We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Ranked #171 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Its a nice hotel with nice rooms and really good beds, and waht surprised me it was that you can smoke in the rooms ;-) ! The loby is quite nice made, wit a nice small piano bar, but with a limited offer with drinks and coctails, so you have not lot to choose but its ok. The pianist and the singer perform different international music, and it was a nice atmosfere in the evening. On a scale from 1 to 10 , I could give an 8 for the cleaness of the room and the hotel. We had there just the breakfast, and the offer for the breakfast is ok. The stuff was ok, they speak good englis. WIFI is just in the loby but with limited access.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Marius O
Thank you very much for your kind comments after your stay with us in Shanghai, we appreciate that you took the time to post your kind remarks. As a team, we are very glad that your stay with us went well and hope that the rest of your trip in China was equally good.
We hope to see you again. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    106
    46
    11
    12
See reviews for
18
25
20
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good rooms, excellent beds, good piano bar in the lobby. Japanese, Spanish, Chinese restaurant , massages. Good variety for breakfast. Free wifi in the lobby. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the service was great.The staff were polite and had a good understanding of English.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Marius O
Many thanks for your report on the Royalton, we appreciate you taking the time to post it and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Shanghai. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Royalton Hotel again a few weeks ago (November 26-December 1, 2012).

In keeping with my many previous stays there, the service on this last trip was fabulous! From the moment I got out of the taxi upon arrival until the moment I entered into the cab to leave the property, I felt as if I was at home. The entire staff remembered me by name and was so accommodating in every way. The room was impeccably clean, the breakfasts were great and spending time in the lobby bar in the evening was so relaxing. The new entertainers (husband and wife singers/piano player) were delightful. Special thanks to Emma (front desk), Sandy and Ellen (restaurant) and Nina (lobby bar). Lastly, kudos to Michael Brooks, the General Manager, for his unbelievable attention to detail in making this property a true gem!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you Phil D, it's always great to have you to stay with us, thank you for your kind endorsement. We greatly look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you soon.
Thanks again and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and got excellent large, clean room with very comfortable bed and not so special view on residential neighborhood and gymnastic hall. Free wi-fi is available in hotel lobby, in room is charged 1 RMB per minute. There were few english language tv programs like HBO, CNN, discovery chanel, nat geo... Room has universal AC socket. For breakfast is buffet table with very, very large choices of food from chinese to western.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I LIKED: decently priced, good rooms, excellent beds, good piano bar in the lobby, relatively small sized, Japanese and Spanish restaurants, spa, massages, small fitness, good variety for breakfast, big departments stores and Cloud 9 shopping mall, big park (Zhongzhang park) and metro lines within walking distance. JingAn Temple & West Nanjing Road 2 metro stations away. Free wifi in the lobby.
I DIDN'T LIKE: pay cable internet in the rooms, good service but English is still very low with several staff members (this is true for most places in Shanghai, helpful and nice though. No swimming pool and small fitness. There is a hotel with a big outdoors swimming pool and a big fitness center just in front of Zhong Zhang park

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierCBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a nice hotel in relation to price, with excellent breakfast.
I have stayed here a few times and will most likely choose this hotel for my next China visit. Relatively close to the Hongqiao train station, but far from Pudong airport if you go by taxi. Next time i will try the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frode H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I had a bad experience at this property a year ago after getting bad service, a room with broken heater/AC and them nearly doubling my rate during my stay.

I tried to keep an open mind as give them another shot since some business associates of mine booked rooms here. Check in went fine. I told them I required a non-smoking room (I have asthma issues) and preferred a king sized bed . When I got to my room I found that there was construction directly above my room which included jackhammers. The voice was incredibly loud. So back to the front desk I went. I explained the issue and they politely offered to move me . . . ONE ROOM OVER! Not exactly going to be any quieter. After a long discussion they offered to move me again, this time to a smoking room that smelled terrible. Back to the front desk again . . . This hotel's front desk staff is really worthless.

It was at this point that I decided it best I check out and go elsewhere which is just what I did.

I had hoped that after a full year, things would improve with the property and the front desk staff but unfortunately that has not happened. There are other very nice choices locally.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFish71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,059 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#84 of 5,059 in Shanghai
744 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
#217 of 5,059 in Shanghai
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,692 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#183 of 5,059 in Shanghai
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shanghai Royalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Property: Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Address: No.789 Wuyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shanghai Royalton 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Shanghai Royalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Royalton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing