We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passionate Italian food lover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acqua e farina italian Restaurant

Acqua e farina italian Restaurant
Ranked #613 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: US$14 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Acqua e Farina mean Water and flour in english , from this two classic recipe take shape most of the famous Italian dishes..This new Italian spot in Shanghai, Pudong area close to the river, is a celebration of the Italian style. Nice an comfortable environment ,Friendly staff ,Italian, Chinese , Spanish and Portuguese language, offer also outdoor , free WiFi and parking..Set lunch, Sunday brunch and special dinner menu are available..
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Passionate Italian food lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Acqua e Farina is the perfect restaurant for people that like to enjoy everyday traditional Italian Food, Chef Riccardo is the perfect host and makes you feel at at home the minute you walk in, I had the pleasure to enjoy couple meals here with with a great Friend we had great food and great company , I have made a new friend in Shanghai and definitely visit again.
Ciao Riccardo
Mario

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much dear Mario, It was my and our pleasure meeting you and have as well good esperience , sharing such great time here..Our passion as your is the same since the first day we open the door and keeping growing up as all of you..

Hope to see you soon and listen all your great story again.

A great hug for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Service & Food - Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

While visiting Shanghai on a business trip recently, me and a few colleagues enjoyed an excellent and delicious meal at Acqua e Farina Italian Restaurant located in Shanghai Times Square!! Great food, wine, and excellent service! Restaurant Manger, Samun was very personal and delightful. Definitely going back......

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Manager at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
First of all,thank you very much from bottom of our heart for such a beautiful review... we really appreciate and cherish you and your whole team patronizing our restaurant...we had a very good time serving and seeing our customer so happy...We really hope to see you again...Thanks
Samun,Manager
Acqua & Farina Italian Restaurant Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Région Paris
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been there for a family sunday lunch. Very well adapted. Do not expect high luxury. Things are made simple, there is a place for children to play, the food is good (it is not a Michelin 3-star, but it is in relation with an acceptable price), The Italian host is very nice.
In summary, we had a good time in family, but it is not the best gastronomic place in Shanghai.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debutant95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Manager at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
First of all,Thank you very much for your time for the review...it really helps us to do better every time we get acknowledge from our valued friends and families.We are very happy to know that you had a good time with your family and we do promise that we will do even better and stand to be best as our customer expects..Hope to see you again very soon...Thank you
Samun,Manager
Acqua & Farina Italian Restaurant Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Really worth to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

this is the second time i came to acqua e farina. i have never taste what a real italian food is like but i bet its tastes like this restaurant serves. really nice restaurant with an amazing owner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dakotalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Manager at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your good review...Really appreciate for the time you put to write a review about us.We are here to show more about Italian food and culture...Thank you very much for choosing our restaurant to explore authentic Italian Cuisine...Cheers ...And see you soon...
Samun, Manager
Acqua & Farina Italian Restaurant,Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Real Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Have had lunch with businesspartners there on March 4th. Nice bience, very clean, english speaking staff. Food was excellent and very authentic. And excellent espresso after lunch, what is hard to find in China. While having had a cigarette at the bar afterwards, I had the chance to have a chat with the chef. And then I knew, why food was so good and authentic: the chef is Italian and very passionate on what he is doing. I had to learn that he even makes the pasta himself by hand. It all made a simple business lunch to an unexpected very nice experience. Grazie e in bocca dell lupo per il tuo ristorante. Peter

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Peter , it was my pleasure meeting you here and share good time..Hope all the best for you and your future business in China.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acqua e farina italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Acqua e farina italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing