We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acqua e farina italian Restaurant

Acqua e farina italian Restaurant
Ranked #537 of 16,843 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: US$14 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Acqua e Farina mean Water and flour in english , from this two classic recipe take shape most of the famous Italian dishes..This new Italian spot in Shanghai, Pudong area close to the river, is a celebration of the Italian style. Nice an comfortable environment ,Friendly staff ,Italian, Chinese , Spanish and Portuguese language, offer also outdoor , free WiFi and parking..Set lunch, Sunday brunch and special dinner menu are available..
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Last year I been there lot of time , this year first time , their staff is changed always especially managers , old manager ( Indian manager ) was very good accommodating , I enjoyed my last visit very good food , service is ok , selection of good Italian wine .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,128 reviews
866 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,370 helpful votes
“Nice casual family restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Based on a colleague's recommendation, just had dinner with the wife here.

The food was rather good - started with stuffed calamari (very soft and not rubbery at all), followed by porcini and sausage risotto and Tagliollini with shrimps. Mains of beef fillet were delicious and well cooked and also well seasoned.

The cream with the panna cotta was a little on the sweet side though, while the chocolate foam was a little weak in taste.

Chef Riccardo and the manager Samun both worked at Pasta Fresca in Singapore, and then decided to start their restaurant here about two years ago. Their friendliness really helped create a great customer experience - the chef even came out to say hello, and to ask how the food was. Service was good, and staff understand and speak English. We did not have wine tonight as we already had drinks prior to dinner, but will try their Proseco the next time around.

It's a little out of the way for those of us who stay in Puxi, but would be a good choice if you are in the area and want some good Italian food.

They will have a Jazz, wine and food night in late May to celebrate their 2nd anniversary and we are looking forward to this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I was leaving and work in Singapore and I know how strong is the competition in F&B business in one of the most beautiful city of the world.. Peoples there are very educated about quality and flavor , you can find a lot of kind of food and as well great culinary experience are leaving there..In the last 50 years Singapore growing up with balance and high standard of quality life and every time I'm back I feel to be at home..
Hope all of you can stay at least one time there for really appreciate such beautiful paradise.

This is my thank you for you dear Friend and really, really thank you for post your feedback in our page..Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Passionate Italian food lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Acqua e Farina is the perfect restaurant for people that like to enjoy everyday traditional Italian Food, Chef Riccardo is the perfect host and makes you feel at at home the minute you walk in, I had the pleasure to enjoy couple meals here with with a great Friend we had great food and great company , I have made a new friend in Shanghai and definitely visit again.
Ciao Riccardo
Mario

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Owner at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much dear Mario, It was my and our pleasure meeting you and have as well good esperience , sharing such great time here..Our passion as your is the same since the first day we open the door and keeping growing up as all of you..

Hope to see you soon and listen all your great story again.

A great hug for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Service & Food - Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

While visiting Shanghai on a business trip recently, me and a few colleagues enjoyed an excellent and delicious meal at Acqua e Farina Italian Restaurant located in Shanghai Times Square!! Great food, wine, and excellent service! Restaurant Manger, Samun was very personal and delightful. Definitely going back......

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Manager at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
First of all,thank you very much from bottom of our heart for such a beautiful review... we really appreciate and cherish you and your whole team patronizing our restaurant...we had a very good time serving and seeing our customer so happy...We really hope to see you again...Thanks
Samun,Manager
Acqua & Farina Italian Restaurant Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Région Paris
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been there for a family sunday lunch. Very well adapted. Do not expect high luxury. Things are made simple, there is a place for children to play, the food is good (it is not a Michelin 3-star, but it is in relation with an acceptable price), The Italian host is very nice.
In summary, we had a good time in family, but it is not the best gastronomic place in Shanghai.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debutant95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acqua E Farina S, Manager at Acqua e farina italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
First of all,Thank you very much for your time for the review...it really helps us to do better every time we get acknowledge from our valued friends and families.We are very happy to know that you had a good time with your family and we do promise that we will do even better and stand to be best as our customer expects..Hope to see you again very soon...Thank you
Samun,Manager
Acqua & Farina Italian Restaurant Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acqua e farina italian Restaurant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Acqua e farina italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing