We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baolong Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #153 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Nice Hotel"”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel on April 4th, 2014. We got a very big room, comfortable bed complete with a study room inside. More than enough for just the two of us. My friend and me are very happy. The room is clean and the toilet either. We're not having much conversation with the staff because of the language matter. Breakfast menu was great with many varieties of food. Yes, the hotel is far from tourist attractions but if you need a good sleep after exploring Shanghai, I guess you need to stay here. This hotel is recommend to stay..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM5288, Guest Relations Manager at Baolong Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We found your comments valuable and important for us to better our service,so kind of you,
All your comments have been submitted to top management of the hotel.
We expect that you or your friends would stay in the hotel again,please contact guest service
manager on duty during your stay next time as we are at your service anytime.

best wishes !
Guest Service Manager
May 02,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    129
    59
    7
    13
See reviews for
23
29
21
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed there for two nights after the tour in China, it is a very nice hotel but not too much places which you can go in the close proximity. It is about 15 mins. walk to the Metro and it's not too convenient to shop or go out for a nice meal. The room was very nice but noticed that the maid doesn't clean the bottom part of the toilet bowl at all. It accumulates a lot of stains at the bottom part of the toilet bowl which improvement is much needed.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide range of varieties of food and we tried out their dinner buffet in the main dinning room which was excellent. It has a wide choice of foods and the service was very good. If you are a guest of the hotel then you don't have to pay the 15% service charge for the dinner buffet. The other restaurants inside the hotels have expensive price for dinner which it will be better of if you can have the dinner buffet in the main dinning room.

The Front Desk staff service can be improved and so was the Concierge staff members. I found that the Concierge staff are not too helpful at all. There were times when I ask them for some direction in Shanghai and they were too busy with other things and they don't give a very good service to the guests at all.

One drawback of the hotel room is that they've set the temp inside the room to 28C everyday and you cannot reset the temp and lower it at all and they also turned off the A/C during spring time. The only thing which you can do it to open the window and get some cooler air which comes in the room at night.

Room Tip: Don't forget to try out their dinner buffet, it costs RMB 198/person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM5288, Guest Relations Manager at Baolong Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We found your comments valuable and important for us to better our service,so kind of you,
All your comments have been submitted to top management of the hotel.
We expect that you or your friends would stay in the hotel again,please contact guest service
manager on duty during your stay next time as we are at your service anytime.

best wishes !
Guest Service Manager
Apr 27,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Proximity:

The hotel was far from the airport (paid 225RMB) and is not close by any metro train. Its in the middle of Daibishu and Town Square. which are both 15 minute walk. There are not much shopping around. Definitely far from any tourist attraction.

The Hotel:
Signage outside is not properly maintained (some of the LED are dead and letters are not evenly installed). Staff didn't know much english and have to refer you to other people. I was not advised that swimming pool would be under renovation for 1 month which was exactly why i chose this place over other hotels and to top it off, aircon in the entire hotel was not working. When i asked the front desk about it they said they only turn on the aircon when outside temperature was at least 26 degrees! I was advised to just open the windows since its 13 degrees. But it was so hot i could not sleep and since windows were open. I could hear the cars passing by and mosquitos started entering my room. Truly a horrible experience for me! Not very Accor like.

Pros:

On the bright side, hotel inside was clean. Amenities except for lotion was complete. I love their toothbrush cause it doesn't break after one use. They give you unlimited complimentary water (just call house keeping).

Room Tip: Get another hotel probably close to the Bund Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM5288, Guest Relations Manager at Baolong Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mr John Ong,
Thank you for staying in our hotel and commenting on the hotel service!
It was 12-20 degrees celcius during your stay(Mar 25-27) in the hotel in Shanghai,but a little humid.We had your room changed from 0928 to 0712 as you felt not cool enough in the room on Mar 25.The central heating system was not powered on and we just opened the ventilation system .
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused,the swimming pool was temperarily under renovation and would be newly opened on May 1st.
You are expected to stay in our hotel again and experience better service we offer to you .

best wishes!

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Value for stay, but location far from central. We need walk about 15 mins to MTR station. Hotel cafe food good taste and value for money. Buffet breakfast also good, variety food for choose. Recommed stay there for business

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tinky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM5288, Guest Relations Manager at Baolong Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear guests, thank you give praise for the Grand Mercure Baolong Hotel Shanghai, your satisfaction is our pursuit of the goal, we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, INDIA
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 25th Jan to 29th Jan 2014 and found the hotel to be very comfortable in all respect. It is away from hustle bustle of busy city yet not very far. The lobby is not very impressive but processing of room allotment is fast & crisp and reception does have good English speaking staff (which is so difficult to find in China).
The rooms are comfortable and cosy with all the amenities one can find in a five star hotel. Bathrooms are not big but comfortable size.
The breakfast is wide spread and one can have good stomach full early in the morning.
Hotel has good parking space and conference rooms to hold 200 persons.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel have view of the highway and other parts of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM5288, Guest Relations Manager at Baolong Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for telling us that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel,we are trying our best to better the service these days as it is a peak season for the guests travelling or doing business in Shanghai.
We are absolutely looking forward to serving you and your friends the next time,and just contact Guest Service Manager during your every stay in our hotel anytime.

Best Wishes !

Guest Service Manager

Oct 30,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Guang Dong Hotel
Guang Dong Hotel
#352 of 5,069 in Shanghai
113 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#81 of 5,069 in Shanghai
479 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Howard Johnson Caida Plaza Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Ramada Wujiaochang Shanghai
Ramada Wujiaochang Shanghai
#1,990 of 5,069 in Shanghai
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baolong Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baolong Hotel Shanghai

Property: Baolong Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.180 Yixian Road, Shanghai 200434, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Baolong)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#137 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baolong Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Baolong Hotel Shanghai is located close to major shopping areas, points of interest and cultural centres, including local attractions such as Lu Xun Park, historic Duolun Road and Fudan University. Capturing the essence of both old and newShanghai, this heritage listed hotel has 372 spacious rooms with a warm and elegant decor. Conference facilities, 3 restaurants and 2 bars make this an ideal destination for business and holiday travellers seeking convenience, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baolong Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Baolong Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Grand Accor Baolong Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing