, suggest a restaurant, get show tickets, hail a taxi, and share a story. 1722 and 1709 really appreciated all you did for us. The hotel staff at every turn was amazing. The Yi Cafe breakfast buffet was out of this world. This hotel was first class all the way!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy100722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,194)
There are newer reviews for Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We just returned from a 2-night stay in a Horizon Club Room on the 33rd floor. The view from the room was amazing, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river and the Bund, beautiful skyline views, especially at night.

The room was supberb, with a lounge area and 2 flat screen HD TVs. The king sized bed was very comfy with wonderful pillows. The bathroom amenities are top quality L’Occitane and the robes are very plush. The rooms are also equipped with Nespresso coffee makers, a very nice addition! It was enjoyable to sit in our rooms, watch the ships on the river and have a nice expresso, along with the wonderful chocolates they provided…over and over again!

The Horizon Club on the 29th floor is very large, has a full bar, coffee stations and afternoon tea from 12:00-4:30 and happy hour including excellent nibbles were available from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm, although they were open until after 10:00 pm….we went up and had a cappuccino to go at 10:15 pm, very tasty!
Breakfast was very nice in the Club or you could also opt for a full, very, very extensive buffet on the 2nd floor.

Service throughout the hotel is impeccable, no other hotels even come close to the service you experience at the Shangri-Las; you are greeted by smiling faces at every turn! As always, the Shangri-La does not disappoint, stay here and you won’t want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hkwrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stay period: 23-27 Oct

Arrived at 6+pm on sunday, I done my check in at the new wing reception, they allocated me a smoking room although i keep emphasing that i wanted a non smoking room instead. Reception told me, they will just remove the ash tray, i ask if the room will be full of ciggie smell, reception replied : we have done house keeping madam, dont worry about it. I emphasize again, i have a sensitive nose so i want a non smoking room, again assured me room is fine, then they check me into room 1024. Hence i went up to the room, the moment i open the door, the smell overpowered my nose, i called reception and told them, i insist to change to a non smoking room as i began sneezing. Promptly they arranged for housekeeping to bring me to another room located at 1719.

Room 1719, the room itself is close to The Bund, can see the river view approx 45degree, consider not bad for the rate i am paying.
Room is clean, spacious as i am travelling alone. Beds are comfy, and housekeeping is done everyday. I have no complains on their service and stay throughout my 4days. Staff are really polite ! Had breakfast every morning at Yi cafe, selection is good. Choices are great.

Conveniently located.
Superbrand mall (上海正大广场) is 5-8mins beside the hotel , where eateries , cinema , and shopping are conveniently located. From there you can see the oriental Pearl
IFC mall (上海国金中心) is 5mins from hotel.

i would come back to Pudong Shangri-la for personal holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexistang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai is definitely one of the nicest, if not the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in! The public areas were absolutely stunning from the floral arrangements to the water fountains. When we arrived in the room and opened the curtain, there was the Pearl Tower to one side, and the river and the Bund to the other. The service was wonderful and the breakfast was beyond anything I have ever seen. The location is excellent, and if you are interest the hotel is just across the street from an upscale shopping mall. We were with a tour group, so I cannot comment on the rate paid, but I can recommend this hotel most highly.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Pearl Tower.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Pudong Shangri-La, Shanghai.
We found the staff at this hotel to be attentive, polite and very professional.
I would advise that you select an Horizon Club package which includes all the 'extra's' such as
breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the Horizon Lounge. One of the hotel Managers, Julian, was particularly helpful, as was the female Manager of the Horizon Club Lounge. All in all an excellent stay at an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Bund river view room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle_Mae_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Not too sure which wing i was on but had a pleasant surprise via the upgrade to the executive floor.

Room was spacious and the bathrooms were big enough for me. Comfy pillows, robes, you name it, the Shang has it. What was an interesting touch was that they used a traditional chinese tripod as the ice bucket. The view leaves much to be desired though... but hey, ain't complaining due to the free upgrade AND if you are a view person, just go to the executive club like i did to enjoy da bund, which actually wasn't too impressive to me...

Gotta say the service was impeccable, right from the moment u stepped in to the moment you leave... u basically run into helpful employees in every direction. For eg, when i was having my breakfast, they actually ask for the kind of omelette you want and bring it right up to the table... now that is something you don't get at most hotels... make that ALL other hotels i have been to.

Did not manage to stay long enough to enjoy their complimentary afternoon tea etc but did manage to make a trip to the swimming pool and that was nice. Facing the bund as well, you can just sit there and chill out while watching the ships roll by.

If there's anything that wasn't up to my expectations, i would say is the quality of food. In shanghai, you would kinda expect quite a good quality of food, no matter chinese or other cuisines but the food at the executive lounge was disappointing. Nonetheless, you always have a choice to go down to the other restaurant for your meals and they have a wider spread/quality there (at least that's what i heard)

Next time... i want my afternoon tea with shanghai pork dumplings

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Shangri-La flagship Hotel in Pudong Shanghai on September 12-13 . I must say, the Shangri-La experience is well allive in Shanghai. Excellent service and staff. I love the brunch there.

Room Tip: Great shopping mall next door to the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryKlahens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,387 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £148 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing