We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Room: I stayed at the River View Wing, which is supposedly the older wing but there is certainly nothing old about it. A very nice and spacious room with a nice view of the Bund. Bed is a comfy and king-sized, bathroom comes with both shower stall and bath tub.

Service: Good as usual, but this is Shangri-La so it's expected of it :)

Food: If the room and service is good, then the food is excellent. My room came with daily breakfast at the Yi Cafe, which has a huge variety of food. The dim sum station is surprisingly good (there was this pumpkin skin dumpling with lotus paste and a dot of red bean cream on top - yummy). Had lunch a couple of days at the Yi Cafe as well, and I enjoyed the taco station, the Indian station (pretty authentic), and once again, the dim sum station (the xiaolongbao there can beat the so-called famous Nanxiang one any time). Also worth a special mention was the desserts station - every thing I tried there was great, especially the rice pudding. All the little cakes there looked tempting and tasted great.

Guihua Lou (on the lobby level) serves pretty good food as well... and good dim sum once again! The xiaolongbao there was once again, fabulous (even better than the Yi Cafe one) with a delicious broth and thin skin.

Location: This hotel is located on Pudong, so it's distance if (and only if) you want to go to Puxi - but I didn't since I had been to Shanghai several times. Shangri-La is located next to the Superbrand mall (just cross a tiny little lane using a side entrance at the hotel - turn left after going down the stairs near Shanghai Tang). Superbrand mall has a nice variety of fashion brands and a good selection of food (xiaolongbao again! at Din Tai Fung... or there is this nice Shanghainese restaurant upstairs too). The hotel is opposite the IFC mall (be careful when crossing the road - cross when others are crossing, that's the safest) - but IFC mall features the likes of Prada, Miu Miu, Gucci, LV etc... you get the drift :)

It's also walking distance (about 5 mins) to the Pearl Tower, which is really pretty when lit up at night.

All in all, a wonderful stay and wished I could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex_raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    973
    178
    40
    21
See reviews for
171
263
134
1,199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Nevis
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the Pudong Shangri-La in Shanghai overlooking The Bund, the British Concession during pre-revolution times. Great hotel, amazing service, the staff really make you feel welcome, you could see the Yang Po River and The Bund from my room on the 12th floor and all of the slow ships "from" China. I only have one complaint, the smog in Shanghai made everyone sick and I had a bad cough for 2 days after I left.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking The Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just spent a marvelous six night stay at the Pudong Shangri-La. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty. We had a wonderful view facing the radio tower and the river. Upon arriving in our room we were soon welcomed with a tea basket. It was such a nice touch and very welcomed as we had just flew some eight hours. The housekeeping staff kept our room so clean and well stocked. The endless supply of bottled water and fresh fruit was very much appreciated. Having free Internet was also greatly appreciated and enabled us to keep in touch with friends and family back home. We also want to say s big thank you to Joel, Manager of Guest Services. Because of his expertise and attentiveness we have many great memories experiencing Shanghai. He was always avaliable to give out maps, suggest a restaurant, get show tickets, hail a taxi, and share a story. 1722 and 1709 really appreciated all you did for us. The hotel staff at every turn was amazing. The Yi Cafe breakfast buffet was out of this world. This hotel was first class all the way!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy100722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We just returned from a 2-night stay in a Horizon Club Room on the 33rd floor. The view from the room was amazing, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river and the Bund, beautiful skyline views, especially at night.

The room was supberb, with a lounge area and 2 flat screen HD TVs. The king sized bed was very comfy with wonderful pillows. The bathroom amenities are top quality L’Occitane and the robes are very plush. The rooms are also equipped with Nespresso coffee makers, a very nice addition! It was enjoyable to sit in our rooms, watch the ships on the river and have a nice expresso, along with the wonderful chocolates they provided…over and over again!

The Horizon Club on the 29th floor is very large, has a full bar, coffee stations and afternoon tea from 12:00-4:30 and happy hour including excellent nibbles were available from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm, although they were open until after 10:00 pm….we went up and had a cappuccino to go at 10:15 pm, very tasty!
Breakfast was very nice in the Club or you could also opt for a full, very, very extensive buffet on the 2nd floor.

Service throughout the hotel is impeccable, no other hotels even come close to the service you experience at the Shangri-Las; you are greeted by smiling faces at every turn! As always, the Shangri-La does not disappoint, stay here and you won’t want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkwrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stay period: 23-27 Oct

Arrived at 6+pm on sunday, I done my check in at the new wing reception, they allocated me a smoking room although i keep emphasing that i wanted a non smoking room instead. Reception told me, they will just remove the ash tray, i ask if the room will be full of ciggie smell, reception replied : we have done house keeping madam, dont worry about it. I emphasize again, i have a sensitive nose so i want a non smoking room, again assured me room is fine, then they check me into room 1024. Hence i went up to the room, the moment i open the door, the smell overpowered my nose, i called reception and told them, i insist to change to a non smoking room as i began sneezing. Promptly they arranged for housekeeping to bring me to another room located at 1719.

Room 1719, the room itself is close to The Bund, can see the river view approx 45degree, consider not bad for the rate i am paying.
Room is clean, spacious as i am travelling alone. Beds are comfy, and housekeeping is done everyday. I have no complains on their service and stay throughout my 4days. Staff are really polite ! Had breakfast every morning at Yi cafe, selection is good. Choices are great.

Conveniently located.
Superbrand mall (上海正大广场) is 5-8mins beside the hotel , where eateries , cinema , and shopping are conveniently located. From there you can see the oriental Pearl
IFC mall (上海国金中心) is 5mins from hotel.

i would come back to Pudong Shangri-la for personal holiday!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexistang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai is definitely one of the nicest, if not the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in! The public areas were absolutely stunning from the floral arrangements to the water fountains. When we arrived in the room and opened the curtain, there was the Pearl Tower to one side, and the river and the Bund to the other. The service was wonderful and the breakfast was beyond anything I have ever seen. The location is excellent, and if you are interest the hotel is just across the street from an upscale shopping mall. We were with a tour group, so I cannot comment on the rate paid, but I can recommend this hotel most highly.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Pearl Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Pudong Shangri-La, Shanghai.
We found the staff at this hotel to be attentive, polite and very professional.
I would advise that you select an Horizon Club package which includes all the 'extra's' such as
breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the Horizon Lounge. One of the hotel Managers, Julian, was particularly helpful, as was the female Manager of the Horizon Club Lounge. All in all an excellent stay at an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Bund river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle_Mae_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,331 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,069 in Shanghai
619 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing