We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, a bit like Shanghai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Ranked #154 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Who knew? Here was a most unusual hotel amidst the glamour and modernity of Shanghai, with olde world charm. I gather it was once a millionnaire's mansion, now it is a rather unique boutique hotel. I loved it! breakfast was a bit disappointing but perhaps there's fun to be had exploring local options anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

We have lived a couple of hours from Shanghai for the last five years. Every time we've been there, we have stayed somewhere different, and we've never been impressed enough with a hotel to want to go back to any of them, until now!

The Hengshan Moller Villa is just gorgeous. Beautiful building with an actually history, a feeling of character and comfort. Good staff. Great breakfast (sausages, bacon, eggs etc. - good quality buffet for western and asian tastes).

The location is brilliant. Loads of tree-lined French Concession roads around it, with little boutique shops, restaurants etc. Cheap places as well as more expensive. 10 minutes walk to Metro and Huai Hai Lu (shopping malls etc.). 10 mins walk to Jing'An Temple (beautiful), and bout 10 minutes to NanJing Dong Lu (Nanjing East Road) Metro station.

Our room was lovely - big King size bed which fit both of us and the 2 kids. Actual English language satellite stations (rare in China, even in some expensive hotels). And one of those cool Japanese toilets with warm water sprayer (like a bidet) and heated toilet seat (great for winter).

The Old Building is where we had breakfast, and it's just beautiful. Real wooden parquet floors. Wooden panelled ceilings. Carved banisters etc. And the lawn/stream was lovely too.

So nice to be in Shanghai but have some peace and quiet, and a relaxing atmosphere.

Yes, we've found the place we're staying at next time - at long last our search for a decent hotel in Shanghai is over.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelledChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Wildly eccentric-looking, like something out of a fairy-story / scary-movie, with spires and turrets, all set in a lovely quiet garden, this is as far from dull and ordinary as you can get. It's right near trendy and cool Nanjing Road in the old French quarter, but very quiet because set back from the main road.
As quirky as it looks, the service is very good, the rooms beautifully appointed, and the staff really sweet and friendly. It's the converted villa of a famous Shanghai millionaire, built in the 1920s and full of hand-crafted wood and stained glass. The old villa part opens onto a huge, peaceful garden and its grandest rooms are used for weddings and corporate meetings. The new part, seamlessly attached, is a bit less fanciful, but retains the charm of the villa. All the amenities are excellent, the bathrooms big and very modern and the breakfast buffet in the villa is huge - if a bit tilted towards the Chinese, who love this place. I found myself wandering all over the villa and garden for hours. In what other hotel does one do that? It's a real destination. Delightfully weird and wacky, a real home, a mansion that people used to live in. But comfortable and very professionally run. Loved the place. What a huge surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plattdujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The room was really nice. Free internet in the room. I really like the location. You can find calm after walking in crazy streets full of people.

Only bad point is the free breakfast. The food is not suit for westerners.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0sephinem0ntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We chose this hotel based on the reviews. We arrived late in the mist of a major down pour, The front gate was closed so our Taxi tooted his horn a few times, much to the anoyance of the night security guard who opened the Gate and gave us a one finger salute. I assume that one finger held up in China means the same as it does in England ! Not the best welcome we have ever had to a hotel.

Check in was efficient and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast selection was very good and catered for all tastes. The hotel is well located for local shops.

We stayed for 5 nights and in those night the towels were not changed once. I would expect at least the face towels to be changed. I understand that they want to be a green hotel but I change my face towels more often at home.

But apart from the few things which we did not like, the stay was pleasant. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding very soft, we did not want to get up in the mornings.

Our favourite spot for a coffee and cake was coffee shop 'La Mer'. Walk out from the hotel to the right and turn first right and it is 100 yards on the left. The owner is very friendly lady and we went there every day as we felt like a part for their family. They were very helpful and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Fantastic house of the 30's in the very heart of the French distric. Close to shopping and nice restaurants (including a 3* Michelin!). A little far from the metro stations but there is a bus outside the door and the taxis are so cheap!
Fantastic small garden. Nice breakfast room but no restaurant (only a small but nice coffee shop with karaoke in the evening).
Asl for a room on the garden otherwise, the views are not so nice and there couls be noise.
Very nice stakk speaking good English.
Free Internet in the rooms (but no WiFi).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRP-F78000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

When I a few year ago first went to Shanghai, I had looked up this wonderful house,and went there to look, the Fairy tale house, and decided if I should come back to Shanghai I would stay here, and I did and like. Would stay again , if I should go back to Shanghai. The only disappointment was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#29 of 5,147 in Shanghai
607 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#57 of 5,147 in Shanghai
238 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#159 of 5,147 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#183 of 5,147 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#516 of 5,147 in Shanghai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel

Address: No.30 Shanxi South Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing