We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit any time of the year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Art Museum (Shanghai Meishu Guan)

China Art Museum (Shanghai Meishu Guan)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.12*
and up
Modern Art Walking Tour: China Art Museum
Ranked #51 of 1,310 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to visit any time of the year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been to the China Art Pavillion several times now, and I would go again and again and again. The building itself is quite spectacular it's the big red Pavillion shaped building you can see as you cross the river over the Nangpu bridge or the Lupu bridge. It was the Chinese exhibit for the world expo in Shanghai in 2010. It really is quite stunning. You enter via a very long travalator and then the fun starts. Personally i now always start at the top and work down, this is probably because it's my favorite floor - it holds a lot of Chinese art both old (brush and ink paintings) alomg with more modern with some fantastic portrayals of the Battle of Shanghai. Then there is the Down by the riverside at the Qing Ming festival exhibit. This is a digital version of the Chinese masterpiece, which will take your breath away. There is no charge for entry so no excuse not to visit. If you get the chance it really is well worth a visit. Make sure you are not in a rush if you like art galleries as it will take you a good 3-4hours to get around every exhibit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftyDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    73
    23
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a hot summer day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went with some colleagues from work. We spent a few hours in the museum most of the exhibits have english translations. I recommend you pay the 20yuan and go see the digital reproduction of the Along the River During the Qingming Festival.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wagsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great visit although more for the building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited the venue with some Shanghainese friends, am I am glad we did. The building is amazing and it shows a great use of a building designed for an Expo exhibit that was turned into something useful.
The collection is interesting and there are several temporary exhibitions available, but still it is the building that gets your outmost attention, with the exception of a massive interactive digital exhibition that shows, in a very large room, life in China many centuries ago. This is a must in the visit and you must pay a small fee to see it. The rest of the museum is free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth braving the heat to get there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I remembered this building from a visit to Shanghai Expo but hadn't been inside before. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there and stayed a lot longer than I thought I would, not really an 'arty' person. It is wonderful - and allowed to take photos which surprised me. A jewel in Shanghai!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank betsygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My friend brought me there which I previously thought I had no interest .
It ended up I had a very great time there. It's a place one can't miss , from the architectural design, both external & internal of the building , the collections , the sculptures , the paintings, and in particularly the digital/ mobile Chinese painting. I love it so much

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Art Museum (Shanghai Meishu Guan) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to China Art Museum (Shanghai Meishu Guan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing