We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Ranked #89 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here one night before flying out of Hongqiao. Very convenient to the airport and the Hongqiao area but quite a distance from downtown. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate. Having stayed in the Downtown Marriott as well, this one was not quite up to the same standard, but still a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear ChinaJim,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your short time with us, from the comfort of our rooms to our buffet breakfasts on offer!

Though we are sorry we could not meet your expectations from our sister hotels during your brief time here, we sincerely hope you will give us more chances in the future to impress you further!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    215
    74
    15
    8
See reviews for
15
23
23
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Rooms are getting somewhat dated. But as usual, service is great, wifi works great, fitness area is great and the location is easy walking distance to Hong Mei Lu (seems they are changing the name to Lao Wei Lu--Foreigner Street), also Bubba's is next door. If you want a Chinese market the Hongqiao Pearl market is also a short walk. Used the subway from Hongqiao train station to get to hotel. Get off at the stop after the Shanghai Zoo. It is only about the 4th stop (first 2 being the airport terminals), then a short 5 minute walk to hotel down Hongqiao Rd. Exit subway station on south side (right in direction of travel of the subway) of Hongqiao Rd as crossing the street would be an issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to hear that you continue to enjoy staying with us, and that our staff service keeps you coming back to our property. There is always something to do in the neighborhood, and if you ever run out of ideas, our front staff can always help you with suggestions for entertainment!

It is always a pleasure to serve our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again in the future!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on business in Shanghai. Most meetings were at Hongqiao airport which is a 15-20 min drive away depending on traffic.

Much the same as all other Marriotts. A couple of the little extras that I liked were having large mugs and glasses for coffee and fruit juice respectively at the excellent breakfast buffet (those tiny cups are always so annoying!) and that they offered a takeaway coffee/tea once you had finished breakfast.

Free wifi was also well received, especially when you are paying quite a lot per night.

There are a few great restaurants within easy walking distance, and about 15min walk away is a great street full of bars/restaurants.

Would certainly recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with our hotel! We are delighted to know that we met your expectations as a Marriott customer, and that you also noticed the little things both inside and outside our hotel helped make us stand out from other lodgings in Shanghai!

We always look forward to seeing guests come back to enjoy our hospitality! Feel free to contact our staff directly for your next stay, as we look forward to welcoming back guests like yourself!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is usually my first choice when I am in this part of Shanghai. They have good clean rooms, silent for a good night's sleep, with ambient and efficient aircon in most rooms, and good internet connectivity. That they normally remember preferences of a returning guests, is good, as the bed is exactly of the same preference. The food options at this place is very diverse. First, the hotel has many options, including a nice bar at the atrium. Second, there are many options within 5 - 10 min walk, around this hotel, Foreigner's Street being one of them. Breakfast options are many, but the most business guests friendly is the option of take-away they always provide. Be it just the coffee on the go or a small take-away, its a nice gesture that this provides, keeping it above the others.

Room Tip: its not the best place to have a great view from your room, though, the rooms facing the center of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear its_anand,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with our hotel! We are glad to have heard that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to provide you with all that you need for a great stay!

We do make it a point to remember our returning guests, as we look forward to making your stays with us more brilliant than the last, every time.

Until then, we look forward to seeing you again!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have stayed at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao and to be honest is a great hotel to stay in Shanghai. Excellent facilities on the hotel, superb service and great food.
It's very close to the city centre and situated in a nice area of the city.
I highly recommend this hotel. Finally, I'd like to mention the staff was fabulous, really helpful and smily all the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny22333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Johnny22333,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had such a great visit and that our staff could give you such great service!

We very much look forward to providing you with such hospitality again in the near future, so please feel free to contact our hotel at any time if you require any assistance!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Marriott for 1 week back in July when my family first moved to Shanghai and we were getting our house ready. It was super hot and it was great to know that each night our room would be nice a cool and we could get a great night sleep in the very comfortable beds. It was also nice that our children could enjoy the great pool. The manager and the staff in the executive lounge treated all of us great and truly help make our transition to China a smooth one. Special thanks to Michelle for being so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanhunt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Evanhunt1974,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I am glad that we have been able to help your family with your transition into Shanghai. We certainly hope that the rest of your family comes in to visit again, as we are certainly delighted to help shape your impression of China.

Please let us know if there is anything we can assist with next time you or your family come to stay with us! You are always welcome here.

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Run down hotel with heavy cigarette smoke in many of the main areas. Rooms are small, in need of renovations and AC didn't work in room but manager just wanted to drop in a noisy standalone unit.

Brutal should never stay here. Although it is very convenient for work you should stay at the Hilton or Sheraton down the road as they are much better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear flyingpheonix,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel! Though we want to apologize for your stay, direct feedback such as yours gives us the focus and awareness of our continuing need to improve our services for guest such as yourself.

I wish to extend my apologies again for your experience, from one Canadian to another. I hope that we addressed your concerns with both room and environment, however, so you could enjoy the rest of your stay here!

I hope we can speak again in the near future, so that you can give us a chance to change your mind regarding our establishment!

Until the next time we meet!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Argyle International Airport Hotel Hongqiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Xijiao State Guest Hotel
Xijiao State Guest Hotel
#226 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#163 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#221 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Address: 2270 Hongqiao Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#84 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a high-end residential west area of Shanghai, the Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao is only 5 minutes' walk from the nearest #10 Metro Longxi Road station, 15 minutes' drive from Hongqiao International Airport & Railway Station. Since the hotel is close to both Hongqiao Economic and Technological Development Zone and Linkong Economic Zones, guests enjoy easy access to the people square, the Bund, Pudong area via adjacent Yan' an Expressway and to Jiangsu Province by superhighway.This five-star hotels offers spectacular terraces garden views with 313 rooms and suites. All rooms are well furnished with international standards of comfort and technology systems with 32-inch LCD TV, high speed Internet access and a full array of first class amenities. Furthermore, the hotel has outstanding meeting facilities that incorporate great flexibility and proximity. With 1,900 square meters of function space, it will be well organized by experienced team with state-of-the-art technology for every efficient meeting. Beginning 10th October 2016, the hotel will undergo an upgrade to part of guestrooms and facilities (daily from 9am to 05:30pm) until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing