We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #147 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Ideal business location, bed sleep quality good, but do not take a room near housekeeping.. They are so noisy. Period attraction of the 1930's hotel would appeal to some travellers. Over all adequate. As for travellers who state limited English at reception. This was no worse or better of the vast majority of Chinese hotels. When in rome... Come on everyone communication is half the adventure.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share the valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. Your detailed feedback will constantly inspire us to amerliorate our service quality.

We are delighted to be informed that the accessibility of our location has fit well your expectation. Moreover, the noise near Housekeeping quarters disturbed your rest, which we shall render our very most apology. Your concern has been well-noted and forwarded to related department. Should we have privilege, the service team of Pacific Hotel, Shanghai will look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    152
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
33
35
48
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel nearly 2 am and at first thought we were dropped off at the wrong place. But a longer look at the building showed it was the same as in the photos of the property.

Pacific Hotel is perfectly located if you want to be close to Nanjing Road. It is literally a stone's throw away! The nice thing about its location is that the Metro (line 1,2. and 9) is across the street, and so is the People's Park. The sightseeing buses also have their stations a mere 50 meters away.

The front desk staff get by with passable English but have difficulty responding to questions about tourist spots. I tried to inquire about the French Concession area and all I got were blanks looks from the young staff. It took an elderly staff member to comprehend what I was asking about. The bell staff are helpful, though quite curt in their responses. (Again maybe because they do not speak English well).

There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby and the Bar. However, there is free wired internet in the rooms. Mac users will find this a letdown!

The room amenities are basic. Only tea is available along with 2 small bottles of water. For breakfast, there are several bakeshops close to the hotel where one can get coffee and bread products. Our favorite was Cafe 85 along the same road (turn right when you get out of hotel and walk straight till you pass the moviehouse). It is open 24 hours and serves coffee, tea, fruit juices, smoothies, milk teas as well as good bakery products.

Rooms are generously spacious. We had the rooms facing the park and it was refreshing to wake up and open the curtains to see the greenery. The beds are very comfortable, and the pillows were great.

Fair warning though to non-smokers, the hotel is a smoking hotel and the common areas smell of cigarette smoke.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay at the Pacific Hotel and I would recommend it for its location and affordable rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santi331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacfic Hotel, Shanghai. It is always a great pleasure to hear informative hints and reasonable advices from our guests concerning their accomodation and jouney.

We are very pleased to be informed that our accomodation and the accessibility of the location had lived up to your expectation. Due to most of our staff still undergoing training of English, we apologize that let you encounterred difficulty in communication. However, it is our ultimate creed to constantly ameliorate our service quality, so as our staff. Should we have privilege, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in not too distant furture.

(P.S. there is a slightly mistake concerning the metro connections nearby, not 1,2 & 9, but 1,2 & 8)

Thank you for your reviews,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

With the best of locations, this hotel is bang in the middle of Shanghai giving you access to restaurants, shopping and easy transport access. They could do better with some room upkeep but generally the hotel is just fine with the room rate you get.

Room Tip: If you pay a little premium on your standard room you can get a room with a awesome view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadthemadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you time to share valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel. Your detailed feedback will constant inspire us to improve our service quality to fit your satisfaction.

We are very delighted to be informed that our ideal location had lived up to your expectation. It is undoubted that we share the most convenient place throughout the People’s Square, which is the joint hub for three metro connections. Your reasonable concern about dated facilities has been also well-noted and forwarded to related department. It is a great honor to announce that we are about to launch some renovation recently to upgrade our hardware in order to meet our most faithful guests’ expectation. Should we have privilege; the service team of Pacific Hotel will look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I ve recently visited Shanghai on business and booked Pacific hotel for the central and convenient location. You can easily reach it from either airport by metro line 2 (don't bother with the maglev train from Pudong, it's not worth it in this case).
Right there on People's square, walking distance or short metro or taxi ride from most important places and sights in this vast city.
My room was a king with park view, nice wood paneling, marble bathroom, a little dated but very beautiful, cost about 80 euros/night.
Breakfast was a nice spread of western and oriental fare, a steal at about 8 euros per person.

Wish they had wifi in the rooms (only cable available) and maybe a fitness center.

I would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Peponas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your time to share your reviews on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. We highly appreciate your views concerning the location of our property, indeed as you state, the connection hub is just at our door step. Furthermore, your resonable concerning about Wifi connection and fitness have been well-noted, and will be forwarded to related department. Should you travel bring you back to Shanghai, Pacfic Hotel will look forward to serve you again as the your "Home away from Home".

Warmest regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in April 2013. Our room was dated and the bathroom had weird stains on the mirrors. I felt uncomfortable walking around barefoot because the carpet was suspicious. Having said that, the room was large and there were chairs and a reasonably comfy bed. The location was superb, in the heart of shanghai city centre and walking distance to basically everything. The metro stop was just across the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Pacifc Hotel, Shanghai. It is very pleased to hear that our very ideal location has fitted well your expectation. We have also noticed that your reasonable concern about the dated facility. As a time-honored property in Shanghai, Pacific Hotel has recently announced to launch some renovation to further satisfy the escalating standard of our guests. Should we have privilege, we will look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Technically, this is a convenient location with amenities all around. Situated right across the People's Square and 5 minutes walk to the huge walking street of Nanjing Road. The room and bathroom are well cleaned and the service is quite good. However, the food at the restaurant is nothing fantastic and there is no Wifi available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to leave your reviews on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shnaghai. We are highly delighted that our very location could better facilitate your journey in Shanghai. Likewise, your positive comment concerning our room state and service team shall constantly motivate us to render better outcome in their future routines. However, we truly apologized that the food served in the restaurant didn't live up to your expectation, and your conment has been carefully handled within the related department.

Should your travel brings you back to Shanghai, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, close to all main sights and the fake market.
Easy to get a taxi. Close to the metro.
Large room with clean bathroom. Smelt of smoke even though we requested a nonsmoking room.
No wifi in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time to share the valuable experience on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Pacific Hotel. Your detailed feedback will constantly inspire us to ameliorate our service quality.

It is our great honour to be informed that the location of our historical establishment can well facilitate your trip on Shanghai. We also noted your description of cigarette scent in the guest room, which we have to apologize for any inconvenience aroused. The issue has been carefully doucmented and fowarded to the related department, and to minimise the occassion of similar problem in the future.

Should we have privilege, we will look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Park Hotel Shanghai
Park Hotel Shanghai
#151 of 5,082 in Shanghai
355 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#199 of 5,082 in Shanghai
447 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#158 of 5,082 in Shanghai
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,082 in Shanghai
772 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#466 of 5,082 in Shanghai
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Property: Pacific Hotel
Address: No.108 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have room safe, telephone with voice mail, and high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Jinmen Club (spa and beauty salon), badminton and swimming facilities, and complimentary shuttle bus to and from Hongqiao International Airport. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Oriental Pearl TV Tower, and Shanghai Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing