We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice room, good location. Close to train station and stores. No convient stores in the area. Two nearby supermarkets (Lotus and Family Mart) both closes by 10 PM. Walking distance to the boardwalk and beautiful view of the area.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Benson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Benson W,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you loved our hotel and had a great with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our convenient location.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    973
    178
    40
    21
See reviews for
171
263
134
1,199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Shangrila and we were not disapointed. Nothing was too much trouble, we are already looking to stay again next October. This was my Husbands 65th birthday and all the reception staff wished him a happy 65th birthday . Try and have a Bund view room worth the extra money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 16th floor. Very quite, no noise from the floor above. Wonderful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Eileen M

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent return visit to Shanghai. I do appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you had another great stay with us and that your husbands birthday did not go unrecognized or un-celebrated.

I hope we have more opportunities to welcome you back in October.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed on both towers of the hotel. I must say I loved the older tower though. It had more soul. The lounge was better and bigger with nicer views of the river. The other lounge is nice too and has views of the Jin Mao Tower and the new tallest building coming up. Service is so good for such a big hotel with so many things going on. I was attending a conference held at the hotel. There is a mall across the road. No direct link though but you have to cross a small road - Super Brand Mall. And then there is a high end one across which is linked to Ritz Carlton hotel - IFC Mall. It's easy to go across and take morning jog along the river.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear kkn889,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent return visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed our Hotel and our service staff so much, thank you for the wonderful rating. I am delighted you experienced so many of our services including BOTH our towers they are truly 2 very different ( but equally impressive) experiences . The views from the River Wing are more spectacular of the HuagnPu River and the Bund due to the proximity to the river.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future.

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here recently and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay close to the river on the Pudong side. Close to great shopping malls and easy access to the ferry accross the river. Nice big comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Natalie G

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am also delighted you had a great overall experience. I appreciate your comments on our location and I must admit I think the Ferry crossing is a great way to see the Bund from a very unique angle, thank you for mentioning that.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilin, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great service, excellent food and good location. Pay the extra for use of the Horizon Club, well worth it. Helpful staff, excellent Health Spa. Generous, delicious, varied breakfasts. Justifies its five stars. All our requests and queries were dealt with courteously and promptly. Decor and outside environment perhaps slightly tired. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms


Room Tip: We found that the deluxe rooms in the River Tower were better than upgraded rooms in the Grand Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jan F,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel again for you recent return visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you loved our Hotel and our service staff so much, thank you for the wonderful rating. I am delighted you experienced so many of our services including our excellent Chi Spa and also our Horizon Club Lounge and even our comfortable beds. Indeed the views from the River Wing are spectacular of the HuagnPu River and the Bund.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future.

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in Pudong Shangri-la in September 2013. I am a big Shangri la fan and try to ensure I stay with SL whenever I am in Asia. Hotels are generally luxurious so great for personal travel. On this occasion I stayed for business and I have outlined pluses and minuses - to summarise, I had a couple of service points which let it down for me but they seemed unusual and my colleague had no such experience. I have given it a 4 still as hotel is very good - the service things knocked the point off.

Pluses were:
+ Location - excellent location close to office and on the river
+ Some great staff and service
+ Free wifi
+ Characteristic AWESOME SL Breakfast
+ Room upgrade (higher floor)
+ Room quite good - usual SL style, marble bathroom etc.

The points which let it down for me where:
- Room upgrade was a smoking room - they did let me know this before offering it to me so it was my choice. The smell of the room was overpowering!
- Some service mess ups specifically:
- colleague left phone in room and left China, left with reception for me to collect, reception left me a message and then I had a drama collecting it with reception tell me I needed to prove she had asked to to collect it - bear in mind reception called me to collect it. It was a bit embarassing and a time waste
- breakfast - I have no idea what happened with breakfast. Some days it was included, some days it wasn't. On the fith day it seemed to no longer be included - the restaurant manager told me not to worry and they would sort it out. I still have no idea what was going on here - on review my rate said it wasn't included so sounds like I had a couple of free breakfasts which is nice. However, it was like a breakfast lottery every day and it should be a basic thing for a hotel to nail.
- Pool area average

Room Tip: High floor, river facing - don't go for smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Kricho,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. As a Top Contributor I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am also delighted you had a very good experience overall. I appreciate your comments on the Breakfast, and how wonderful the selection, however I also note the billing and will make were we correct this type of communication. I am glad you were able to retrieve your Colleague's phone and again I will address the communication issue. Thank you so much for your other kind comments regarding the room, location and Free wifi.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A very nice hotel with excellent rooms and very decent and polite and helpful crethe food in the yi cafe is more than excellent with a wide range of variety
I would repeat my experience
Only suggest that the prices are some how decreased

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank AShokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear AShokry,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had an excellent experience and in particular your delight with Yi Cafe, it truly is an amazing choice of cuisines.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the near future.


Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,082 in Shanghai
2,331 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,082 in Shanghai
619 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#167 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing