We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be an excellent hotel a year down the track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Continues to be an excellent hotel a year down the track”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My third stay at the Pudong Shangri La with the service and facilities consistent with previous stays. I would also recommend staying in the Grand Tower as the rooms are newer than the River wing. The staff are clearly undergoing enhanced customer service training as they were even more attentive but also proactively sought feedback on their performance (from my views on the room to the delivery of room service). I had a room close to the lifts, which was convenient but certainly no noise. In the future, I would request a corner room as the bathroom is more spacious, has a TV and city views from the tub!

Cafe Yi continues to provide what I would have to say is the best buffet in Asia for BFST and Dinner - such a wide variety of excellent meal choices and great value.

I can't fault the hotel - but great news in that in the past 12 months smoking has been outlaws in hotels which makes the visit even better.

The Day Spa - Chi is lovely but not worth the price list and service charge attached - cheaper to visit one of the many day spas close by and in the french concessionary.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger on each florr
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymumsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    970
    177
    40
    21
See reviews for
163
256
125
1,179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Being a great fan of Shangr-La Group, this hotel never disappoint me. I've stayed for 2 nights at the River Wing and the room have a great view of The Bund.

Service staff are well trained and provide excellent service. They speaks good English, attentive and helpful.

Hotel rooms are spacious, although it accommodates an extra bed in our room but it does't feel congested. You still have ample space to move around. I love the turn down service which they provide a pot of hot tea in which you can have a relaxing evening after a tiring day of sightseeing or meeting. Since i was booked at the Horizon Club Floor, we enjoyed the privilege access to the club lounge, another chill out place if you decided to stay in-house. Complimentary use of computers are available too, what surprise me is they do have an iMac too.

Although hotel is located at Pudong commercial area (surrounded with Financial buildings), there are also 2 malls for shopping Super Brand Mall & IFC) and the famous Oriental Pearl Tower is just 5 mins walking distance.

Thanks for the excellent services provided during my stay, you are always my first choice!

Room Tip: Would recommend to take the River Wing as the rooms are mainly facing The Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

When I checked in to my room a lovely pot of tea was waiting. The breakfast buffet is *incredible*, there is literally a map to help you navigate all the stations and cuisines available. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and enjoyed it, especially some of the (more authentic seeming) specials. Great for business travel, but I would also enjoy it on a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times, most of the time for extended stays each time (> 2 weeks). The service here is excellent and all the staff are very nice and courteous. The property is located in a great spot, very close to the #2 subway line, right next to the Yangpu River and large mall/supermarket/food outlets. I don't personally do it, but my co-workers go out jogging on the bank of the Yangpu River. I stay indoors and stick to their indoor gym.
The Yi Cafe is really good with great selection. It is pricey though, with breakfast costing $250RMB/pp. Luckily, I am a Jade status on their hotel program so breakfast is comped.
Note that the hotel has two wings. The old wing, called River Wing, is right next to the Yangpu River and has spectacular views. The decor is more Asian style with neutral gold and pink color scheme. I've stayed at both, and prefer the new wing (Grand View wing). The new wing is more modern, with beech wood panels throughout and an oversized bathroom. My "complaint" about the old wing is that the bathroom is small and there isn't sufficient sinktop space for my cosmetics. Additionally, there is no bedside electrical plugs (to keep my cell phone next to me), no central light switch, and no music player. I know I've asked for alot, but typically 5 star hotels in major Asian cities come with alot more amenities than those in the US. I would almost say these are "basics." A new wing room cost about 250RMB more per night.

Anyhow, it is a great hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go with a room in the New Wing (Grand) if you are ok with dishing out another $250 RMB/nt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Versailles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Room: I stayed at the River View Wing, which is supposedly the older wing but there is certainly nothing old about it. A very nice and spacious room with a nice view of the Bund. Bed is a comfy and king-sized, bathroom comes with both shower stall and bath tub.

Service: Good as usual, but this is Shangri-La so it's expected of it :)

Food: If the room and service is good, then the food is excellent. My room came with daily breakfast at the Yi Cafe, which has a huge variety of food. The dim sum station is surprisingly good (there was this pumpkin skin dumpling with lotus paste and a dot of red bean cream on top - yummy). Had lunch a couple of days at the Yi Cafe as well, and I enjoyed the taco station, the Indian station (pretty authentic), and once again, the dim sum station (the xiaolongbao there can beat the so-called famous Nanxiang one any time). Also worth a special mention was the desserts station - every thing I tried there was great, especially the rice pudding. All the little cakes there looked tempting and tasted great.

Guihua Lou (on the lobby level) serves pretty good food as well... and good dim sum once again! The xiaolongbao there was once again, fabulous (even better than the Yi Cafe one) with a delicious broth and thin skin.

Location: This hotel is located on Pudong, so it's distance if (and only if) you want to go to Puxi - but I didn't since I had been to Shanghai several times. Shangri-La is located next to the Superbrand mall (just cross a tiny little lane using a side entrance at the hotel - turn left after going down the stairs near Shanghai Tang). Superbrand mall has a nice variety of fashion brands and a good selection of food (xiaolongbao again! at Din Tai Fung... or there is this nice Shanghainese restaurant upstairs too). The hotel is opposite the IFC mall (be careful when crossing the road - cross when others are crossing, that's the safest) - but IFC mall features the likes of Prada, Miu Miu, Gucci, LV etc... you get the drift :)

It's also walking distance (about 5 mins) to the Pearl Tower, which is really pretty when lit up at night.

All in all, a wonderful stay and wished I could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex_raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the Pudong Shangri-La in Shanghai overlooking The Bund, the British Concession during pre-revolution times. Great hotel, amazing service, the staff really make you feel welcome, you could see the Yang Po River and The Bund from my room on the 12th floor and all of the slow ships "from" China. I only have one complaint, the smog in Shanghai made everyone sick and I had a bad cough for 2 days after I left.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking The Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just spent a marvelous six night stay at the Pudong Shangri-La. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like royalty. We had a wonderful view facing the radio tower and the river. Upon arriving in our room we were soon welcomed with a tea basket. It was such a nice touch and very welcomed as we had just flew some eight hours. The housekeeping staff kept our room so clean and well stocked. The endless supply of bottled water and fresh fruit was very much appreciated. Having free Internet was also greatly appreciated and enabled us to keep in touch with friends and family back home. We also want to say s big thank you to Joel, Manager of Guest Services. Because of his expertise and attentiveness we have many great memories experiencing Shanghai. He was always avaliable to give out maps, suggest a restaurant, get show tickets, hail a taxi, and share a story. 1722 and 1709 really appreciated all you did for us. The hotel staff at every turn was amazing. The Yi Cafe breakfast buffet was out of this world. This hotel was first class all the way!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy100722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,310 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing