We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“usual great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 July 2014

the horizon club provides excusive service and facilities for meetings and privacy; the location is right in the business and banking district. they offer large choices of restaurants and plenty of spaces at the Tea House and the Lobby Coffee Shop for brief meetings

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Peter Y

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled we exceeded your expectations in all areas but in particular our Horizon Club floor service and Yi Cafe. I am delighted that you had a great stay, hope to meet you on your next visit.

I hope to welcome you back when you return.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

the lobby was splendid and i like the golden look of this whole place, the bathroom is one of the best bathroom i have been to with all the special smell of Shangri-la brand.there are quite a lot fancy hotels near this area but i think shangri-la is quite standing out among them all cuz it offers a very unique experience to the guests,the staff is quite helpful too.

if u are looking for a good view of the Yangtze river and The Bund and not worry about the price , this suits just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DanielleLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear DanielleLY,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our amazing lobby and our Shangri-La service. I am delighted that you had a great stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the Pudong Shangri-La very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had the opportunity to spend a few nights at this hotel, specifically at one the the Bund view Grand Tower rooms.

The hotel's GM and team namely Violaine and Chee Hang were great to offer some advice on what to do during the day such as settling myself at the Horizon Club during the evening and watch the sunset.

If you would like to see the Bund, but do not want to endure the mad rush of tourist poking their monopods in your picture, just grab a pair of binoculars and find a nice spot at the Horizon Club to have a bird's eye view of the Bund while knocking back a glass of wine.

The rooms are very spacious and well-thought off. Waking up to the view of Shanghai was definitely one of my trip's highlight. The only downside to it was a too short of a stay to fully enjoy its facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b3h0nc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear b3h0nc3,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities during your recent stay. I am so happy you commented on our amazing view, and the best way to enjoy the Bund was with a glass of wine and a pair of binoculars, I couldn't agree more.......

I am thrilled that you has such wonderful stay with us and I hope to welcome you come back soon so you can spend more time and enjoy the entire array of services the hotel has to offer.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The room was just beautiful and spacious. It is by far the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed at, including trips for business and pleasure.

The breakfast buffet included Western, Chinese and Japanese items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Daniel W,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you visit to Shanghai. As a Senior Contributor I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us and enjoyed our amazing breakfast spread also.

I am thrilled that you has such wonderful stay and I hope to welcome you come back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pinky, Vivian, Ella, MayLisa, Sara, Jenny, Amy, Hansen, Reven, and Helen all do a great job to make me feel like home. I have never been to a VIP lounge, where the team is so prepared for my arrival, and understands my needs. A perfect example is when I injured my arm. All three shifts for whatever reason, understood my situation, and were able to help me during my busy stay. This is the type of service, where there is a system in which the team is able to communicate and understand the needs of their guest.

Well done. Expect to see me every week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank TheEngEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear TheEngEng,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for your recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and highlighted so may of our Horizon team, they do a tremendous job so I am really pleased you mentioned them individually. I am delighted that you had a great stay, hope to meet you on your next visit. I hope your arm is getting better.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I (including our two young children) stayed 3 nights in the River Wing of this fantastic hotel. As part of a credit card promotion we immediately received an upgrade to a Bund View Horizon Club Level room. The view was absolutely fantastic with a clear panorama of the Bund. The rooms were spacious and the staff had already set up a rollaway bed in the room for our older child at no additional charge. The Horizon Club Level benefits were fantastic including the service, food, and beverages. The service we received from assistant manager, Kenny Ooi, was beyond excellent and very personalized. Kenny's picture should be in the Dictionary next to the word "hospitality." We enjoyed the Club level so much I upgraded my subsequent Shangri-La hotel rooms in Xi'an and Beijing to Club level as well. The breakfast buffet at the café on the 2nd floor is huge and covers food from all over the world. We truly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back as well as highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Dev D,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you and your family had an excellent stay at our hotel, I know Kenny will be thrilled with your comment, thank you very much for highlighting him and the Horizon Club team.

I hope to welcome you back to the Pudong Shangri-La in the not to distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Shangri-La Pudong maintains the same high standards as the entire Shangri-La chain of hotels. Rooms are clean, very well maintained. Staff is very friendly, helpful, efficient and always available be it at any of the entrances, lounges, front desk etc. The Shangri-La properties are first class as is the staff. Staff is always happy to help when asked but generally have anticipated your needs.
Highly recommend this property . The location makes this Shangri-La an all around winner. Will definitely stay at this property again with no hesitation moreover look forward to returning!

Room Tip: River view will give you view of the Pearl building if in the Grand Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ricardo W,

Thank you for choosing the Pudong Shangri-La Hotel for you recent visit to Shanghai. I appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel during your recent stay. I appreciate your comments staff and how they anticipated your needs.

I am thrilled that you has an excellent stay with us and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Peter Clarke,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,413 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#184 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £162 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing