We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pudong Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pudong Paradise”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fabulous hotel with excellent views over the Huang Pu river and Shanghai city. As expected with Shangri La, the quality of the hotel is to a very high standard. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Good location on Pudong within walking distance of all the major amenities and subway. Horizon Club level is well worth the extra cost with views from the lounge outstanding. Will certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Graeme Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Graeme Y,


Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent return visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you loved our Hotel, our service, views and club lounge in particular. I am happy you found our location to be spectacular and very convenient to the Subway and everything. I am so happy you highlighted this for us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    971
    177
    40
    21
See reviews for
165
257
126
1,184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It was very pleasant, rooms were really nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. Also the health club, swimming pool and spa were excellent. And food was very good. It was easy to move to the Bund side through the sightseeing tunnel, also taxi is cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sipe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Sipe62,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent return visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you loved our warm and friendly Shangri-La experience here in particular our Health and Leisure options. As you said our location is spectacular as it is very central to everything. I am so happy you highlighted this for us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had stay in Pudong Shangri-la hotel with my lovely friends to celebrate my birthday. I was been so surprised that my room has been upgrade to bund view room and the staff are very friendly and well recognized me with welcome back. When we going to Club the receptionist dress me by name and wish me a very happy birthday. And present very special birthday gift Aquarius Chocolate and amazing birthday cake upon turn down service. Thanks all of yours friendly and hospitality make us have a wonderful time and unforgettable birthday memory there. Hope will have chance staying back soon.

Room Tip: Room with bund view is very nice , especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Krystal T,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for your return visit to Shanghai. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had an excellent Birthday celebration with us stay and I appreciate your comments on the overall experience here. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in the river wing which just face to the Huangpu River. It's a hotel with long history but definitely good service. Especially the doorman, elder gentleman, nice and helpful. Suggest to try the Cronuts, sooooo delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Tammyzhou,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you loved our hotel and had an excellent stay. I appreciate you recognizing our Doorman, he will be thrilled. Thank you for highlighting the cronuts, you need to come back for more, plus our New Pastry Chef just launched his entire Spring cake collection.... a treat for sure!!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rooms a little jaded, especially by the Asian 5-star standard, but service staff are excellent. Took the airport limo arrange by hotel, driver bothered to call up the front desk to prepare the necessary check in documentation 5 minutes before arriving

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank GreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear GreyElephant,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you really enjoyed the excellent service from our team, our prime location along the river is due to us being the most established hotel brand in Pudong. This does mean that we are not as new as some, however we do have two distinct towers one of which (the Grand Tower) is more contemporary. Thank you for your vote of confidence in both service and our people. I hope we have more opportunities to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had an extended stay in the River Wing and between us managed to sample all the extensive facilities. It is simply an outstanding hotel, with great attention to detail in the rooms, several excellent eateries, a well-equipped gym and swimming pool in both towers and a great Spa in the Grand Tower. This is an extremely high quality experience, principally because of the quality of the people working there. The Horizon Club lounge in the River Wing offered one of the most welcoming hotel experiences I can recall. We attended a large event in the Ballroom, at which the catering and personal service were markedly better than I have experienced at similar events around the world. It fully deserves the great reviews others have given it.

Room Tip: River Wing for an uninterrupted view of the river and the Bund. Horizon Club rooms for a great brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carparkview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear carparkview,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you had an amazing stay with us. As a Senior Reviewer and world traveller you comments are really important. Thank you for your vote of confidence in both our facilities and our people. I hope we have more opportunities to make you feel welcomed in the near future.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is what you can expect from a luxury hotel. The rooms are nice. The service is good. There are several restaurants, bar and cafe which are very nice. The location is excellent, in the center of Shanghai, with a subway station nearby. The hotel is in front of the Bund and offers a nice view at night if you are on the river side.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Melaniemei,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you visit to Shanghai. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had an excellent stay and I appreciate your comments on the excellent location, convenience, views and overall experience here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,316 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#163 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing