We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I will be back again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #19 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I will be back again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had great stay with my family, although it was short but very comfortable with home feeling away from home. Staffs are outstanding and take very iniciative to go out of their box to make our stay great! This is the place that you should stay while visit Shanghai. The hotel location is the best of the best in Shanghai. I have stayed with lots of other brand hotels like Westin, InterContinental, Sheraton, St' Regis and so on, not many of them can actually compare with the services from Shangri-La not only Pudong but also other Shangri-La hotels in the world.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Shenyu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Shenyu H,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled enjoyed our wonderful hotel and enjoyed our outstanding team, thank you for highlighting them. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,774
    941
    164
    36
    17
See reviews for
143
239
114
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a short break and were, as always, delighted with the unfailing Shangri La hospitality. Unfortunately, we booked too late to get rooms on the Horizon floor but our standard rooms were luxurious and didn't disappoint.

Having been unlucky with the wet and windy weather on our arrival from Hong Kong, we settled down for a Spa / pool session to begin with and so started our tour of the city refreshed and relaxed. The Spa is fabulous and a great experience; the pool is very inviting and the fitness room well equipped. Being in the Pudong business district, the hotel is a short ride from the main city but there is plenty to compensate for that.

The hotel Cafe provides the usual tempting Shangri La style buffet meal throughout the day, with numerous international cooking stations. Breakfast time can be very hectic, but the efficient waiting staff remain in control of proceedings! At dinner, for a very modest supplement, you can choose from a list of excellent wines as part of the deal. One evening, we opted for the gourmet Chinese restaurant and enjoyed one of the best meals of its kind we've had in 3 years in Asia.

The spectacle of the city lights from the restaurants is truly engaging and it's great to walk along the river during the day, with the famous view across to the Bund. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asiatravelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Asiatravelhopper,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you loved your stay, we do offer some of the best views in the city and our restaurant offerings are unmatched in the city. AS a seasoned traveller I really appreciate your comments.

I do hope we have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the Pudong Shangri-La.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Over the years I have stayed at numerous hotels all over the world - business hotels as well as holiday resorts. What I can say about the Pudong Shangri La is that it has set the standard for all other hotels, and none have been able to meet this standard.

For over 10 years I have been staying there, typically at the River Wing with a view of the Bund. That by itself is a wonderful experience.

The rooms are wonderful - arrangement, colours, furniture - absolutely great. I can truly say I feel like at home.

The Horizon Club (River Wing) is another wonderful experience I can only recommend. The staff is absolutely attentive and friendly. The snacks and breakfast offered fabulous.

Favoring the Pudong side over the Puxi side, the hotel is located in the heart of Pudong. Many shops around sight seeing can be easily arranged by means of taxi.

A hotel I can only recommend and which truy deserves all credits!

Room Tip: The BUND VIEW ROOMS are an absolute must - in particular at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Oliver K

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you have been a loyal guest for the past 10 years, you must make yourself known to me on your next trip. I would love to meet you . I do hope we have another opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the Pudong Shangri-La.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for a stay-cation/birthday treat over Chinese New Year and enjoyed it so much we stayed for an extra day. We stayed in the Bund view Horizon Club room in the Tower. The Club staff were extremely helpful from top to bottom. We even got seating advice for our next trip to Vancouver!
We like it so much that we are returning. They can even arrange a Rolls Royce for airport pickup.

Room Tip: The Bund view rooms offer wonderful views but most in the Tower have good views regardless based on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IM4SATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear IM4SATB

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that overall you enjoyed our hotel,and extended for an additional night, the best compliment we could get. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La and I hope the advise for the Vancouver Trip was useful. We have a beautiful Shangri-La Hotel there also.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

From the arrival to departure, the feeling of staying at Shangri-la is like a prestige family home.

The smiles and passion in them in servicing you makes this hotel my default stay whenever I come to Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Alina T,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled enjoyed our wonderful hotel and felt the warmth and passion to serve from our team. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Pudong Shangri-La and it was a perfect family getaway. Our son (age 8) was welcomed and enjoyed his time in the Horizon Club, pool, and jacuzzi. He was welcomed by the staff and made to feel at home.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile to book a Horizon Club room hat includes breakfast and light snacks and drinks duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Joel K,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor . I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the Horizon Club services. As a parent I totally understand the importance of making sure the children are also well care for, it adds to the pleasure of our trips when our children feel welcome and special. I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

One night approx. £350 a room + breakfast. This is outrageous, no matter how many bowing flunkies there are to escort you to your room. The room itself was enormous - with 2 desks, a sofa, several chairs, electric curtains, electric blinds, separate dressing room, stupid poetry on your pillow, little white mat by the bed so your (hotel provided) slippered feet need not touch the carpet. So many ridiculous 'extras' which in my opinion count for nothing.

So many switches that I had to get the lift down to the ground floor, to ask a flunky to come and show me how to turn the lights off at night. This place is a triumph of unnecessary bells and whistles. I could not justify it to myself.

Breakfast was however excellent - scrambled egg with lobster no less ! great shame I had to get some work done & couldn't spend the morning grazing.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Ideally get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherryn_Bates, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear me-myself-i.tp, Huddersfield,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay expereince with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and the view from the guest rooms. The Hotel offers a variety of value added seasonal specials and these offers are listed on our website, however perhaps I can ask you to contact me direct when you are next visiting Shanghai and I can offer a package that will suit your requirements. I look forward to welcoming you back. sherryn.bates@shangri-La.com

regards

Sherryn Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#20 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#5 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#14 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#163 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing