We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel let down by its service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Ranked #59 of 5,104 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel let down by its service”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel has relatively recently opened under the Intercontinental brand and the staff still seem to be "learning the ropes".  The hotel is great sitting in its own grounds in a desirable part on the city (few city hotels have such a relaxing feel to them) in walking distance there are plenty of restaurants and shops.  The rooms were very well appointed and better than most I stay in but the staff while seeming to try hard were at times clueless ! 

Trying to get a laundry bag pick up was impossible so I take it to the concierge desk who thinks it is my luggage and tags it ! The main restaurant only has a buffet service (which is quite good) but I sat down at 9.20pm to be told it shuts at 10.30pm which I said was fine only to find it shuts at 9.30pm (why so early ?) with the food being removed promptly. The buffet has some chunky crab claws but you can get no pliers to open them .......and so on ......it sounds disastrous but I did really enjoy my stay here and just hope the service gets sorted before I come back. 

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Chesterdoggerel,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here and found our exquisite rooms and convenient location.
Your comments in regards to our service are very much appreciated and well noted. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the experiences occurred to you. Your feedback is valuable for our improvement.

Thank you for your comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    158
    49
    18
    7
See reviews for
76
111
36
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

a smaller hotel set in gardens offers a real oasis amongst the bustle of shanghai - only recently acquired by IHG (I believe) there are some service issues but this comes largely from a lack of experience as the number of guests passing through is still fairly low...this hotel has all the benefits of a boutique hotel and the lack of guest volume offers distinct advantages compared to a skyscraper so once the staff get more (work) experience I am sure the whole (guest) experience will lift a level or two...and the health club is great...

Room Tip: get a room in the Club Wing...through Elite membership or an upgrade...as service is more personalis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear markt65,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel’s environment and health club.

Your comments in regards to the service issues are very much appreciated and well noted. Please be assured that we certainly take all of your feedback very seriously and we are working hard in our effort to continually improve our service. On the behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you again for choosing our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Best Regards,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

One of very few good Intercontinental Hotel, this is a semi resort hotel and located no far away from the city of Shanghai, The staff is knowledgeable speak good English, They honor and treat the IHG member as important guest.

Room Tip: Most of the room are good because this is a resort type hotel with beautiful garden setting. The bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dddav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear dddav2013,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel !
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. It was our honor to be able to provide you with such a good experience in Shanghai here at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin.
We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast, nice rooms, convenient location and our professional service.

Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us. Thank you for your nice comment , which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests. We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards ,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were three friends travelling together for a short holiday in Shanghai. Initially we had booked another hotel but found that three could not be accommodated in the one room. We booked a Intercon Premier Club Room and were so pleased with every moment of our stay.
The location is great, the grounds and gardens magnificent and the rooms were fabulous . Unlike other hotels that have a Club floor, this hotel has a Club building, with many lovely quiet areas to sit and enjoy , after a hectic day out in Shanghai.The Club room includes breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails from 6 pm till 8 pm each evening.Definetly worth the extra cost to stay in a Club room. We loved the breakfast in the main building each day, especially the selection of freshly squeezed juices watermelon,pineapple , orange , carrot and apple . A big hit !
The first morning we were greeted by the GM Brad and his deputy Nabin. They were present in the lobby each day talking to the guests and so interested to see if we were enjoying our stay. They offered to give us a tour of the grounds and Nabin personally spent near an hour in the afternoon showing us around the beautiful gardens and giving us the history behind the old Shanghai guest house.
The service we experienced during our stay from several staff members was definitely exceptional.
On asking for directions to the Metro station and how to purchase tickets, the Concierge offered for one of the bell boys to accompany us to the station .He kindly walked with us to nearest station which is only five minutes from the hotel and showed us how to purchase tickets . The ticket machine does have English as an option and was simple to use but we very grateful and surprised at how willing the staff were to help .
All in all a great stay and It really made our trip special. The beautiful grounds and lovely rooms with gorgeous spacious bathrooms make it an ideal choice. After a day out in the busy hectic city that Shanghai is, we looked forward to coming 'home' to the peace and quiet of the Intercontinental Ruijin.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are well worth the extra cost but keep in mind that club rooms have king size beds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Bella M ,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and taking the time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor by sharing your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our nice rooms , delicious breakfast ,peaceful gardens, convenient location, and thoughtful service. It was our great pleasure to be able to provide you with such a good experience in Shanghai here at Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin.

Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us.Once again, thank you for your nice comment ,which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests. We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards ,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our group of 40 VIP delegates from the U.S. had an outstanding experience at this hotel. Terrific front desk, food & beverage, bell staff and banquets department. Although the hotel is still fairly new, its well appointed, very elegant and has a terrific downtown Shanghai location. We could not have asked for anything more from this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear JoeyNoodles,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment!
We are delighted that your group had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our professional service,and especially hotel's location..
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Best Regards,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Lovely location and the grounds the hotel are on are beautiful. We were in the more modern block and felt the room equivalent to similar hotels. There is much better value for money elsewhere but we want to stay in the French area for a few nights

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Bananacorp ,
Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel !
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our nice rooms and good location.
Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards ,
Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

sorry but I had a terrible experience here. Yes the grounds are beautiful and at least some of the buildings have been restored. But the staff! Asking for a snack I was literally told "not available" and basically asked to leave - past the staff- smokers sitting outside the kitchen and the girls upstairs giggling at the laowai. Sitting in the bar the manager happily carried out a very loud conversation in Shanghainese with a cleaning lady within 3 metres of their only guest for more than 30 minutes - 5-star experience of discreet professional service? I think not.

Trying again at the main lobby I was surrounded by 5 people (yes!) including security itching to deal with this problem guest. Noone greeted me in any langauge, noone said goodbye in any language. Not sure who the hotel is targetting - shame on the management for not training their staff at all at all. Worst experience in years - insulting and I'm an IHG shareholder - dereliction of duty. Will not go back

Room Tip: would not stay here - JC Mandarin for example offers much better customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, General Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mightymark9,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin!

Thank you for taking your precious time to write about your unpleasant experience.
We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations.
We are fully aware the seriousness of your complaint and your letter is taken very seriously. Please be assured that we are working hard in our effort to continually improve our service and we have already shared the information within our management team to make sure such kinds of act from our staff will never happen again.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the experiences occurred to you. Your feedback is valuable for our improvement. At the same time, please kindly leave us your contact information for me to personally follow up on this. Please feel free to contact me via nabin.gurung@ihg.com for any assistance.
We strive to express our passion of service and offer the great hotel experience to our valuable guests, like you. And we really appreciate you will give us a second chance.

Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to see you back.

Best Regards,
Nabin Gurung
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#149 of 5,104 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#39 of 5,104 in Shanghai
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,104 in Shanghai
1,465 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,104 in Shanghai
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Address: No.118 Ruijin Er Lu, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#172 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Hotels & Resorts unveils its first China heritage hotel – the InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin – located across a 100-acre historic garden estate in the heart of Shanghai. Guests from around the world can now experience an important part of Shanghai’s glamorous early 20th-century heritage in an exclusive garden setting, while enjoying InterContinental’s world-class ‘In the Know’ service and luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruijin Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing