We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viking River Cruise Imperial Jewels of China”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Viking River Cruise Imperial Jewels of China”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We returned from the above trip of 12 days full of information and memories of a wonderful trip. The Shangr-la hotel was excellent. Lovely rooms and amazing breakfast selection.
The organisation of the whole trip was faultless and the standard of all accommodation was highly luxurious with exemplary standards of service .We started in Shanghai for two days then 5 days up the Yangtze in a lovely river cruise boat, one night in Xian to see pandas, finishing with 2 days in Beijing.
The boat only had about 240 people on it so was small enough not to feel swamped. The food on board was of a very high standard.The company were very well organised with a daily news paper informing us of where we were going the next day and the option of going to a talk on the trips out .
We were assigned a knowledgeable guide for the whole trip. There were 18 people in the group. Our guide Jenna was excellent,looked after us very well and gave us lots of information,sharing her life's experience of growing up in a rapidly developing China. She could not have done more for us.Whenever we needed to change venues our luggage was collected from outside our door, we were taken to the airport and handed our boarding cards.So easy!
We saw so many marvellous sights and Jenna just seemed to bypass any queues so that we did not waste any time. There was an option of buying a drinks package on the boat although house wine and beer are included in the cost of the holiday; you really needed to be a dedicated drinker to do it justice!
I am pleased we did this trip from Shanghai to Beijing rather than the other way round as the first part of the Yangtze was very industrial with chemical factories on the banks. Many barges carrying rubble and chemicals. As we moved up towards the Three Gorges Dam the scenery became more rural and attractive.
Beijing was a good place to end the trip as we were able to see the main highlights of the trip i.e. Terracotta army, The Great Wall and The Forbidden City.
The whole trip was very busy and we were up and out most days by 8am. We would never have seen so many sights in twelve days if this had not been the case
I can not fault The Viking River Cruise company, their organisation, value for money, standards and care made our holiday a really amazing experience

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank flyingp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,928
    974
    178
    40
    21
See reviews for
172
265
134
1,201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is my 3rd stay at the Pudong Shangri La and I stayed for 9 nights. I actually chose the Shangri La despite Gran Melia being across the road from the office. I was expecting a wonderful stay but the Shang has disappointed me.

Location
The hotel is located next to the Super Brand mall and on the banks of the river. If you get a river facing room there is a great view of the bund (especially at night). There is also easy access to food and shopping which is great when you are tired of room service. I only found out on this trip that there is a public shuttle service (bus no. 1 and it cost just RMB1) that drops you off in front of Super Brand mall. This is great for evenings when the taxi queue seems impossibly long.

Room
The room is basically the same, nothing has really changed. The one thing that made me really disappointed was house keeping. I could see strands of hair in the shower when I arrived, after huge contemplation, i decided to leave it. After 3 nights, I finally washed it off myself. Same with the tub, I've noticed that it is not clean or at least rinsed down even after I've clearly used it. It is the same with the toiletries and general replacement of items. It is done in very haphazard manner. I understand from the housekeeping lady (it was 3pm and she only just started cleaning my room) that she was the only person responsible for the floor.

Service
I think service now lacks the warmth and consideration. I always felt that the Shangri La was different from the large commercial chains, but no longer. The biggest annoyance was trying to get a cab to the airport. The reception insisted that i take a seat as the taxi queue was very long (4 pax in front of me?). He told me to sit in the waiting area as most of the ppl queuing are not hotel customers and he will get me a cab directly. I stressed that I was perfectly fine waiting and i was not in a hurry but he insisted. I sat waiting for 20 mins and finally went back to the taxi queue. The people in front of me earlier were no longer there. I went back into the queue and got into a cab within 5 mins. I understand from the taxi driver that long distance trips were well sort after and the reception was possibly trying to offer a favour to a friend.

Food
I only had room service in the hotel. Quite frankly, after the first breakfast I decided that queuing up at Starbucks in the office building was more satisfying. Breakfast came cold, unappetising and the poached eggs on my eggs benedict was cooked through. There are plenty of surrounding places to eat around there, it is not worth suffering through room service.

I'm headed to Shanghai again in January; I might just forgo my golden circle points and chance it at the Gran Melia.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheChubbs9123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Sir,

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. In order for us to improve our services, we seek your assistance to kindly contact my email address ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Our room had amazing views of the Pudong skyline. Impeccable service, very clean and tastefully-decorated rooms, abundant and delicious world-class cuisine for breakfast and helpful staff - one of them even accompanied me to the Starbucks right around the bend during a coffee run. Now that's what I call personalized service. :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGA_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed here for a business conference and the first thing I noticed was the service. While check-in was very slow, the service overall was excellent. It's like they anticipate your need before you do! Everything little puzzled look or hesitation and someone is right there attending to your needs. Absolutely amazing!!!!!

My room was large and had a great view of the Bund! I was on the 8th floor and my colleagues were so jealous of my view. I will say that I expected more from the decor as I found it a little garish and somewhat dated. The carpet could definitely use replacing. For $350/night, I just expected a little better in terms of the decor. Maybe the more expensive rooms looked better.

The there was a high-end mall almost adjacent to the hotel which was very convenient. There was also a grocery store on the lowest level and places to eat on the higher floors. The Hotel is in the financial district so there are a lot of tall buildings, mostly banks, around and not as many restaurants. There more going on on the West side so it's best if you take the metro. There is a stop about a 5 min walk. There's also a McDonald's, Starbucks, and Hagen Daaz near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed again at this hotel and again it lives up to the expectations. Clean, spacy rooms for a reasonable rate, with great, helpful and always smiling personnel. I'll be back on my next trip! Also, the dinner in the sushi and Japanese restaurant were great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palomino020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Taken as part of a Viking Cruise Holiday we found this hotel welcoming and comfortable. All meals taken, especially the buffet breakfast, were excellent. Room service too. I had an issue with their ATM which was dealt with by the reception staff with 100% commitment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJohnsons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

although rooms may not be brand-new furnished, they are clean and modern and well kept up.
service--there is an attendant at the lobby elevator who pushes the elevator button for you!

breakfast buffet excellent and extensive--wanted to take a picture but thought it would be crass.

near the river; can walk to the riverside.
Bund across the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John33290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,082 in Shanghai
2,334 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,082 in Shanghai
621 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#168 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing