We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #212 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I recently spent five days in Shanghai
If I am totally honest China was not on my list of places to visit but because my husband has been working in china I decided to pay a visit.
How wrong can someone be it was amazing, five days not long enough.
The hotel J C Mandarin was perfect, very comfortable bed everything catered for first class breakfast, friendly helpful staff, and excellent location.

See you next year!.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our stay here in Shanghai was made even more pleasant by our time here with the staff being very helpful & polite. The location suited our needs perfectly. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast menu was very good also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed 8 nights in October. The room was reasonably nice but you could definitely see some wear and tear. The good news was the AC actually worked (unlike my 1st hotel) and the room had a mini fridge so I could keep my water cold. If you like cold drinks, than get ready to be disappointed in China. I thought the food was overpriced - $35 for the breakfast buffet but there were 3 Starbucks within 2 blocks and a western grocery store across the street by the Ritz. The options for restaurants within walking distance was excellent. The Metro stop was a short walk and the staff were all very friendly. I didn't appreciate being charged $20 for each 24 hours of internet usage. The health club was quite nice with a lot of good equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccerdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The is a good hotel and well connected for the city being only a block away from the underground. A 15 minute walk will take you to people's square or in the other direction to the temple. The breakfast was good and there was enough western choice. The staff speak acceptable English so getting understood is not an issue. If you can get a deal - well worth the stay.
[sorry may appear twice as I had an issue with Phone login]

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location for walking - shopping - sightseeing - and access to subway.

Some of the rooms are a little tired. Mine - for a three day stay - had a saggy mattress and a work chair at the desk which had lost any sense of padding in the seat.

Be careful, NOT to get a room with interconnection to adjoining room -- OK, it's locked, but you can hear all the voices and other sounds (!) from the adjoining room - which means that they can probably hear yours, too !

And - this is a hotel with aggressive policies for access to internet. When internet access should now be covered in the tariff, just like electricity and water, this place charges HIGH fees for access. Complain at the front desk and you might get them waived - though front desk staff should learn how to smile, when they are helping guests.

Even a "Thank you for staying, did you enjoy your stay?" might have been nice to hear on checkout ! But it didn't happen.

Room Tip: Avoid room with interconnection capability (unless you want it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzJamesBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having spent your time to brief us with regards to the hotel facilities and services you have experienced recently.
I hasten to write to your attention and sincerely regret for any inconveniences that might have caused. I fully agree that our service standards should reach to the 5-star rating hotel guest expectation. Your comments will help us serve you and all our guests better in the future. The Hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proven to be valuable to us.
As a token of our humble of apology, we would upgrade your room to our Executive Club including Club Lounge benefits for 2 on your next visit to Shanghai in order to enable us to make your stay comfort with us.
Rest assured that we will continue to extend our best hospitality service, I remain.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The is a good hotel and well connected for the city being only a block away from the underground. A 15 minute walk will take you to people's square or in the other direction to the temple. The breakfast was good and there was enough western choice. The staff speak acceptable English so getting understood is not an issue. If you can get a deal - well worth the stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you for the next time you come back and stay with us again.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location is fantastic for luxury shopping lovers, it is across Cartier and LV on Nanjing Road.
You can walk around for sightseeing, and also very close to famous Xintiandi, just 20 min. by walk or 3 min. by taxi.
As a 5 star hotel, rooms and the other facilities are very comfortable, but be careful about the prices for extras. Especially the cafe in front of the hotel is very nice for chilling, on the other hand 10 $ for 1 cappuccino is too much!

Room Tip: Choose top floors for beatiful Shanghai view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstmoon3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you for the next time you come back and stay with us again.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#66 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,805 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,205 in Shanghai
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The Kunlun Jing An
The Kunlun Jing An
#60 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,552 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#25 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#211 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £28 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing