We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topclass Shangri-La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Topclass Shangri-La”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Big hotel. Good price. Very clean. Very attentative staff. Nice rooms. Good location in Pudong.
Chinese furniture and very nice essence in the huge lobby. Two towers. The new tower rooms are nice. Size of the rooms is ok. Good stuff.
Nice breakfast, huge variety and good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernhardb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear bernhardb15,

Thank you for selecting Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, we were delighted that you had a fantastic experience on your recent stay with us and enjoyed the essence of Shangri-La. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    971
    177
    40
    21
See reviews for
166
260
127
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It had been a while since I last stayed at a Shangri-La, but my recollection didn't fail me. This is an excellent hotel, with oriental flavour in its service and decor, chandeliered to the max and effortlessly luxurious. Some of the incessant plinky-plonky harp and piano music in the lobbies can grate at times, while the floral scent is overdone, but that would be nit-picking unnecessarily. If staying in Pudong on a generous budget, one could do a lot worse than this fabulous establishment. Particular pluses were complimentary bottled water and fast wi-fi, available throughout the hotel. On the minus side, I have experienced a much better selection of English-speaking (US and Australian) TV channels in lesser hotels in China.

Room Tip: A river view room is definitely worth a premium here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsentParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a first-class, five-star hotel with top-level service, superb amenities, and a great location to boot. If you're willing to pay the price, you'll be hard-pressed to get much better.

My one quibble has to do with the hotel's policy on additional guests in rooms. I booked my room for me, alone, and then decided to bring along my wife. The hotel informed me that I'd be charged an additional RMB 200/night for the privilege (later, supplemented by am obnoxious RMB 30 "service charge"). Fine. Some hotels do this, some don't.

But what irks me is that this hotel's guests have an amazing propensity to return to the hotel with escorts and other "professionals" who are promptly whisked up to room without any question from the front desk or security. Equally painful, from our point of view, were the large number of "professionals" apparently allowed to work in the hotel's bars and lounges, plying their trade, and then presumably staying the night - or at least a few hours - all at no cost to the guest in question.

If I'm required to pay RMB 200 per night for my wife to stay with me, why should other guests be allowed to have professionals stay in their rooms for no charge?

As nice as the hotel is - and it is very nice, indeed - that is the one and only reason we will never stay there again, and we will strongly encourage our colleagues, friends, and family to stay away, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear FeltonS,

Thank you for your observation during your recent stay with us and your very favourable comments which we gladly shared with our colleagues. In order for us to better comprehend your comments and further enact on it, may we invite kindly to contact me at ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com or please advise if we can meet personally to discuss further. I would like to reassure you that our guests' privacy and appropriate handling has our undivided attention and commitment.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was a pleasure to stay for a week in the River Wing tower. They bring some Chinese tea on the first day of staying and in total try to help and solve any issues appeared. Big windows on the river side allow enjoying spectacular view and national cuisine in restaurants inside the hotel is absolutely incredible. Moreover it stays close to main convention and business facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bund view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Stas P,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I am a frequent traveller to Shanghai - and would not consider staying anywhere else but the Pudong Shangri La. The service is fantastic, the food varied and high quality, and the rooms so comfortable. The decor is classic, and pleasing on the eye. Horizon club is excellent - Judy makes sure everyone is well looked after. Well done team!!!

Room Tip: great views all round, but for really beautiful views try to get a room with view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Peter W,

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience to our guests. I will pass on the kind feedback to Judy. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas,Nv.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Breakfast buffet was outstanding.Service was immediate and friendly.View of the river was a plus.Walk along the river and the other side of the river was very informative and a view of life in the most populated city.Check in was immediate at 11pm at night,bellman were right on the spot after a long long flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear chuckrow,

Thank you for your time posting your gracious comments on your recent stay, I have shared this with the team. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
655 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel whilst on an organised tour in June 2012.

The hotel which is situated on the Pudong side of Shanghai (the economic centre) and very central. It was close to a shopping mall and the Prada and Louis Vuitton shops were across the road. The "ring walkway" which hovers above the traffic is nearby as is the Oriental Pearl Tower.

The hotel was pretty swish – actually VERY swish! We were allocated a room on the 9th level. It had everything known to mankind in the room – except for “personal scales” (like Sofitel and The Westin do). Our room was large, clean and modern whilst the bathroom was compact but it did have a separate shower and bath.

We had a view across the rooftop (of wooden slats hiding the air-conditioners - see photo) through to the indoor pool and other high rises.

Their very long buffet restaurant extended across 2 rooms. The various buffets were in different areas and cuisine ranged from Chinese to Indian and best of all, Western meals. The selection was huge – just so much to choose from. We had the Roast Beef and Steak Tenderloin which were really tender and so delicious! Desserts were divine. Sipping on good quality wine (90CNY for 2 glasses) was lovely!

At the end of the day, the Lobby bar was a nice place to just sit and take in the relaxing atmosphere whilst a pianist played in the background.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,316 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
603 reviews
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#17 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#170 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing