We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninformed staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund
Ranked #81 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uninformed staffs”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I booked for a five night stay in this hotel and actually I am still staying this hotel. Upon arrival, I had a great welcome as the staffs were really pleasant and accommodating. They let me check in as early as 09.00am though I had sent an email to put in my special request. For this I really appreciate their accommodation. As I had an issue with me credit card, I only managed to pay for the full five night stay but they requested fifty percent more. Even though this is not a necessity, I am very disappointed as the hotel actually cancelled my room card after utilizing the paid services in the hotel as I have gone beyond the limit even though I had fully paid for the room. Imagine walking out of the spa unprepared and need to go to the lobby and validate the room card. To my horror!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. Jason H.,
I am very sorry to read the comment above, I want to apologize for the inconveniences that it had caused you. We immediately have looked into the related standard of procedure, what have caused you was clearly not the standard we have in place. We have retrained related standard to hotel operational departments to avoid similar incident reoccur.

It is my wish that the sincere gesture we made upon departure could overcome the impression you had on us after the incident. We all wish you to return, please contact me yvonne.yb@banyantree.com.

Best regards,
Yvonne
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    42
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
39
92
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Changzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed there when one of my friend is holding a mini wedding reception in the property. The hotel is located in a less developed strip of land in Shanghai, but still convenient enough with ferry just next door and subway station about 5 minutes walk away. The property is quite new and nicely decorated, although I can notice that some of the wooden panels in the room are already showing signs of wear and tear. The room was very spacious by Shanghai standard with a good sized round bathtub in the bathroom. I believe all rooms have stunning view of the Bund area with the Pearl Tower being the main eye catcher.

The breakfast is a bit on the inadequate side in terms of range of selection, but nevertheless we were able to get a full and healthy breakfast before we depart. The fitness center and swimming pool is located on B3 or B4 floor, an unusual design and the air circulation seems to be a potential problem in those areas. The pool is a bit small, but the fitness room is of good size and very nicely equipped with state of the art training equipment.

Service, however, could be improved. Although they were able to accommodate our requests, but we did not see any staff with a smile on their face. You are getting the service you deserve, but the staff just feels a bit too cold, not the warm and cozy attitude you should expect to find in a property of this caliber.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydownkuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing our property and for staying with us!
We have noted your comments which we will shared with the concern departments, specially the one mentioning that you didn't feel a warm service. We apologize for this, as this doesn't reflect what we stand for. We truly hope you well come back again!
Thank you once again!
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The resort was stunning and new. The room I stayed in was spectacular and spacious and had all the comforts of home. I particularly liked the bathtub which looked out to the river. My colleague and I had a great time at the rooftop bar with great food and breath-taking views of both Pudong and Puxi (I lived in Shanghai for 3 years never knew it was possible to have both views at one place!). The fitness center had great options for me to stay in shape while on business trip. Staff were friendly and very courteous. I travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels but this property is definitely in my top 3.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr. JacksonCheng,

Thank you for your time reviewing our prorperty! We are thrilled to read that we are within your top 3 hotels choices. I shared your comments to our associates, who are delighted to read that you like the property and had a nice stay.

We trurly hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you once again!

Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent a week in Shanghai staying at the Banyan Tree Shanghai on the Bund. Having a lot of experience with 5 star hotels during my working life this hotel rated as well as some of the best in Asia. The room was spacious, comfortable and had all amenities with a magnificent view over the river to the business centre.
The staff were friendly and assisted us whenever asked. The breakfast and the meal we had on Oceans were excellent and when M on the Bund rang to confirm a booking they asked that we get a window table which was forthcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the hotel has a very relaxed feel to it unlike the major hotels in the area.
Concierge organised cabs for us and a ferry service is 100 metres from the Banyan.
I would recommend the Banyan Tree Shanghai to anyone travelling to Shanghai either for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I would do a deal with breakfast and a Riverview room with a great view of the river and the busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Mr Gerry V,

Thank you very much for your time reviewing our property and choosing us for your week stay in Shanghai! I have shared your comments to our associates as it means a lot for all of us to know that you had a pleasant time. We all look forward to welcome you back!

Thank you once again!

Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed in a room with an ensuite pool for two nights. Amazing view of the city skyline which made the experience phenomenal. Hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. Front desk manager, Michael, was especially hospitable. He was sensitive to our need for late check-out and gave us useful tips to make our trip memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your time reviewing our property!
We have very happy to read your comments which we will share with our colleagues, especially to Michael, to continue encouraging them to go over guests expectations!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I spent 1 night at this wonderful hotel and I was really fascinated because there was really nothing that was missing:
Great location at the river, beautiful and well equipped rooms with an amazing view to Pudong and over the river, a stylish bar, very good restaurant with delicious meals, friendly staff -always at your disposal and a huge roof top terrace.
The whole hotel and the rooms are very clean.I was staying at the 7th floor and from the bathtube and the shower you can look over to Pudong skyline.
I will definitely stay in this hotel when I will go to Shanghai again.

Room Tip: Did not use the Spa -so I cannot give a comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2008p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are delighted to hear that you like it and had a great stay. I have shared your comments with our associates to continue encouraging them; your feedback is very much appreciated.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon!!

Best regards and thanks again for staying with us!

Yvonne De Suner
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What an impressive experience! The property is beautiful & pristinely maintained. The rooms are spacious, and the view from the Panoramic View room is wonderful. And the enormous bath tub, heated toilet, and special Valentine's Day housekeeping service were nice added touches! And most important, was the service... We had a couple of items where we needed special assistance. The property management staff (Yvonne & Kevin) went out of their way to ensure we were well taken care of and satisfied, up to the minute we departed. I've never had such exceptional service, and we will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stace5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ms Stacey,

Thank you very much for staying with us as well as your time writing your feedback!

I have shared your comments with our associates who very much appreciate and will encourage them to keep improving and going over guests expectations.

Please do let me know if you come back again! We will make sure next time is even better!

Yours Sincerely,

Yvonne De Suner
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#55 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,986 reviews
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,169 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund

Property: Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund
Address: No.19 Gong Ping Road, Shanghai 200085, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing