We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sanwei Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Donghong Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suonate Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
472
45
18
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
45
18
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barromantic poolretreat roomroom faced the riverlondon caboversized bathhuangpu riverround bathrooms overlookbeautifully appointed roomsnice river viewskyline viewspa treatmentsvibrant citybad pointsnight viewworld class hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A very pleasant overall experience. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and designed. The room I stayed in was specious and welcoming. I strongly recommend this Hotel for those in need of relaxation and wishing to stay away from the frenetic city. I do not recall the staff names, but two housekeepers and one front desk agent, particularly left me with a good impression of service and friendliness.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaiide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and we all feel very pleased having met your expectations. I have shared your comments with our associates to continue encouraging them; your value feedback are very much appreciated.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon!!

Best regards and thanks again for staying with us!

Yvonne De Suner
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is fairly new and in good condition, excellent design, very modern feel. We were going to have dinner in their restuarant, but there were no other people, not a soul, so we went out. Great views of the river, but its about 20-25 mins walk to the bund, which is probably okay in the summer, but the hotel name is a little decieving and taxi drivers don't know where the hotel is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing us and reviewing our property!

We apologize if we had dissapointed you regarding the location of the hotel. We are not located in a yet well-known bund area and we have taken note of your comments regarding the dificulties for the taxi drivers, which we are working on, to continue improving our customer service experience.

Kindly be informed that we do offer complimentary London Taxi service to the bund area, however we do understand that guest might rather reach by foot.

Thank you once again for yout time reviewing our hotel, we very much appreciated. We are all looking forward to welcome you!

Best regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The location is not idea, to compensate this, you own the very best view overlooking Lu Jia Zui financial district from your room. The room itself is regularly designed but very comfort, with typical Banyan Tree amenities set up. Loved the huge round bathtub!
The staff is extremely attentive, which is rarely seen in any other international hotel chain established in China.
Having stayed in the most of luxury 5 hotels in Shanghai, I would not hesitate to rate Banyan Tree Shanghai the BEST!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank MnicolasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr. Nicolas,

Thank you very for selecting us and reviewing our hotel.

We are delighted to hear you had a great stay. In Spring we plan to reopen Tops Bar, located at our rooftop, where while enjoying the amazing view we will be offerring afternoon tea menus, tapas or drinks.

Hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you once again!

Best regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on 2 separate occasions first on the new years day of 2013/12/31 and 2014/01/04 to 2014/01/06. '
If you are looking for a great view of The Bund, this is the hotel to live in as you will be looking straight at the river with great lightings at night and ships going across in the day, relaxing feeling just by sitting by the ceiling to floor windows. and the rooms looks exactly the same as the pictures given which is awesome.
A maintenance issue on the first day i arrive but Manager Li on the night shifts and Manager Michael Yang took care of it in no time at all. They took the time to know me better and making my stay in this Banyan tree a very relaxing one in such a hectic city.
On the top floor of the hotel there sits a bar where you get an overall view of the huang pu river and the bund but it is close for renovations and we were lucky enough to be there as it was open for the count down of the new year. As i love to workout in the gym, this gym has all techno gym equipment and i mean the best where you can find in hotels that are willing to spend this money in the gym equipment. Heard that the spa there was great but didnt get a chance to try it.
Overall Great stay, 5 star hotel 6 star services.

Regards
Sutio

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sutio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Mr. Sutio,

Thank you very much for staying with us as well as your time writing your feedback!

I have shared your comments with our associates which appreciate very much, especially Michael and Lee. Feedbacks which encourage the team to keep improving guest expectations!

Please do let me know if you come back again (yvonne.yb@banyantree.com)! We look forward to welcome you back very soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Yvonne De Suner
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on 2 separate occasions first on the new years day of 2013/12/31 and 2014/01/04 to 2014/01/06. '
If you are looking for a great view of The Bund, this is the hotel to live in as you will be looking straight at the river with great lightings at night and ships going across in the day, relaxing feeling just by sitting by the ceiling to floor windows. and the rooms looks exactly the same as the pictures given which is awesome.
A few maintenance issue on the first day i arrive but Manager Li on the night shifts and Manager Michael Yang took care of it in no time at all. They took the time to know me better and making my stay in this Banyan tree a very relaxing one in such a hectic city.
On the top floor of the hotel there sits a bar where you get an overall view of the huang pu river and the bund but it is close for renovations and we were lucky enough to be there as it was open for the count down of the new year. As i love to workout in the gym, this gym has all techno gym equipment and i mean the best where you can find in hotels that are willing to spend this money in the gym equipment. Heard that the spa there was great but didnt get a chance to try it.
Overall Great stay, 5 star hotel 6 star services.

Regards
Sutio

Thank Sutio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Mr Sutio,
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are delighted to read that you like the hotel and enjoyed our services and facilities. Hopefully next visit you have time to try our award wining Spa!
We all look forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews