We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Ranked #88 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and nice hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near Hongmei Lu (a place with many good restaurants), Hongqiao Railway station and Hongqiao Airport. The room was big and comfortable and we enjoyed the room a lot. The free internet is always enjoyed citing that Hyatt has no free internet. The breakfast was very good. All of the staff were top notch and speak very good English. Overall, I greatly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Maximilian G,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are very happy to see that our hotel's rooms and location suited your needs perfectly, and that our Associates could provide you with such excellent service during your stay!

Please feel free to come back at anytime! We would very much welcome the chance to impress you again.

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    215
    74
    15
    8
See reviews for
15
23
23
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I am currently stying in Shnaghi Marriot, I have stayed many Marriot around the world in last 2 years. I found this hotel very quite , humble staff really willing to help.
The breakfast is really good, Kitchen staff help you to cook you taste of food but difficult to make them understand Thanks God few of Eurpoen staff support in commnication.

Excecutive lounge may need some more space to sit and few more vegitarian dishes.
Overall very nice and pleasent experice so far and I would like to comeback some time in future.

Room Tip: the subway station is near by longxi road station you can walk to reach anywhere in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Muhammad Z,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We can only hope to continue impressing you with our level of service as you continue to stay here with us!

As we are always looking for ways to further serve our guests better, I have already forwarded your comments to our kitchens and Lounge. Rest assured, your feedback will definitely be heard!

We hope you will continue to enjoy your stays with us, and for many visits to come!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This property is located near the HongQiao airport, and is very conveniently located from nearby eateries and shopping. I rated this as very good, but definitely leaves more to be desired especially being a Marriott property.

The rooms were adequate in size and comfort, but then it's just that - i.e. right. I wasn't awed by this hotel, especially when compared to the downtown marriott. The breakfast was quite typical of a Marriott.

I will definitely be staying there again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeNaInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear SeNaInCA,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! While we are glad you did enjoy your stay, we certainly will not settle for providing an 'adequate' experience for our guests.

Marriott Hongqiao is always looking to improve, and always open to more feedback! Any further comments would be appreciated, as we are always open to raising the bar for ourselves to give guests like yourself a better hotel experience!

Our Guest Service team is always on hand to listen. Please feel free to let us know what we can do better on your next visit!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here one night before flying out of Hongqiao. Very convenient to the airport and the Hongqiao area but quite a distance from downtown. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate. Having stayed in the Downtown Marriott as well, this one was not quite up to the same standard, but still a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear ChinaJim,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your short time with us, from the comfort of our rooms to our buffet breakfasts on offer!

Though we are sorry we could not meet your expectations from our sister hotels during your brief time here, we sincerely hope you will give us more chances in the future to impress you further!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Rooms are getting somewhat dated. But as usual, service is great, wifi works great, fitness area is great and the location is easy walking distance to Hong Mei Lu (seems they are changing the name to Lao Wei Lu--Foreigner Street), also Bubba's is next door. If you want a Chinese market the Hongqiao Pearl market is also a short walk. Used the subway from Hongqiao train station to get to hotel. Get off at the stop after the Shanghai Zoo. It is only about the 4th stop (first 2 being the airport terminals), then a short 5 minute walk to hotel down Hongqiao Rd. Exit subway station on south side (right in direction of travel of the subway) of Hongqiao Rd as crossing the street would be an issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to hear that you continue to enjoy staying with us, and that our staff service keeps you coming back to our property. There is always something to do in the neighborhood, and if you ever run out of ideas, our front staff can always help you with suggestions for entertainment!

It is always a pleasure to serve our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again in the future!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on business in Shanghai. Most meetings were at Hongqiao airport which is a 15-20 min drive away depending on traffic.

Much the same as all other Marriotts. A couple of the little extras that I liked were having large mugs and glasses for coffee and fruit juice respectively at the excellent breakfast buffet (those tiny cups are always so annoying!) and that they offered a takeaway coffee/tea once you had finished breakfast.

Free wifi was also well received, especially when you are paying quite a lot per night.

There are a few great restaurants within easy walking distance, and about 15min walk away is a great street full of bars/restaurants.

Would certainly recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with our hotel! We are delighted to know that we met your expectations as a Marriott customer, and that you also noticed the little things both inside and outside our hotel helped make us stand out from other lodgings in Shanghai!

We always look forward to seeing guests come back to enjoy our hospitality! Feel free to contact our staff directly for your next stay, as we look forward to welcoming back guests like yourself!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is usually my first choice when I am in this part of Shanghai. They have good clean rooms, silent for a good night's sleep, with ambient and efficient aircon in most rooms, and good internet connectivity. That they normally remember preferences of a returning guests, is good, as the bed is exactly of the same preference. The food options at this place is very diverse. First, the hotel has many options, including a nice bar at the atrium. Second, there are many options within 5 - 10 min walk, around this hotel, Foreigner's Street being one of them. Breakfast options are many, but the most business guests friendly is the option of take-away they always provide. Be it just the coffee on the go or a small take-away, its a nice gesture that this provides, keeping it above the others.

Room Tip: its not the best place to have a great view from your room, though, the rooms facing the center of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service T... M, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear its_anand,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with our hotel! We are glad to have heard that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to provide you with all that you need for a great stay!

We do make it a point to remember our returning guests, as we look forward to making your stays with us more brilliant than the last, every time.

Until then, we look forward to seeing you again!

Roddy Chung, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Argyle International Airport Hotel Hongqiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Xijiao State Guest Hotel
Xijiao State Guest Hotel
#223 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#161 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#220 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao

Property: Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Address: 2270 Hongqiao Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#83 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#180 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a high-end residential west area of Shanghai, the Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao is only 5 minutes' walk from the nearest #10 Metro Longxi Road station, 15 minutes' drive from Hongqiao International Airport & Railway Station. Since the hotel is close to both Hongqiao Economic and Technological Development Zone and Linkong Economic Zones, guests enjoy easy access to the people square, the Bund, Pudong area via adjacent Yan' an Expressway and to Jiangsu Province by superhighway.This five-star hotels offers spectacular terraces garden views with 313 rooms and suites. All rooms are well furnished with international standards of comfort and technology systems with 32-inch LCD TV, high speed Internet access and a full array of first class amenities. Furthermore, the hotel has outstanding meeting facilities that incorporate great flexibility and proximity. With 1,900 square meters of function space, it will be well organized by experienced team with state-of-the-art technology for every efficient meeting. Beginning 10th October 2016, the hotel will undergo an upgrade to part of guestrooms and facilities (daily from 9am to 05:30pm) until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing