We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Cosy and Greenery within the City Centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Ranked #30 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded to Club room and stayed for 2 nights. The room was cosy with European style if decorating but not lack the oriental touch. Its a pity the room is a bit smaller if compared with the huge bathroom. Nevertheless my kid liked it so much. Don't miss the garden stroll. Very good hospitality. Enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kher Foo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Kher Foo L,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!

We are delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your stay here.Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, choosing this hotel for its location in the French Concession. We were a short walk from many fantastic restaurants, bars, parks and great shopping and a cab ride away from any other Shanghai attractions. It's location meant that as soon as we left the hotel's grounds, we were in leafy pleasant surroundings. We also loved the extensive grounds of the hotel and it's wonderful pool but were so pleasantly delighted by the hotel itself. The staff (all staff) are outstanding - polite, well informed and well trained. Our room was comfortable with one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in on our many travels. The bathroom was luxurious and well designed and everything worked! Supplies of necessities were topped up daily. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harefield109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Harefield109,

Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel! Thank you for taking your precious time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here.Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us and we do look forward to see you back soon.

Best regards,
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have previously stayed at the Intercontinental Puxi and really enjoyed that hotel, and would have returned there, but the pictures of this garden atmosphere really intrigued me and got me to check it out.
I was not disappointed, this is a fantastic hotel in the heart of the French Concession but if feels miles and decades away. I believe this hotel opened in the past year or two, but it has been designed to feel like a jazz era historic hotel, all the way down to the staff uniforms.
Even with the historic design it still has all of the modern conveniences and very updated and well maintained. The internet is slow, standard for China. Once small complaint, there is a nice television connection panel, but no HDMI and the VGA connection does not have an audio jack to accompany.
I ordered room service, which was hit or miss, service a bit more of a miss. The pizza was good. I also ate in the club lounge, which could honestly have provided all of my meals. The club breakfast was very good and extensive, look out for the menu on the table to order your complimentary mains.
The service was very good, arranging taxis, attentive when needed, but not excessive and hovering.
Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is different than other InterContinentals in the city, this feels secluded, classic, not like a city hotel, but in a central location.

Room Tip: I was in a club room and it was fantastic, a hotel within a hotel. I did notice rooms across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and taking the time to post a detailed review by sharing your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
Best regards,
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is an older hotel in a great area. The rooms were a little dated, but still very nice. Inside the complex there is a large garden with trees to relax if needed. Outside the walls, your hit with the hustle of Shanghai. There are a couple of different buildings at this hotel so this is not a standard one tower operation. Service and staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your nice comment, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests. We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fourth stay in this hotel.upgraded to superb suite in main building.truly exceptional hotel and very helpful staff .will stay again .close to many good restaurants and delights of the French quarter .beautiful grounds .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Agmsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Pierre 111,
Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and taking the time to post a detailed review by sharing your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here.
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests. We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

i have a stay on friday, i am IHG PA member, the room upgrade to club room. the service is good, i leave early the next day, they pack up the breakfast to me when i checkout. food is good in lounge as well.
the hotel located in a very good and busy place, but it is quite and peaceful inside. room is a little bit old, however you can feel history of shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Ricarli,
Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!
Thank you for taking your precious time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here.
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
Thank you again for staying with us and we do look forward to see you back.

Best Regards,
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed her with my husband for a week we checked in on 30th may 2014. We were upgrade to a suite on type top floor overlooking the gardens (due to husbands loyalty card) the decor is stunning. Rooms very spacious , walk in wardrobes , roll top bath. Shower big enough to fit a small army in. Location idea, lots of small shops, easy access to Metro lines 1 and 10 . Gardens very pleasant to sit out in. Professional excellent service. Side gate is shut and locked around 10pm so if your walking you have to walk all the way round to the front entrance . As it is new and there are 3 Intercontinental hotels in the area we have a bit of trouble with the Taxis not being able to find us or taking us to wrong hotel! The hotel have taxi cards by the concierge but some of the taxi drivers can't even read ! All fun, taxis cheap as chips anyway. Breakfast is expensive but we ate at Starbucks at the end of the street fresh croissant and coffee berry morning. We also had fresh fruit put in our room foc daily. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Natalie G
Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel!
We are delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay here and found our historical buildings,beautiful gardens and good location.
Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us! Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.
We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Jing'An
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#105 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,246 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Address: No.118 Ruijin Er Lu, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#159 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £116 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Hotels & Resorts unveils its first China heritage hotel – the InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin – located across a 100-acre historic garden estate in the heart of Shanghai. Guests from around the world can now experience an important part of Shanghai’s glamorous early 20th-century heritage in an exclusive garden setting, while enjoying InterContinental’s world-class ‘In the Know’ service and luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruijin Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing