We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, good location, good servive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #129 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, good location, good servive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I've stayed in this hotel about 7 times in the past 2 years. Rooms are very clean, service caters to westerners, English speaking staff, decent breakfast buffet, within walking distance to 4 huge shopping malls. Iverall good value for the money.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors. You'll hear some traffic noise on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
We appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Jianguo Hotel Shanghai. To make guests feel at home is always the goal we try to pursue and it is nice to know that we were successful to you. Moreover, your compliments will surly encourage us to keep improving our service quality. Thank you again for your stay and hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    178
    65
    13
    3
See reviews for
2
8
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Have stayed here three times and the only Shanghai hotel so cannot compare with other local offerings. The check in staff are pleasant and the rooms are a bit dated but reasonable although the bed is a bit hard (but comfortable) - good value for the rate that I had. Internet works OK, always remembering that this is China. The location is very good, being close to shops and also the metro. Good choice of restuarants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your stay. We appreciate to receive your compliments that encourage us to keep improving our service quality. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and let us know that our service is moving into the right direction. We are looking forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at the Jianguo hotel between August 19-21 2012. The location of the hotel is very good, close to the metro. The hotel seemed very well maintained through en efficient housekeeping.

The check in: The check in was very smooth and I was in my room within about 10 minutes of arrival. The staff at the reception spoke reasonably good English.

The room: I had booked a deluxe room. The room amenities were pretty standard. There was nothing special about the view from the room. My room was facing yet another hotel with very bright red neon light. This was rather disturbing and I had to black out the windows at night.
The bathroom was clean and had a bunch of essential, good quality amenities.

The food: breakfast was continental stuff with a reasonably good selection. The cake shop also a good selection of pastries and cakes.

The staff: The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful.

Overall: I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here when I visit Shanghai next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PradeepMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your high praises and we will make sure to share them with all members of our team. Your compliments will surly be the great encouragement for us to keep improving our service quality in order to give guests a more courteous and comfortable experience. Thank you again for your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

A very good hotel, in the center of the city and close to the Stadium. A good massage just downstairs. The executive level guests have free wine and cakes. Sooooooo good experiences.A very good hotel, in the center of the city and close to the Stadium. A good massage just downstairs. The executive level guests have free wine and cakes. Sooooooo good experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for your stay. We appreciate to receive your compliments that encourage us to keep improving our service quality. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and let us know that our service is moving into the right direction. There are many types of rooms available, such as executive rooms. They will be more suitable for you. We are looking forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Good quality hotel with good service.Rooms large and well equipped Food good recommended
There looked to be a good selection of restaurants around.
Beds were comfortable, really a western style hotel - certainly one of the best hotels during my trip to Chain

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your high praises and we will make sure to share them with all members of our team. Your compliments will surly be the great encouragement for us to keep improving our service quality in order to give guests a more courteous and comfortable experience. Thank you again for your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

the hotel is situated in a busy area with easy access to the metro and a fine selection of restaurants in the surrounding area.
the hotel has got rid of the spa that used to stop the lift at night for business and the girls entering the hotel.
ask for a room on the front if possible, its quieter. It is not in my opinion worth booking executive rooms the changes are:
top floor check in out (only open 8-11, no good for late or early check outs)
snacks and 1 free drink in the lounge, only between 5 and 7, I don't get back in time
free tea and coffee, when the lounge is open.
high level room, the views or noise levels are not really improved by this.

book a standard room and enjoy Shanghai instead with the money saved (even if the company is paying)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your stay. We appreciate to receive your compliments that encourage us to keep improving our service quality. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and let us know that our service is moving into the right direction. We are looking forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The main asset of this hotel was the staff. In all areas from cleaning, restaurant , reception, currency porters, the staff were excellent. We stayed in many hotels during our 2 week visit to China and in general all hotel people were very good but in this hotel they were outstanding.

As for the hotel, all amenities were provided, room was spacious and clean; food both western and chinese was delightful.A real pleasure to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny G, Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your high praises and we will make sure to share them with all members of our team. Your compliments will surly be the great encouragement for us to keep improving our service quality in order to give guests a more courteous and comfortable experience. Thank you again for your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Sports Hotel
Sports Hotel
#208 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#44 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
#128 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xujiahui
New East Asia Hotel
New East Asia Hotel
#758 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#98 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.439 Caoxi North Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jianguo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing