We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and dirty, do not stay here!”
Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #155 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We checked into this hotel in the afternoon and checked out the next day. The hotel is disgusting and dirty. I can tolerate an older style hotel, but dirtiness? No way. It was a huge let down to our holiday. We checked into the lovely 5 star hotel next door. The bathroom was so appalling that I refused to get into the shower. It was mouldy, dingy and reminded of a cheap backpacker hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Missemvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2008

This hotel, just north of People's Park, is in an ideal location for first-time tourists. It is next to the junction of two major subway lines, and just a few blocks from both the Nanjing Road pedestrian mall and the Shanghai Museum. The lobby has the appearance of a former elegance that has faded away. Our rooms were furnished with two twin beds, and large enough so we did not feel cramped for space but small enough that it did not feel luxurious. The furnishings were old, but in good condition. It was warm when we stayed there (about 30C), and the air conditioning was barely adequate. The rooms initially had a slightly musty odor, but that seemed to dissipate. The rooms have ethernet connections to the internet; when we did not find a cable, we bought one for 10RMB (later, we found an ethernet cable in the desk drawer). The buffet breakfast was pretty good, but it cost 66RMB; there were lots of places just outside the hotel where you could get a much cheaper breakfast. For those with an ATM card from Bank of America, there is a China Construction Bank ATM located in the shopping mall on Nanjing Road two doors to the east.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

Visited Shanghai for the first time with 2 girlfriends. Excellent location, room was clean, good shower but that's about it. No luxury whatsoever, which was fine with us as we were out all day and just needed a place to sleep. Definitely not the place for you if you like to spend a lazy day in. But will not stay here again, prefer a little more luxury next time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Just returned from a small group tour in China and had been suspicious of this hotel having read previous reviews on this website. (Sadly I had no choice since I was with a tour.) The only positive thing to be said about it is the location across from People's Square. The picture on their listing makes the hotel look glamorous with night lighting but don't let that fool you. The lobby looks elegant with it's vintage styling but that's as far as it goes.

When we arrived I was given a dark, smoke scented and filthy room facing a dingy building. I immediately complained and was given a slightly "better" room on another floor, meaning that it didn't reek of smoke. I was too tired to move again but upon further inspection discovered old, decrepit scratched furniture with burn marks. Carpets were filthy and stained. Bathroom was grubby: moldy grout and caulking around tub and toilet. Window in bathroom was stained and not sealed. Furthermore there was no safe in either room I was in, although several members of our group had them, and had slighly cleaner brighter rooms than I did. (Most of the group was NOT happy with the accomodations.) Apparently there are a few remodeled rooms facing the street which, though noisy, at least had daylight.

I stayed one night and woke up itching from some sort of bites on my head. There was no way I was going to stay in this place one more night, so I left and found a clean, modern and reasonably priced place elsewhere at my own expense.

To add insult to injury, I later discovered that the front desk staff was completely useless at trying to locate guests. My husband attempted to call me several times and they said they couldn't find me on their roster. They had no record of my registration, and could not connect me to anyone in our group, in spite of the fact that they required our passports when we arrived. Forget it if there had been an emergency!

I agree with the reviewer who mentioned not staying in older hotels in China. We stayed in a few other older hotels in China but they were cleaner and better kept. All the resources seem to be going into new properties in preparation for the 2008 Olympics.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Ciccibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

This hotel is nothing special - but then you're not paying top dollar for a room here. Hotel is well located just over the road from People's Square metro station (which is conveniently linked to Pudong International by a single simple change for the Maglev train at Longyang Road).

The rooms were nothing special, but were well turned out and comfortable.

The front desk were nothing special either, but were more than capable of translating addresses from English into Chinese for use with taxis.

The hotel is not a place to spend oodles of time in. It is more suited as a place simply to sleep at. As such, I highly recommend it as a base for exploring based on its location and price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TS330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The good things first: breakfast was included in our hotel price and it was a decent spread of western and chinese food. The AC (a necessity in the hot summer months in China) worked well in our room. Location was great, across from the Metro and People's Square and right down the street from the flashy pedestrian shopping area and upscale mall. The minuses...I got a creepy feeling everytime I walked in due to the fact that the employees were always staring at us. I saw other westerners staying at this hotel and even after a couple of days after thet got to recognize that we were staying in the hotel, they still stared at us. The rooms are definitely old (marketed as old world European) but there's a difference between old and dirty, this place was both! The carpets were stained in the rooms and there were cracks on the walls and near the sink and shower. The last night we were there there was a constant drip near the mini bar, probably caused by the room above's AC. Given our limited knowledge of Chinese and the employees minimal knowledge of English, it was difficult to tell them that they needed to fix the problem. Overall, there must be a better deal in Shanghai than this place. The overall ambience was not worth spending the money on.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GtownHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

This hotel is wonderfully located in front of People Square (main museums, metro station), next to the main shopping street and if you like walking, you can do it all the way to the river or the french quater.

My room was perfect and quiet. Interenet at the business center was ok.

In the restaurant they are not very friendly. You can have your breakfast in the Stabucks only a block away.

rates were good value for money and the staff at the front desk was helpful.

I would easily go back th this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Edmund0Dantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Park Hotel Shanghai
Park Hotel Shanghai
#158 of 5,206 in Shanghai
366 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,206 in Shanghai
879 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#245 of 5,206 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Address: No.108 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#78 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have room safe, telephone with voice mail, and high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Jinmen Club (spa and beauty salon), badminton and swimming facilities, and complimentary shuttle bus to and from Hongqiao International Airport. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Oriental Pearl TV Tower, and Shanghai Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing