We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent As Always, Wonderful Array of Food at Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #25 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always, Wonderful Array of Food at Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I find staying at the Shangri-La all over the world as fantastic, and the Pudong hotel certainly lived up to my expectations, and even surpassed it with the amazing selection of food available at their breakfast restaurant! The rooms were spacious and the service by the hotel's staff is consistently fabulous. The entire hotel is huge with two wings, and there's a great view of the Bund towards Puxi from the function rooms. The hotel has two shopping centers right next to it. What really impressed me, so I will mention it once again, is the food - if you like that sort of thing. :-) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmaricel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear mmmaricel,

Thank you for your wonderful praise, we are delighted you had a fantastic stay. It is truly an encouragement for us to go extra miles to ensure a great experience to each and one of our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,826
    954
    173
    37
    18
See reviews for
152
245
121
1,134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cuffley
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Wonderful location by the Bund. Rooms are spacious . Staff very helpful and able to offer suggestions on places to visit etc. Hotel has a nice atmosphere , food is both East and West restaurant is slightly confusing on first visit as you need to know where to locate the Western selections - the room is divided according to location in the world from where you wish to chose your food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear avisanddavid,

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am delighted that you had a fantastic living and dining experience on your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind feedback to all our staff members.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Absolute stunning views of the river and bund from the river wing. Club Rooms are really spacious. Fantastic Staff who are very welcoming and hospitable. Great eateries within the Hotel as well. Wouldnt stay anywhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue356sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear blue356sc,

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience on your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind feedback to all our staff members. We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Walking into our room in the evening, a picture perfect panoramic view over the busy river to a fairy tale city shoreline - breathtaking! Splendid rooms and bath, huge dining area with international cuisine from everywhere. The hotel is impeccable.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a river view room. Amazing by day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Felicity R,

It was pleasing to read your great review and we are so pleased that you like the bund view. We hope you enjoyed a memorable time in Shanghai and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Having stayed many times in the hotel over an 8 year period i have no hesitation in recommending it without reservation.
One of the best Hotels in the world without exception.
All of the staff are very professional and considerate and know their jobs well.
A Home from Home when you are a long way from ones own Home.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevehydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Stevehydro,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Shanghai has many outstanding hotels for one to choose from but the Pudong Shangri-La would not take a backseat to any of them. From the second you step into the lobby, one is well aware that you will be staying at an exceptional hotel. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. The bathroom and the shower is 1st class. And the location is outstanding. But we ate at the buffet restaurant and after touring china we loved every moment. We ate there for breakfast as well and it was equally good and delightful. This is a must stay property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Avi R,

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience on your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind feedback to all our staff members. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Saturday afternoon must be busy for Shangrila cos I called the hotel operator more than 3 times still no one pick up call. So I walked into the hotel to make reservation and informed this incident to a lady who checked us in at the counter..think she is a trainee cos she does not know how to respond to my feedback...she looked so blurr and continued to find an available room for us...she tried very hard. Just wonder where all the experienced staff are?

Other than this small issue, the rest is okay. Nothing special and nothing great to talk about Shangrila Pudong...for the room rate I paid..so so .By the way, I found hair in the bathtub!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rant197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Randall T,

I truly appreciate your feedback and I would like to sincerely address our apology for the lack of response on your phone calls and the inappropriate response of your feedback by one of my colleagues. It is in our true interest to learn from the observations, including the cleanliness part, would like therefore very much get in touch with you to learn more about your experience. It is the commitment of Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts and our hotel to provide an experience of comfort, outstanding services and recognition to our guests and train accordingly. Please contact me at ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#16 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing