We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Nearby Hotels
US$204
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$517
US$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$122
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jin Jiang Hotel(Shanghai)
US$123
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$407
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi(Shanghai)
US$310
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Peninsula Shanghai(Shanghai)
US$596
US$468
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$217
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
437
172
54
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
172
54
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfrench concessionseparate buildingthe club loungeexecutive buildingmaoming roadla ruecommunist partyhotel groundsmain receptionbusy citygarden viewihg membersuperb locationchinese restaurantfive star hotelmetro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This truly is an Oasis in a City of 20M. Big Rooms, Beautiful Grounds and great staff. Food was also excellent. Each night received following days weather forecast with your chocs which was a nice touch. An absolutely great place to relax after the hectic pace of a days sightseeing in and around Shanghai. RE photos our room was a deluxe & had a Large bathroom with bath plus a huge showe.r

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

my friend came shanghai and stay there. the room is big enough and have one balcony could for tea and reading. Mao had lived his room before, so if u like history and traditional furniture, maybe it is one good choice.
but the beautiful grass seems has been destroyed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttefly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed in the building directly across from reception. We had an extremely spacious and beautifully decorated room, with a large and very modern bathroom--a bit of a surprise in an historical hotel. Also, the air conditioning worked very well, also a bit of surprise in China, but welcome given Shanghai's heat. We received a free bottle of wine in our room, which was a nice touch. We arrived in Shanghai on the late side, and ate a pleasant meal (a little expensive) in the hotel restaurant. The wait staff were very pleasant and helped suggest menu items that might appeal to our 6-year-old. As others have noted, the breakfast was very good, with many choices including Chinese, Japanese and Western selections. The fitness facilities are not on site, they are at the Tayuan Villas which are managed by the same company. To get there, they called us a cab and paid the fare for us. The fitness facilities are nice, including an indoor pool. There were at least 2 weddings while we were there--we enjoyed the festive atmosphere. The service from the butler/concierge in the lobby was EXCELLENT. He had lots of helpful information and was very friendly. The location was wonderful...just outside the gates were lovely tree-lined streets with many nice shops, boutiques and restaurants. We did not use the nearby subway line, we walked or took taxis. The only real downside for some people might be the very hard Chinese-style beds, which we happen to like. There is still construction, although they were not working on either Saturday or Sunday when we were there. In fact, it was right outside our window, which I didn't realize, since the glass is frosted. However, the windows do open and I discovered the construction only when I opened the window to check the weather. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The wonderful old charming hotel is located in the French Concession area of Shanghai. We had a beatifully appointed large room with a sitting area, desk area and a up a couple of steps to a lovely large old fashioned bathroom. We stayed in the building opposite the reception building overlooking the beautiful and extensive gardens. A new wing is being built at the back of the complex but we did not get any noise from the construction site. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the nearest subway station and a quick trip on the subway to the city centre. The service is quite formal in the dining room and breakfast room. A large extensive buffet breakfast offered everything you could want.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atodmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Rui Jin used to be an oasis in the city with beautiful grounds with wonderful restaurants (Face and Hazara); this all made it a must go to location in the city. Not anymore. With constant building damaging the grounds and tranquility and the loss of both stellar restaurants it is just a trap for local wedding parties (I counted 6 going on simultaneaously when I stayed there). I'll never stay there again. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews